We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay!”
Review of Wyndham Southbury

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Southbury
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Southbury
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
“great stay!”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

If you're considering this hotel, you will not be disappointed. We got a great rate. ( we used a hotel coupon book we picked up on the highway) The rooms were very comfortable and clean.
The front desk clerk who worked October 3rd, in the evening, was super nice. She was very friendly. I could tell she enjoyed her job! How refreshing!!!! The food was really good, too.
Mike, in the resturant was very entertaining. He not only recommened good food but he commended the chief for her cooking and the overall menu....and he turned the tv to the football game (it doesnt get better than that!)
We had two rooms...it was a great stay and I hope to visit again.
Keep up the good work

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aby45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBCrowne, General Manager at Wyndham Southbury, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
aby45

Thank you for taking the time to write this review about our hotel, also thank you for your kind words regarding our service and we are especially thankful that you found we offer a good value. It is important to us to make sure our guests enjoy a pleasant stay and at a fair price. Also Thank you for your kind words regarding the front office staff and the service at the hotel Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Ehab Mehany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    85
    70
    28
    17
See reviews for
100
47
20
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chevy Chase, MD
Level Contributor
142 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Not one of your posher Crowne Plazas but agreeable enough. Tucked in a nook just off I-84, this is a vast, three-story monolith, with no more style or class than a regional office building or minimum security prison. Among other things, it needs some seductive landscaping. But it works. Checking in was efficient and courteous. My king-bedded room was predictably generic with no special touches but it was spotless and everything worked with the exception of perhaps the clock radio. It was as big as a football helmet and coated with buttons, but I couldn't find how to set the alarm. Across a hill far in the distance from the room, I could view semi-rural Connecticut's changing October leaves, but closer in, extending for what seemed an acre or two, and from the windows of many second and third-floor rooms, was a flat gray roof dotted with aluminum ventilation pots. The bar's okay, but the dining room the Friday evening I was there was barren and grim. All the staff I encountered was cordial, competent and responsive. This place works perfectly for business folks without patience for hassles, but you wouldn't spend your honeymoon there.

Room Tip: Try to get a view of some woods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitingham, Vermont
Level Contributor
103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hotel is undergoing renovations, and I stayed in the 'older' section. Still very neat, clean and staff was pleasant. Breakfast buffet was just right, but they were short-staffed for a Saturday morning. The one employee working the restaurant was just great under pressure. All in all a good stay. Would go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBCrowne, General Manager at Wyndham Southbury, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Diane M

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding the hotel and the service, I’m glad you were satisfied with the room, breakfast and the people. It is important to us to make sure our guests enjoy a pleasant stay. Hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Ehab Mehany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed on business. Food poor. Plates, glasses, cutlery were dirty, breakfast staff lazy and looked for tips a lot. Rooms .. Walls paper thin. Broadband very slow. Toilet leaked. towrls threadbare.This hotel needs much work.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBCrowne, General Manager at Wyndham Southbury, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear bureen

Thank you for choosing the Southbury Crowne Plaza as your hotel of choice on your recent visit to Connecticut. I am very sorry to read that you were not happy with your stay. It is always my aim to meet if not exceed your expectations at any time. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith in us and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional detail regarding your stay. I trust we can regain your confidence soon.

Sincerely,
Ehab Mehany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Southbury hotels

Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
121 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We like the Crowne Plaza and have stayed there thru a number of transitions from one hotel to another. Presently it is a Crowne Plaza.
We find the rooms clean and comfort adequate,
Front desk are always very nice and efficient.
There is ample parking on site and it is dog friendly.
The only major negative is the breakfast is dismal and, if you order,SLOW. Food arrived cold.
In fairness to the Crowne Plaze the food has always been, at best, dismal.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same. There used to be a hot water issue in some of the rooms but think that may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gowney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, Vermont
Level Contributor
145 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Crowne Plaza Southbury for a convention. Window in King Room had mildew/moldy material between the double panes which prevented viewing outside. Front desk was shown pictures of this and stated they were unaware. This building had taken quite some time to develop and housekeeping simply closed the curtains to conceal the problem. Buffet diner at $22.00 per person was mostly thawed fish or chicken just being heated and vegetable was the same. No selection to choose from. Server never brought us our beverage (coffee) but still desired a gratuity. Total for meal was$59.00. They lost the room sheet and later called me to confirm that it would be added to the bill, then later told other guests they had found the room charge sheet. Floor of disability shower sloped so much that water did not go down the drain but onto the entire bathroom floor so you were standing in water. Never again at this hotel that's for sure. We did send pictures and email to Crowne Plaza but never heard back from them as their site says each hotel is individually owned. Figures.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VermontStrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBCrowne, General Manager at Wyndham Southbury, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Southbury Crowne Plaza as your hotel of choice on your recent visit to Connecticut. I am very sorry to read that you were not happy with your stay. It is always my aim to meet if not exceed your expectations at any time. To further investigate, I would like to speak with you directly if you could give me a call at your earliest convenience. I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Kind regards
Ehab Mehany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I checked very good, because it's better than average, but good would better describe my experiences there because of just a couple of small things. The rooms are large and comfortable, I didn't see any problem with the ac system, didn't hear the interstate traffic noise at night, etc. The down pillows they have are luxurious, but not very supportive. Maybe they could get some foam pillows?

The lobby is very nice, and the hotel restaurant is great for lunch and dinner, especially the appetizers which are great, the salads are delicious and huge. The shrimp cocktail was the best I think I've ever had, and the quesadilla is marvelous! If they could bring back the lamb and meatloaf entrees, that would be good because they were delicious. Breakfast is just so-so, and service not great.

The jacuzzi was out of service the last time I was here, and this time lukewarm at best, the pool was good. This is a main reason I go to hotels for long weekends, to jacuzzi and relax. If they could fix it, this hotel would rate an excellent.

Why? Because the food is very good overall, the rooms and lobby are nice, but especially because of the majority of the staff. They are extremely nice and try hard to please. For the most part they treat you like a friend or family, especially the 3rd floor maid, Maribeth the lounge server/bartender, and Zinab at the desk. The other time I was here the staff was just as nice and accomodating.

Room Tip: The odd numbered rooms seem to be not on the highway side, but with the black out curtain, which doe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBCrowne, General Manager at Wyndham Southbury, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear, jimimak

Thank you for taking the time to write this review about our hotel, also thank you for your kind words regarding our service and we are especially thankful that you found we offer a good value. It is important to us to make sure our guests enjoy a pleasant stay and at a fair price. Also Thank you for your kind words regarding the staff and the service at the hotel Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Ehab Mehany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southbury
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterbury
Hampton Inn Waterbury
#1 of 8 in Waterbury
474 reviews
7.3 mi away
Courtyard Waterbury Downtown
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Naugatuck
Comfort Inn Naugatuck
#1 of 2 in Naugatuck
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol, Connecticut
18.2 mi away
Ethan Allen Hotel
Ethan Allen Hotel
#2 of 15 in Danbury
741 reviews
14.2 mi away
Homestead Inn
Homestead Inn
#1 of 3 in New Milford
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Southbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Southbury

Property: Wyndham Southbury
Address: 1284 Strongtown Rd, Southbury, CT 06488-1971 (Formerly Southbury Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Southbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Southbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wyndham Southbury 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Wyndham Southbury," Welcoming Gracious Personalization" Our hotel is located in the Litchfield Hills of beautiful central Connecticut, some of our corporate neighbors are IBM, Chemtura, Boehringer-Ingelheim, General Electric, Timex, Waterbury Hospital and St. Mary's Hospital. Nearby attractions for all ages include Quassapaug Amusement Park, Lake Compouce, Timex Museum, NE Railroad Museum, Golden Age Trucking Museum, Palace Theatre, Danbury Mall, Oxford Greens Golf Course, Woodbury Ski and many quaint antique shops. We are a full service hotel serving a full hot and cold breakfast buffet and a la cart menu, Sunday Brunch, lunch and dinner in our Arrowhead Restaurant and Lounge. The Crowne Plaza - Southbury boasts 13,000 square feet of flexible and beautifully appointed meeting space that includes 2 tastefully decorated grand ballrooms that accommodate 50 to 400 people, 2 traditional boardrooms and up to 13 total breakout rooms. We are truly the 'Place to Meet' for corporate meetings, weddings, anniversary parties, birthday parties or Bat/Bar Mitzvahs. We have ample complimentary parking, complimentary wired & wireless Internet access throughout the hotel and offer complimentary coffee and tea in our lobby daily. Our guest will get a workout in our fitness area or enjoy a dip in our indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Southbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Southbury Hotel Southbury
Southbury Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing