We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfied the craving for Mongolian BBQ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gobi Mongolian Grill

Gobi Mongolian Grill
Ranked #6 of 186 Restaurants in Southington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $16
Cuisines: Asian, Mongolian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Middletown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Satisfied the craving for Mongolian BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

I am originally from the West Coast, and there are tons of Mongolian BBQ's to choose from. This is the first I have come across in CT. I wasn't disappointed. The veggies seemed fresh and there were a multitude of meat choices. I noticed there was some complaint by other reviewers about the meat being frozen. I for one would rather it be frozen at least then it reduces the chance of getting rotting meat. All in all you can't go wrong for the price and portions. Plus they have a self serve sundae bar! We will be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    35
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Britain
1 review
“Yummy!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We absolutely loved our first experience at Gobi! Lots of different veggies, meats, seafood, noodles and sauces to choose from for stir fry!! The prices are great (all you can eat stir fry, salad, and dessert), and the happy hour drink specials are great too. It's a fun, casual atmosphere with lots of variety to choose from, and we will definitely be back!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ali C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Meals are Great at Mongolian Grill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Have been here twice in the past couple of months - and both times were very good. You pick your ingredients from dozens of items - beef-pork-chicken-fish-scallops (you get the idea) as well as veggies and noodles etc. Yes - take 2 plates, so you can load up - you will end up with a single mound of food after it is cooked. You gather around the Large circular grill and watch as it is cooked and then - time to dine! And if you aren't full - go up for another round. Looking forward to our next visit soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The lazy gourmet's paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I've eaten at variations of this restaurant in Asian countries. Finally... one that doesn't involve jet lag or a pricey plane ticket!
All of the prep work, cooking, and cleaning are done for you. All you have to do is pick out your ingredients and bring it to the cook counter where it is prepared for you. You can be as health conscious or as decadent as you wish.
I found the ingredients to be fresh and all (except some of the meats) are cut/chopped to the ideal size for grilling. There is an excellent variety of noodles, veggies, and some herbs (I love my cilantro!) all ready for the grill table. The pork, chicken, and beef (and lamb @ dinnertime) are still somewhat frozen which actually makes it safer to put them on a buffet type line. They are sliced thin and then further chopped by the cooks at the grill. The seafood - scallops, mussels, squid, clams, etc. - were all grill ready. They even have raw eggs that can be incorporated into your meal. The variety of sauces are well labeled AND the descriptions on the wall above them even include a sort of visual rating of hotness by means of a 'pepper system'. My tastiest 'creation' was rice noodles, veggies, cilantro, scallops, bacon, and a combo of a ginger sauce with a dash of hot pad thai.
The salad bar was average but with a nice variety of dressings. The dessert bar had several flavors of good (stored properly with no ice crystals) ice cream. I'm an ice cream purist but those that desecrate their ice cream with add ons would be quite happy too. (No judgement).
This might be a good place for those with food allergies, fussy folks who don't like certain ingredients, the adventuress eater, or a place to get your kids to try different things!
My friend and I walked out feeling full and satisfied without feeling stuffed.
The staff was efficient. Things seemed to get replenished quickly on the buffet line, plates disappeared when they were empty, and water glasses were refilled.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
114 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice experience....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

This was a different eating experience. All you can eat buffet with a twist. You pick out your veggies, meats and sauces and then bring it to a huge grill to have it cooked. The veggie selection was awesome. Lots of meats and seafood too. They also have a salad bar and ice cream bar. I.m not sure how often I would return....but it was fun for a change.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ScarlettandRhett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gobi Mongolian Grill also viewed

 
Plantsville, Southington
 

Been to Gobi Mongolian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing