We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe, clean, cozy”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cornucopia at Oldfield Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Southbury B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Safe, clean, cozy”
Reviewed November 30, 2011

I recommend this Inn. I was travelling alone, arrived late and found a welcome letter and key downstairs. When I arrived to my room, I was immediately surprised to learn it shared a common bathroom. I will not share a bathroom, so I found the innkeepers who were more than happy to move my room to a suite with a private bath. The bed was one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in. The room was cozy and charming. Ed brought me fresh water from the well in a carafe. Breakfast was early, but I was able to have everything I needed and was more than comfortable while chatting with Christine. I was pleasantly surprised that she charged me the rate of the cheaper room.

Room Tip: Please be aware that not all rooms have a private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NJBetsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornucopiabnb, Owner at The Cornucopia at Oldfield Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Our historic home was built in 1818 and renovated in 1997 to provide private exclusive bathrooms for each of the guest rooms. Some of the bathrooms are en-suite and others are adjacent to the specific guest room. Each guest is also provided with a bathrobe for their comfort. We are happy to move a guest to a different room, if possible, when a change is requested.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
37
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

You may wish this was your house after you've experienced the warm hospitality of Christine and Ed. One of the most beautiful houses in Conneticut I feel sure. The room was pretty and comfortable and the bathroom like stepping back in time but with 21st century amenities. I can only imagine how lovely it would be to sit by the fire on a snowy day or be there in summer and enjoy the garden and pool. Breakfast is different each morning and if you eat en famille you get the chance to talk with people from other parts. When you want to go anywhere Christine will give you local knowledge and maps. Be warned though if you go to The Curtis House to eat you will need to be very hungry.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank floridacool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Conucopia at Oldfied B & B for two nights in early October while in CT visiting friends. We loved it from the moment we drove into the driveway, starting with the stacked stone entry and surrounding walls, the well maintained lush grounds, the pool and surrounding gardens, the picket fence and stepping stone entry flanked by flowers, culminating in Christine's warm welcome as we entered the inn. It felt like we had just arrived at home. Christine and Ed are truly cut out for this business. They are down to earth, sincerely friendly people, who clearly love where they are and what they are doing and want to share it with guests. The building is on the National Historic Registry but there is nothing fussy, ornate or standoffish about this place. Just good and historically significant bones, a huge cooking fireplace in the common room that you can really warm up to, rustic antiques, comfy couches and armchairs, but also a flat screened TV where you can stream your favorite programs. The guest rooms are organized to afford maximum privacy, and each is charmingly and comfortably decorated with taste and restraint. There are pictures of family scattered about, books and magazines about all sorts of things, and even a picture book made by the grandchildren for Christine's birthday. Everything has a personal story which Christine and Ed will be happy to share. Oh did I mention the breakfast? The eggs, sausage, yogurt, granola...everything but the fresh fruit... is from right down the street. Christine and Ed are extremely knowledgeable about the area and can suggest places to explore and are happy to secure reservations at nearby restaurants. We had a fabulous time!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris752CC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
139 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We travel to this part of CT regularly and are always trying to find the "just right" place to stay. We may have found it this weekend when we stayed at The Cornucopia at Oldfield Bed and Breakfast. We stayed in the John Mosely Room which was spacious with a roomy bathroom and closet. There were refreshments available at all times, including fine wine, and several comfortable sitting rooms throughout the large house. Breakfast was ample and delicious -- very fresh! We were only there for a night and would have been quite happy to stay longer.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelFan15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amagansett, Ny
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

This is an exceptional place with lovely accommodation and delightful and welcoming owners, Ed and Christine. Our room was in the front of the house on the second floor. It was tastefully decorated, very comfortable, and quiet. Breakfast was excellent. We can't recommend the Cornucopia highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Five couples, friends for 40 years, spent a weekend in CT. Four of the couples stayed at the Cornucopia. (Fifth couple lived locally.) Rooms were great, baths were great, breakfasts were great. Common area was a comfortable seating area where we could all get together before and after events. Host and hostess, Ed and Christine, could not have been nicer and more helpful including -- get this -- providing transportation to the best restaurant in the area one night so we could have wine with dinner and not worry about driving the unfamiliar country roads at night.

Room Tip: Third floor suite is good if one reads at night while other is in bed Largest room has largest bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m_jlittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We landed at the Cornucopia in the midst of Hurricane Irene to try to escape the worst of the storm. We called about 10 minutes before we arrived to see if they had a spot for us and our dog and were welcomed with open arms. All other guests had cancelled due to the weather so we had the run of the place during the heavy rains and wind. The house is lovely and friendly and the owners made us feel at home. We would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaFlyingpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southbury
2.7 mi away
Wyndham Southbury
Wyndham Southbury
#2 of 2 in Southbury
278 reviews
11.7 mi away
Homestead Inn
Homestead Inn
#1 of 3 in New Milford
82 reviews
11.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Danbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterbury
Hampton Inn Waterbury
#1 of 8 in Waterbury
475 reviews
10.3 mi away
Grace Mayflower Inn and Spa
15.9 mi away
Ethan Allen Hotel
Ethan Allen Hotel
#2 of 15 in Danbury
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cornucopia at Oldfield Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornucopia at Oldfield Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Cornucopia at Oldfield Bed & Breakfast
Address: 782 Main St N, Southbury, CT 06488-1898
Location: United States > Connecticut > Southbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Southbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cornucopia at Oldfield Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cornucopia at Oldfield is Southbury's first bed and breakfast. The 'Oldfield' house has been a landmark in the community since John Moseley built it in 1818. It is an exceptional example of Georgian Federal architecture set on acres of rolling green lawns framed by majestic maples and original stone walls. There are 4 uniquely furnished rooms and 3 public rooms available for our guests. THe grounds are enhanced by a secluded swimming pool. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing