We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weather permitting - great place for eagle watching!”

Shepaug Eagle Observation Area
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Weather permitting - great place for eagle watching!”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Visited here with a group of Senior Citizens. Staffed by Audubon Volunteers who are very friendly and informative. Must dress for the weather - basically a wooden shelter with large open areas and large windows through which to view the eagles feeding on the river by the dam. Some monoculars are available, but I would advise bringing your own binoculars and a camera with your zoom, of course@

On the day we visited, mid-January, the fog was so thick, you could barely see 10 feet in front of you - bummer! But luckily, a biologist from Audubon Fairfield was present with three birds of prey and gave us an informative talk.

You may visit the observation area FREE of charge, but reservations are required. We plan on going back with fingers crossed for better visibility!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Foodie1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great spot to see eagles in their natural habitat”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I have seen eagles fishing since the dam runs year round and keeps the water from freezing. There is a small spotting booth set up with spotting scopes and the volunteers are very knowledgeable. Also have seen mergansers and owls.

Helpful?
Thank Wolfdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
420 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Love the views, love the trails”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is a amazing place to go hiking!! And the views are amazing!!! I walk the dogs here all the time....they love to play in the water and they love to romp around the trails....It is never busy so a really fun place to go hiking....our dogs really love swimming along the trails and we love being able to step in the water and throw the ball.....You can't get in until the holiday, so you only have 3 months to go there, but we look forward to it every year...You can go to a park called Waldo anytime of the year and hike from there to Eagle...but it is about a 45 or so min hike...which we love, but if you just want to hike up to the eagle and the water and the trails right there it is only a 10-15 min hike up...

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank CTCouple310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
331 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Lots of Eagles in the Winter”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Shepaug Dam Eagle Observation Area is a Winter time activity. What the deal is that the Eagles hang around until the Hydro dam startrs to operate. They then eat the fish that have been sucked into the turbines and discharged into the river. Dress Warmly and bring your binoculers or spotting scope. This is a "One Of" site. You will never see this many Bald Eagles in one place anywhere else in Connecticut.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank OldeBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We brought my niece and nephew here and they loved it. Love seeing the eagles so close. They limit how many people so make sure you make arrangements ahead.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank codysport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shepaug Eagle Observation Area also viewed

 

Been to Shepaug Eagle Observation Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing