We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rathskeller Restaurant Lounge & Cafe

Rathskeller Restaurant Lounge & Cafe
Ranked #4 of 46 Restaurants in Southbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Winsted, Connecticut
Level Contributor
140 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

With a casual setting, this restaurant is one of the cutest I've come across. The service was so friendly and helpful. My family and I spent the whole meal admiring the cute touches everywhere. The menu was extensive and had something for everyone. We ordered a delicious southern egg roll appetizer that everyone enjoyed immensely. The tilapia scampi is a unique dish that I have yet to come across anywhere else and is still one of my favorite meals from a restaurant. The pulled pork nachos were delicious, but seemed like they should be more of an appetizer than a meal. The food quality was impeccable, something rare to find in a restaurant these days. I can't wait to go back. I tell everyone about it!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 578105710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    40
    13
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
391 reviews
294 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Good place to have cocktails or a good dinner/lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We have gone to Rathskeller a few times and everytime it is really good...it is not a high end restaurant....it is a average priced restaurant that has good food and good drinks....The menu has tons of things to choose from...so no matter what you feel like..there is something for everyone...my personal favorite is the Rathskeller grilled chicken sandwich..so yummy...
This is a really good location to meet a friend for lunch/dinner or cocktails....

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CTCouple310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aledo, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very high quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

I don't often write a review, but the quality observed at this restaurant was exemplary. I think the salmon was the best I ever had. My companions agreed as well that the food quality was excellent and their overall restaurant experience was top notch. Moreover, the waitress was pleasant and helpful, arriving at our table with a smile each time. The atmosphere was positive , comfortable, and without too much noise. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone, and I definitely plan to return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice vibe, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a casual restaurant that has a large menu guaranteed to please everyone from the burger eater to the gourmet. We eat here at least once a month and sometimes it is for the big, juicy burgers and sometimes for the exceptional entrees. The owners are warm, delightful people who want their restaurant to be a great place to hang out with friends. They have succeeded! The bar is always crowded with locals and it has a vibe like the "Cheers" bar. Whether it is your first time or your 40th, you will be treated like a friend. The booths offer a more laid back, intimate dining experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BBCC85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“We loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Sometimes you stumble upon a restaurant you just love and this was ours. We've been to the big restaurants in NYC, Napa Valley and Chicago so we know what good is. The staff was great, friendly and prompt. We were on our way to the movies and the host took care of us and even took our drink order since the waitress was with another table, it was very busy. Food was wonderful, my almond crusted salmon was one of the best dinners I can recall. My wife had a shrimp and chicken dish which she thoroughly enjoyed. The place was a little loud, it is half restaurant/ half bar area, but we like a lively crowd. Dessert was a classic brownie a la mode, fresh and delicious. Great job!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Printlag488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rathskeller Restaurant Lounge & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Rathskeller Restaurant Lounge & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing