We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Sombrero Mexican Restaurant

El Sombrero Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #91 of 186 Restaurants in Southington
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

Without a doubt the best Mexican food in the state.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SwampYankee427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    18
    18
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good foot but what a wreck!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

We have been coming here for years and have always enjoyed it. But the place hasn't changed in 15 years the paint it dark green, party streamers hang from the old outdated lights, the plates look like ther were from a closed chillis Resturant. I'm a bit grossed out thinking if the dining room is this old and dated then the kitchen must be a wreck! Food is decent but I can't get past the dirty looking decor to Recomend this to anyone

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 123food321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin County, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, lousy food, rough bathroom”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

This place seems like a local favorite and I'm not sure why. The food lacked distinct flavor--just a sea of refried beans and greasy cheese. We appreciated the friendly, capable staff but we won't be back. The oddest part was the bathroom--it's outside of the restaurant (which is in a down- market mini mall) and it's got the charm of a seedy Mobil Mart.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Igbygoesup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
149 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Delicioso!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

My family and I have been to El Sombrero on several recent occasions. From start to finish, the meals, drinks and entertainment are top-notch. If you are looking for a delicious frozen Margarita, this is the place. I've never been disappointed with the quality of the main meals. The food has been scrumptious and the service is very attentive. My wife has gluten allergies and Luis and his staff always make up a special meal for my wife. The Mariachi guitar players who move from table to table provide a very nice touch and really help round out a nice evening out. Considering the amount of food that you receive, plus the tasty drinks and free chips and salsa, the prices are very reasonable. In the future, we will definitely be making a return visit.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank maloney1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
234 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
“Always a good meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

I have been to El Sombrero at least twenty times over the years. I keep coming back. I enjoy the veggie burrito options, the taste of beans and avocados used. The drink menu options are broad. The service can be slower when busy, but the staff members are friendly. I bring friends here when I'm in the area and it's a popular choice. We always leave with a full stomach and leftovers. It can be loud at times, but that's a fair trade-off to me.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank radiowitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Sombrero Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 
Plantsville, Southington
 

Been to El Sombrero Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing