We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cornucopia at Oldfield Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Southbury B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
boston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed May 30, 2011

I have stayed in many B&Bs, and this was one of the best! The innkeepers are very friendly and willing to help make reservations and suggestions of things to do. The breakfast was amazing, and you could also help yourself to drinks and snacks. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travel1Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
37
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Conn.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2011

This place was a wonderful place to visit. If your looking to relax and forget about the hustle and bustle of your ordain life back home, this is it. Christine and Ed Edelson ( the inn keepers) are one of the most friendliest couple you'll ever encounter. Mr. Edelson greeted my wife and I with one of the most friendliest attitudes. Not only was he very knowledgeable of the surrounding area but was also very quick to tell us a brief summary of the history of the inn. Christine was very helpful advising us of best places for meals and directing us on great winery around the area. Very content with my wife and I anniversary getaway.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ziggy420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2011

The breakfast was delightful and a real treat. I wish I had time to linger here longer. It is a great place to relax. Christine and Ed are a lovely couple. I can highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bliss2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2011

We had a lovely time at The Cornucopia. Beautiful, historic home in a quiet and quaint town. The best locally made breakfast. Great for a relaxing get-away. It is close to amazing restaurants and cute towns. A must if you are in CT.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcharneco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Christine and Ed are gracious hosts that welcomed us from the start. Ed is very knowledgeable about the area and had many excellent recommendations. All of Christine and Ed's recommendations from restaurant to sight-seeing and antique shopping spots panned out great. We really enjoyed our trip to Woodbury/Southbury. The breakfast was excellent, the home made scones were very fluffy and delicious and the fresh fruit parfait was sweet and juicy.
all in all, i would definitely come back again and would recommend the Admiral suite or the John Moseley room.

Room Tip: definitely go with the John Moseley or the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kooky012489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2011

We needed a room for just one night near Litchfield and found the perfect place. Cornucopia is a wonderfuly B&B. Not only was it beautiful, clean and comfortable but the inn keepers were so delightful and accomodating. The B&B is just a few minutes off of I-84 and very easy to access. If I have the opportunity or need to stay in the area again, I will definitely stay at Cornucopia.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LikesGoodService2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2011

What a beautiful colonial this Inn is. We recommend it for both business and leisure. Innkeepers Christine and Ed can't be faulted in anyway. Beautiful service, wonderful rooms, luxury bedding, big fluffy towels and delicious, homemade breakfasts. The location, too, is both easy to find and accessible to all the area has to offer. Skip the tired business hotels and enjoy this lovely destination. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bizhopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southbury
2.7 mi away
Wyndham Southbury
Wyndham Southbury
#2 of 2 in Southbury
297 reviews
11.7 mi away
Homestead Inn
Homestead Inn
#1 of 3 in New Milford
90 reviews
11.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Danbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterbury
Hampton Inn Waterbury
#1 of 8 in Waterbury
492 reviews
12.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Danbury
Hampton Inn Danbury
#3 of 15 in Danbury
754 reviews
16.6 mi away
BW Premier Collection The Litchfield Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cornucopia at Oldfield Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornucopia at Oldfield Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Cornucopia at Oldfield Bed & Breakfast
Address: 782 Main St N, Southbury, CT 06488-1898
Location: United States > Connecticut > Southbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Southbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cornucopia at Oldfield Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cornucopia at Oldfield is Southbury's first bed and breakfast. The 'Oldfield' house has been a landmark in the community since John Moseley built it in 1818. It is an exceptional example of Georgian Federal architecture set on acres of rolling green lawns framed by majestic maples and original stone walls. There are 4 uniquely furnished rooms and 3 public rooms available for our guests. THe grounds are enhanced by a secluded swimming pool. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing