We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B in Southbury”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cornucopia at Oldfield Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Southbury B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This was a beautiful B & B and our room could not have been more lovely. The fire places in the rooms cannot be lit due to the fire code which is unfortunate, a fire would have been perfection. The fireplace in the main room downstairs was not lit either during our three night stay in October, it would have been nice to read by the fire. In spite of that, we enjoyed our stay very much. The beds were so comfy and dressed with the most luxurious sheets we've ever slept in, heaven. Breakfast was simple but tasty, the Innkeepers were very helpful with suggestions and directions. Southbury is a beautiful town that we enjoyed exploring during our New England trip. My friends and I all agree that this Inn is perfect for a girls' getaway or for couples who would like a night or two to themselves.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are large and beautifully decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 89 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

My dad and I came on a father-daughter history trip. Ed and Christine gave us so much history of the area and made us feel like we were all old friends! The breakfast was wonderful as well as the company!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Gables Room-the upstairs floor! Wonderful view of their gardens and the beautiful f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MapleIslandBrewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This past summer we spent one week at this beautiful and well-appointed b&b in the Connecticut hills. From the moment that you arrive, Christine and Ed, the innkeepers, make you feel as if you are at your very own home away from home. The inn itself is beautifully decorated with rooms that are both comfortable and spacious. The surrounding countryside is idyllic and lends itself to some much needed (for us) r&r. Breakfast was amazing - each and every day - and prepared with organic and local ingredients (apple chicken sausages and bacon from a local farm, vegetables from local sources or from their very own community garden, and eggs from happy hens in the area). Oh, and the Fitness Center? It's not onsite. It's out in nature and close by, located in the many local parks with either hiking trails or walking paths. But you can also take a long stroll on the beautiful grounds around the property - and even take a dip in the pool. We are already planning a return visit!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EsMarj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Staying with Christine and Ed was like being with family. They make you feel so welcome the minute you step into the house and look after your every need. They made recommendations for restaurants, made reservations, entertained us with some of the history of Southbury and shared with us their personal stories. The house is immaculate and tastefully furnished. The pool was great and Christine made the most wonderful breakfast with local eggs and sausage and homemade plum muffins. Recommend a room facing the back since the house is on a busy road, at least during the day.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcarrington4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Christine and Ed Edelson, the innkeepers, will welcome you to their cozy and warm Southbury bed & breakfast inn for a memorable stay whether it be just an overnight sleepover or for a few days. Their delicious breakfast is the perfect to begin any morning. Sightseeing throughout the Connecticut countryside is well worthwhile, with several excellent restaurants in the immediate area to "wet your whistle." The website will afford you with more detail as to the accommodations. The Edelson home will not be a disappointment, nor will its fellow guests.

Room Tip: The Attic was spacious and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John Wm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Some places feel like returning home. So it is with Cornucopia at Oldfield. We visited last year for Father's Day weekend and decided to make it a tradition. We stayed in the Admiral Aston room which is bright and spacious with a very large private bathroom. There is also a private deck off the bedroom that overlooks the lawns. The Cornucopia combines a perfect blend of quiet, private bedrooms with welcoming common spaces, including a living room and breakfast area. Once again, we were served a scrumptious full breakfast by Christine and Ed who are very gracious hosts. Our family loves the grounds including the enclosed pool and the gazebo. Perfect for children. We look forward to returning again next year.

Room Tip: Would highly recommend the Admiral Aston which is unusually spacious for a bed and breakfast room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krwmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed a night to get away from preparing for a wedding. Lovely location, pleasant inn keepers, and they were great about my wife's dietary restrictions. My wife loved chatting with the inn keepers. Will definetly be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smmathews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southbury
2.7 mi away
Wyndham Southbury
Wyndham Southbury
#2 of 2 in Southbury
318 reviews
0.8 mi away
Heritage Hotel
Heritage Hotel
#1 of 2 in Southbury
446 reviews
2.4 mi away
Curtis House Inn
Curtis House Inn
#1 of 5 in Woodbury
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Country Loft Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
The Evergreen Inn
The Evergreen Inn
#2 of 2 in Southbury
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cornucopia at Oldfield Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornucopia at Oldfield Bed & Breakfast

Address: 782 Main St N, Southbury, CT 06488-1898
Location: United States > Connecticut > Southbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Southbury
Price Range: $150 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cornucopia at Oldfield Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cornucopia at Oldfield is Southbury's first bed and breakfast. The 'Oldfield' house has been a landmark in the community since John Moseley built it in 1818. It is an exceptional example of Georgian Federal architecture set on acres of rolling green lawns framed by majestic maples and original stone walls. There are 4 uniquely furnished rooms and 3 public rooms available for our guests. THe grounds are enhanced by a secluded swimming pool. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing