We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”
Review of Wyndham Southbury

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wyndham Southbury
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Southbury
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This property is kept very well. The rooms are excellent.
The sink could have been larger.
The breakfast is outstanding. Fresh fruit, fresh cuts. Waffles pancakes. It's a treat.

If one picks up room savers that hotel room comes for 69$

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mohitoswal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 307 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is a very standard hotel with all the amenities to make you comfortable. The beds are comfortable and the room has an iron, coffee maker, good bath supplies and is quite large. It is right next to the highway making it convenient yet slightly noisy. A good business lodging, nothing luxe.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patsydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The hotel was ok. Our room had a view of the hotel roof and its AC units The desk staff was not very friendly or welcoming. But the hotel was clean and very big.

I would not stay here again but others may enjoy it.

Room Tip: Ask the room location unless you don't mind a view of the roof. Rooms did not include fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aimster03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Southbury, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Aimster03,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. it is very good to know that you have noticed the cleanliness of the hotel. On the other hand, I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience with the unsatisfactory service you received from the staff. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Crowne Plaza usually means high standards, but this hotel was lacking in ammenities.
Check-in was VERY slow. Even though the parking lot was almost empty we didn't receive the 1st floor room we had requested. The hotel is rather large, but only had 2 luggage carts which were always in use.
There was no guest laundry.
While the room was rather large it was sparsely decorated and mostly a waste of space. There were few places to get luggage off the floor. While there was plenty of room for a kitchenette there wasn't even a micro. and ref. Also had the miserable one cup coffee maker.
The bathroom was adequate size but had no vanity or anywhere to put your toiletries. There was a small table by the front door that was basically useless. That space should have been used for a vanity/make-up area. There was also no vent in the bathroom. Water pressure was low in the shower, and the toilet wouldn't quit running. We had to work on it EVERY time we flushed. Only good thing about the bathroom was that it had a make-up mirror.
Room was poorly stocked with linens and didn't even have any sheets for the sofabed. Mattress was only so-so comfortable and pillows were awful! No firm pillows in the room.
Worst of all was the paper thin walls, We could have easily had a conversation with the people in the room next to us as we could easily hear every word they said. The inconsiderate person in the room next to us thought it was appropriate to play his guitar until midnight.
Food in the restaurant was good but pricey. Fortunately Priority Club members receive free breakfast. Breakfast buffet was high quality.
This hotel would be much nicer if they would add some ammenities to the rooms to make them more suitable to your needs.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HUSKERTRAVELER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zineb E, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Southbury, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Dear Huskertraveler,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza. We are sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards we set for our hotel. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations.
We are glad that you have enjoyed our delicious breakfast and our dinner in our Arrowhead restaurant, however regret that our room didn’t seem to fit your needs.
Our rooms are indeed larger than what other hotels in the area are offering with comfortable king size beds and large king sized pillows which we have been getting a lot of compliments about since we got them, I apologize if they were not firm enough for you but we have other foam pillows available as well.
Our property is a full service hotel providing breakfast, lunch and dinner with room service from 6am to 10pm making most of our guests stay in to enjoy our food instead of going out since we have a variety of items in the menu to choose from. However, we do have microwave and refrigerators available upon requests. Our staff could have been more than happy to deliver one to your room.
On the other hand, I do apologize for having you deal with a running toilet. We could have sent one of our maintenance guys to fix it if we were informed.
Again, we thank you for staying with us and would love to have you back so we can show you the superb service that our hotel is known for. One call to the front desk and they will go above and beyond to make your stay more memorable and do their best to fulfill all your needs and requests.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My wife and I were looking to take a couple of days off. We looked at tripadvisor and read a review for the crowne plaza and the review said the staff made their stay. We want everyone to know that the staff was exceptional. the hotel might be an older hotel but it sure was maintained, clean and up-to-date. We have now stayed there twice and I can tell you we will always stay there when we can. Thank You staff and management for making our time with you memorable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psrees1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zineb E, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Southbury, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind and candid words. Comments such as yours make us want to deliver more and provide exceptional service to all our guests. I do agree that our staff is phenomenal, going above and beyond to make our guests stays memorable and I thank you for mentioning that.
Again, I thank you for choosing the Southbury Crowne Plaza every time you are in the area and we look forward to having you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Spent a night at this hotel during a small family reunion. The facility was nice, the rooms were great, and the staff was very helpful and friendly. The pool and pool room are really warm -- almost uncomfortably warm. At one point I asked for a recommendation for a pizza place, but they had no menus for the place they recommended in the room (e.g., the hotel info binder) or at the front desk. Not a big deal, but it would have helped us a bit as we tried to feed three families. Overall, a very nice place. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zineb E, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Southbury, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Dear Elizabeth,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us and am glad that your overall experience was a positive one. I would like to apologize for not having the pizza menu which would have helped you in choosing what to order, however we do have a kiosk in the lobby that provide our guests with partial menus and phone numbers to nearby restaurants. We did contact the pizza place which has now had provided us with more menus for our guests and I thank you for bringing that to our attention.
Again, I am glad that you found our property nice with great rooms and helpful, friendly staff and am looking forward to welcoming you back to the Southbury Crowne Plaza for another family reunion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel recently when traveling with our daughter. Our room was a king with sleeper sofa. Other than the hotel being quite noisy, the sofa sleeper was a nightmare. The mattress was so thin springs were poking out. We called to see if we could get a roll away and one was brought to our room. Once you laid on it it sunk in the middle so much it touched the ground. No one really got a good night sleep between the bed situation and hotel noise. When we travel back to the area I think we will explore other options.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Dabs13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Southbury, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear Dabs13,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered over the sleeper sofa and for not having a comfortable sleep. Your comments are being shared with the hotel's management and appropriate action will be taken. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southbury
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterbury
Hampton Inn Waterbury
#1 of 8 in Waterbury
511 reviews
7.3 mi away
Courtyard Waterbury Downtown
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Naugatuck
Comfort Inn Naugatuck
#1 of 2 in Naugatuck
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol, Connecticut
13.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Danbury
20.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Danbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Southbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Southbury

Address: 1284 Strongtown Rd, Southbury, CT 06488-1971 (Formerly Southbury Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Southbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Southbury
Price Range: $115 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wyndham Southbury 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Wyndham Southbury," Welcoming Gracious Personalization" Our hotel is located in the Litchfield Hills of beautiful central Connecticut, some of our corporate neighbors are IBM, Chemtura, Boehringer-Ingelheim, General Electric, Timex, Waterbury Hospital and St. Mary's Hospital. Nearby attractions for all ages include Quassapaug Amusement Park, Lake Compouce, Timex Museum, NE Railroad Museum, Golden Age Trucking Museum, Palace Theatre, Danbury Mall, Oxford Greens Golf Course, Woodbury Ski and many quaint antique shops. We are a full service hotel serving a full hot and cold breakfast buffet and a la cart menu, Sunday Brunch, lunch and dinner in our Arrowhead Restaurant and Lounge. The Crowne Plaza - Southbury boasts 13,000 square feet of flexible and beautifully appointed meeting space that includes 2 tastefully decorated grand ballrooms that accommodate 50 to 400 people, 2 traditional boardrooms and up to 13 total breakout rooms. We are truly the 'Place to Meet' for corporate meetings, weddings, anniversary parties, birthday parties or Bat/Bar Mitzvahs. We have ample complimentary parking, complimentary wired & wireless Internet access throughout the hotel and offer complimentary coffee and tea in our lobby daily. Our guest will get a workout in our fitness area or enjoy a dip in our indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Wyndham Southbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Southbury Hotel Southbury
Southbury Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing