We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Southbury

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wyndham Southbury
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Southbury
Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2009

I didn't really research hotels prior to this trip. This one was suggested for us by the bride of the wedding we were attending. The bride made a good suggestion. I have no complaints. Very clean and comfortable. Conveniently close to a freeway. Small shopping center nearby (with grocery, etc).

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luvfuninthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    80
    64
    24
    15
See reviews for
88
45
20
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2009

There were DOGS all over the hotel and it completely ruined our trip. The dogs and RV’s outside of the hotel should have been an indication for us. The dogs were all over the hotel. It smelled like dogs and there was dog hair all over the carpet. I took a walk down to the grand ball room only to find a mess. I cannot image the future brides and grooms that will hold their weddings in the same space. They should have disclosed the dog show to us when we made our reservations. I will never stay in a Crowne Plaza again. As a person with allergies I was extremely frustrated.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GolfTraveler19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Southbury hotels

Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2009

Their renovation makes the hotel look nice. However, you can tell that in certain areas, quality was not an important point... Doors to rooms and doors to stairwells would be better quality for a quality hotel... My door didn't even fit properly to allow me to use the deadbolt. Rooms with even numbers are facing the highway which is rather noisy.

Since I am not much into sausage, eggs, etc., breakfasts are not appealing at all. Even one of my favorite breakfast items waffles taste dry and unappetizing. Even though I get complimentary breakfasts, I've now decided it's not worth going down there. There's not a great selection.

Exercise room is only open until 10 pm but that's probably fairly common in many hotels.

But for me, worst of all is that they do not allow external video source into the TVs. According to maintenance, they've "disabled" external inputs into the TVs to prevent people from plugging in their own video game consoles, so they would have to use the hotels. However, I just want to watch movies I brought on a big screen instead of my computer... I sort of doubt I will be staying here for future business trips.

Also, actually worse, the high speed Internet is questionable and actually it failed on the last trip and failed for me on this trip. I'm now using my phone's tethering capabilities to write this review.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vergennes, Vermont
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2009

We spent two nights at this hotel. The place was empty. The desk clerk told us the pool was cold - 74 degrees she said. We selected this hotel because they had an indoor pool. Well - the pool was much colder than 74 degrees. It reminded me of Cape Cod waters in late spring - when the water temperature is around 58 degrees. They could not or would not warm up the pool. I believe they were trying to save on operating expenses. We will not stay there again. On the plus side, breakfast was quite pleasant. We felt like we had our own private dining staff. Given the few people staying there, we almost did have our own personalized staff. How they will stay in business is beyond me.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DBT57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2009

I chose Crowne Plaza for previous reviews and the pet friendly policy. I was expecting less then stellar customer support from front desk, as usually the case w/ pet friendly lodging, but I was warmingly welcomed by the best front desk personnal I've ever encountered! Everyone was impecible, personable, and down right welcoming! I entered a beautiful lobby /w an indoor waterfall, a restaurant w/ reasonably priced dinners, and comfy leather chairs to relax on. My pet friendly room: on the 1st floor(easy access to the outdoors for our furry family member's) was a medium sized room with 2 doubles, modern bathroom w/ full tub and all amenties. What awed me was the floor to ceiling windows! They included a window that partially opened and light blocking drapes with provided clips to further enhance the darkness one might need. The beds were posterpedic(sp?) w/ feather comforters and pillows...but I wouldn't doubt that those w/ allergies would recieve hypoallergic bedding...these people are all about YOUR comfort! On the bed was a satin bag w/ an eyemask, earplugs, lavender linen spray and a note stating that if any more is needed, just ask. On the nightstand was a radio/alarm clock/mp3 player/cd player and a white noise player. Also, included was a mediational cd designed for falling asleep. If one still can't fall asleep to all mentioned, a nice sized(20 something inch) flat screen tv w/cable is available! Breakfast buffet is available at reasonable prices and greatly priced, 3 course dinners available at about 20 buck pp. BTW, never had the chance to do this but they provide a reputable, outside spa service that will come directly to you room until 10pm for facials, manis/pedis massages, etc.

  • Liked — We all slept soundly
  • Disliked — didn't want to leave!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MehLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2008

We booked 2 nights at the Crown Plaza in Southbury, Ct and we were traveling w/ our dog. There was a $25.00 fee for your pet but the room was spotless, customer service was wonderful and they are over the top pet friendly. We asked if we ordered dinner from the restaurant as take out could we eat in the lobby as we had the dog w/ us, they not only said yes they served us dinner in the lobby. Way to go!! The waitstaff was excellent. There is a nice area on the side of the hotel to walk our dog, plus there is a school across the street to take your dog for some excersise. It's right off the highway and a mini store/gas station is next to the hotel. Hotel has a nice indoor pool and the hotel was very quiet.

  • Liked — Over the top Pet Friendly
  • Disliked — A/C did not go below 66 degrees (have large dog w/ a big coat of hair)
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ladyhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2008

Hotel seems to have been fully renovated. Rooms were very nice. We had a large room with a King size bed and a huge sitting area. Carpets and beds were brand new. Only complaint is that the bathrooms were not fully renovated. the tub was old with cracks and peeling paint. Seems like they spent millions on the renovations, they should have done the bathrooms. I would stay again at this great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 123NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southbury
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterbury
Hampton Inn Waterbury
#1 of 8 in Waterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
16.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol, Connecticut
7.4 mi away
Courtyard Waterbury Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Naugatuck
Comfort Inn Naugatuck
#1 of 2 in Naugatuck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
17.0 mi away
Litchfield Inn
Litchfield Inn
#1 of 1 in Litchfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
15.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Southington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Southbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Southbury

Property: Wyndham Southbury
Address: 1284 Strongtown Rd, Southbury, CT 06488-1971 (Formerly Southbury Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Southbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Southbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wyndham Southbury 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Wyndham Southbury," Welcoming Gracious Personalization" Our hotel is located in the Litchfield Hills of beautiful central Connecticut, some of our corporate neighbors are IBM, Chemtura, Boehringer-Ingelheim, General Electric, Timex, Waterbury Hospital and St. Mary's Hospital. Nearby attractions for all ages include Quassapaug Amusement Park, Lake Compouce, Timex Museum, NE Railroad Museum, Golden Age Trucking Museum, Palace Theatre, Danbury Mall, Oxford Greens Golf Course, Woodbury Ski and many quaint antique shops. We are a full service hotel serving a full hot and cold breakfast buffet and a la cart menu, Sunday Brunch, lunch and dinner in our Arrowhead Restaurant and Lounge. The Crowne Plaza - Southbury boasts 13,000 square feet of flexible and beautifully appointed meeting space that includes 2 tastefully decorated grand ballrooms that accommodate 50 to 400 people, 2 traditional boardrooms and up to 13 total breakout rooms. We are truly the 'Place to Meet' for corporate meetings, weddings, anniversary parties, birthday parties or Bat/Bar Mitzvahs. We have ample complimentary parking, complimentary wired & wireless Internet access throughout the hotel and offer complimentary coffee and tea in our lobby daily. Our guest will get a workout in our fitness area or enjoy a dip in our indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Wyndham Southbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Southbury Hotel Southbury
Southbury Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing