We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent presentation, excellent food, great staff”

El Pulpo Restaurant and Tapas Bar
Ranked #1 of 189 Restaurants in Southington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Southbury, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent presentation, excellent food, great staff”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Ate dinner here and found it to be a charming restaurant with a great staff. Food was fabulous from the appetizers to dessert. The presentation for all dishes was beautiful! Malbec wine really complimented the main course. We will definitely return. Doesn't matter that it is in a strip mall it is a GEM in Southington!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    38
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Excellent Mediterranean Cuisine”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

What a nice surprise to find this great place. As others have noted you can literally drive right by it and miss it's location. What should not be missed is the outstanding selection and sumptuous meals. From Tapas starters to the main course everything is prepared to perfection. Just when we thought they could not score a perfect 10, it was time for deserts. We ordered the Creme broule and the Flan and were immediately transported into nirvana. I really wish I did not have to write this review cause you're just going to go there and make me wait for your table! Bon Apetit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous Spanish Cuisine”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Four of us dined at El Pulpo yesterday, 11/4/12, and have vowed to return soon. We ordered soup and shared four Tapas plates, enjoyed wine with dinner, and finished with dessert and coffee. The soup was a bean with chorizo and was a flavorful, hearty start to a delightful meal, accompanied by warm, crusty bread. The four tapas include two seafood and two meat. The squid and octopus were fresh and melted in your mouth. The pork dish and pepper stuffed with lamb and red pepper sauce were excellent. All were distinctly seasoned, nicely prepared and delicious. The presentation of the dishes including the desserts were pretty enough to photograph (which we did). The owner and staff were friendly and courteous. The restaurant's ambience provided a warm environment on a cold day. From the plain exterior set in a small plaza, one would have no idea of what awaits them inside. Best of all, the price was reasonable for such outstanding quality. Next time we will try some of the tempting entrees on the menu.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PeteA49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Food!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I went to El Pulpo for the first time this weekend. I studied abroad in Spain twice and I'm always looking for good Spanish food. We had the grilled calamari, shrimp in garlic sauce, chorizo in a port reduction, two glasses of red wine and we each got the orange flan for dessert. It was all excellent. I do wish they had a Rioja available by the glass instead of just by the bottle though. The service when we went in was great, but once it got busy, it became very obvious that they were understaffed. If it weren't for the slow service toward the end of our visit, I would have given a rating of 5/5 instead of 4/5.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jcassarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol, ct
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Me wife and I read the reviews and decided to try it, The location is a little odd next to an auto shop. But when you walk in it all goes away. The place is spotless! we were seated right away, the staff has a little language barrier but work thru it, you won't be dissappointed! The food is to die for! We had the pork tenderloin app. perfectly done on crusty bread with fontina cheese and a piquillo pepper.Delicous! My wife had there Lamb Shank special, best she has ever had!
I had there scallop and lobster in a saffron sauce, just perfect! The Sangia is excellent buta little pricey at 25.00 a pitcher which is small. But thats their only falt. The wines are reasonably priced. We will definitely be back!!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank oppy06010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Pulpo Restaurant and Tapas Bar also viewed

 

Been to El Pulpo Restaurant and Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing