We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't waste your time or money on Nardelli's...” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nardelli's Grinder Shoppe

Nardelli's Grinder Shoppe
Ranked #21 of 46 Restaurants in Southbury
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time or money on Nardelli's...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Hard to believe that this place even got any consideration for Best Grinders in CT. I can think of half a dozen other local Grinder shops that blow this place away for both quality and price. Recently, I went to the Southbury location for a Meatball grinder. The clerk went into the back and placed several FROZEN MEATBALLS in the microwave with refrigerated sauce ! YUCH. A real grinder shop has meatballs that are freshly made in sauce simmering in a pot for customers sandwiches. To boot is that Nardelli's removes the inner part of the bread so as the clerk stated, "You can actually bite in to it." Puzzling since the inner part of the grinder roll is delicious and customers love it. You want a great grinder for a reasonable price ? Go to Cavallo's in either Waterbury on East Main or Cavallo's in Oakvillle. Nardelli's can't even come close to these two real grinder shops.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CTRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NardellisCT, Owner at Nardelli's Grinder Shoppe, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
CTRunner,
We are so sorry to hear about your disappointment with our meatball grinder. We are conducting ongoing research & development to look for an alternative to a microwave. We are curious about the removal of the grinder bread to accommodate the meatballs. That isn't our proper protocol unless someone requests it. We will have that looked in to immediately.You are right that one of the most wonderful things about our grinders is our delicious bread. We are working to make our hot grinders better. In the meantime, our Italian Combo is truly worthy of the praise it receives and if you haven't tried one yet with everything on it, we can't recommend it enough. We realize that we can't make everyone happy but we certainly do care and try. All of our reviews are read by our staff and we can assure you that we will be looking in to your complaints.
~Nardelli's Grinder Shoppe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    8
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southington, Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Cold Sandwiches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Nardelli's is a good sandwich shop. The cold Italian Combo is the best. A lot of the sandwiches are heated up in a microwave, which I'll never understand. It's just not the same taste as if they were grilled to order. Saves time I guess, but takes away from the flavor.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank MrEarl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NardellisCT, Owner at Nardelli's Grinder Shoppe, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
MrEarl2013,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your Italian Combo grinder. It truly is one of our best. We are sorry to hear that you don't enjoy our hot grinders. We are doing ongoing research & development in the search for a better alternative to the microwave. We do offer our grinders & wraps to be put in a panini press. You may find that a more appetizing way to heat things up. We ultimately want to make our customers happy! Thank you for being our customer and we look forward to seeing you again, soon.
~Nardelli's Grinder Shoppe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Ginders.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Nardelli's creates great grinders. the one problem is that they are not open on Sunday (except Super Bowl Sunday) It would be a great place to pick up a TV snack before a NASCAR Race or a Sunday Double Header BB game , But they are not there.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank biggrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NardellisCT, Owner at Nardelli's Grinder Shoppe, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
biggrace,
We are so sorry that we missed seeing this review! Thank you so much for taking the time & effort to write us such wonderful feedback! We are so thrilled that you think we create great grinders! It is true that we are closed on Sundays. It is the one day that we give our staff to spend with their friends & families. We do try and announce in advance when a location will be open on a Sunday. We think getting some Nardelli's for Nascar or a double header BB game is an awesome idea! If you are willing to get a few things in advance we'd be happy to accommodate you. Check out our menus here: http://www.nardellis.com/menus.html. Thank you for being our fan! If you haven't done so already, please "LIKE" our Facebook Page. https://www.facebook.com/NardellisGrinderShoppe. We post great news & special offers. You can also find out about what location might be open on a Sunday!
Grazie,
Nardelli's Grinder Shoppe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
90 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A good grinder”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Good family run business with good grinders I've had better but I 'very had way worse... Always fresh and plenty of the deli cuts you ask for.. Number of good salads too

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2002porsche911T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NardellisCT, Owner at Nardelli's Grinder Shoppe, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We just wanted to say, "GRAZIE" for taking the time to write us a review. We appreciate that you thought our grinders were good. We of course hope to get 5 stars but we are truly grateful for the feedback. Aside from a good product, we strive to keep our customers happy with great customer service. We thank you for being our customer and hope you'll continue to spread the good word about us.
~Nardelli's Grinder Shoppe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
62 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Desserts!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Nardelli's is a first rate deli. No question about it.
But on this night, I had dinner planned but I needed a special desert to put the icing on the cake. (Yes, a weak pun. Sorry)
They had small portions of absolutely delectable desserts. Cheesecake (4 varieties), apple pie with whipped cream, puddings and tapioca. I got the peanut butter and chocolate cheesecake and the caramel apple pie with whipped cream (are you salivating) and they were superb!!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NardellisCT, Owner at Nardelli's Grinder Shoppe, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
James,
We just wanted to say "GRAZIE" for taking the time to write us such a wonderful review. We always like to hear about our customers having a great experience and we appreciate you sharing it with others. You bring up a great point. We are really known for our grinders and we don't do a lot to push our desserts. Thanks to you, we are going to give our social media team a heads up and focus on highlighting our desserts in our upcoming posts. We are glad that you are our customer and that you are so sweet (all puns intended).
Thanks~
Nardelli's Grinder Shoppe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nardelli's Grinder Shoppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing