We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short weekend stay”
Review of Heritage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heritage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Southbury
Certificate of Excellence
Syosset, NY
1 review
“Short weekend stay”
Reviewed May 7, 2007

Just came back for a short weekend stay. Have been here on previous occassions and enjoy it more every time. Did not have dinner at the resort so I have no commnt regarding the food. Bar service was credible and not expensive. Beds were extremely compfortable. Number of TV stations available was more than adequate. They are continuosly updating the resort and we look forward to returning for a longer weekend in the near future. Try to make reservations when Willie Nininger is appearing in the louge. He is truely an entertaining personality.

  • Liked — Comfort of the beds
  • Disliked — Lack of a bathtub
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bermuda85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    142
    55
    32
    16
See reviews for
162
103
14
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NYC
2 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2007

I will never stay at this hotel again... the staff was rude, the rooms were filthy, and the food was terrrible.

  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Acer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, MA
2 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2007

My wife, 3 kids, and in-laws stayed here for one night back in November, 2006 for a wedding we attended nearby.

The staff was extremely helpful, and the rooms were in very nice condition. In the morning, we had a terrific brunch at a very reasonable rate. Overall, the experience at The Heritage Inn in Southbury was terrific and I would highly recommend it.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
Thank rushyyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta Georgia
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2006

I stayed there recently for a wedding, the hotel food for the reception was not very good, people did not eat the entree. The swordfish and the chicken breast served were like shoe leather
the steak was okay. The chocolate fondue was good, pear salad was tasteless.

Note: I did not eat at the hotel restauants this was just the food at the reception.

The staff was as nice as can be! Very pleasant, helpful and friendly.

The hotel bar was a blast though, there was a small band (2 fun guys) they let us (the bridal party and some others) play some percussion, the drinks were good and reasonably priced.

The hotel room was very average in decor, but clean, and the bedding was comfortable, again, no bathtub in the room, which was strange. I did expect it to be nicer since the rooms were recently "re-done." But overall a clean comfortable room.

  • Liked — The Staff.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WellTraveledFemale43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2006

I booked the Family Fun package as a last minute deal for Memorial Day weekend. Overall, I thought the price was reasonable for the included amenities: room, breakfast for 2 and park passes for 4 to Lake Quassy. Our party consisted of 2 adults and one 4 y.o. child.

Being last minute, I wanted to do something and not spend a lot of $$$. This fit the bill.
The downside unfortunately was the bed(s). They looked very inviting: thick mattresses, plush comforters, and were even comfy to sit upon, however, it was definitely one of the worst sleeps we ever had, and both of us have traveled extensively in the US and abroad. We can’t figure out if it was because of the mattresses or the mattress pads, but if you are looking for a comfy night’s sleep, this may not be the place for you. Also, we were kept awake during the night by the occupants in the room above us. Their floorboards squeaked so badly, we heard their every step.
I read another review elsewhere about the size of the bathrooms – not much bigger than a closet. That was definitely an accurate review, although it didn’t really bother us.

Breakfast on day 2 was decent. The typical hotel style buffet breakfast. Although we got there on the late side, 9:30 and breakfast is only served until 10, they were still replenishing with fresh food up until the end.

The best features by far were the staff and the indoor/outdoor pools. They had activities scheduled throught the day for all ages, such as face painting, water balloon toss, hula hoop contest, etc. Fun things to keep everyone entertained, whether you were an active participant or not.
Everyone from the front desk, to the staff in the recreation center and restaurant were so pleasant and accommodating. We wanted to prolong our stay on day 2 to make use of the pool since we bailed on Lake Quassy after an extremely disappointing preview the prior evening. When we called the front desk to ask if this was feasible, they didn’t hesitate in the least, and let us prolong our stay for several hours. I’m sure this would not have been possible if the hotel was booked solid, but again, my comment here is about the courteousness of the staff. I just can’t say enough about their pleasant attitudes, probably because it is so rare nowadays.

In total, it was a nice getaway for the price for a small family, and if you are not sensitive to the quality of a mattress, then this could be a nice destination.

Oh, and lastly, a 3.5 out of a 4 star review for a local Italian restaurant called Julio’s. Great food, atmosphere and staff!

Helpful?
4 Thank rosiedreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manahawkin, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2005

I have to say this was an interesting hotel and full of extremes, both good and bad...

The bathroom: I did not realize until too late, that you have to "request" a bathtub. You may want to do this anyway because having a tub in that room may force it to be of a bigger size (the door pretty much knocks against the toilet). On the plus side, the toiletries were very nice, the sink was beautiful and the water pressure was good.

The bedroom: Looks like a converted ski lodge. The windows were missing the screens. The bed sheets were threadbare. Half of the lamp light bulbs weren't working.

Outside grounds: Beautiful, great for picture taking.

Buffet Breakfast: WONDERFUL! Make sure you take advantage!

  • Stayed May 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ronniemook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 26, 2004

My mother and I stayed here for one night at the end of October. We got a great deal on this hotel that included free breakfast buffet. I would absolutely recommend staying at the dolce heritage if you can get a similar deal and are not staying for an extended stay. Its a great weekend getaway. The staff was polite and courteous. Our room was very clean. The beds were comfortable nothing outrageous but nice. The breakfast buffet was good but it gets wiped out quickly get there early. They do try to restock as quickly as they can. The Heritage Village complex was convienient with a Friendly's right next door, two resturants, and a deli on premises. They also have an indoor pool with jacuzzi. Two small complaints would be no remote for the TV and housekeeping did not respond to my request to have a crib (that was not requested) removed from my room. But overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southbury
3.4 mi away
Wyndham Southbury
Wyndham Southbury
#2 of 2 in Southbury
287 reviews
15.1 mi away
Ethan Allen Hotel
Ethan Allen Hotel
#1 of 15 in Danbury
758 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterbury
Hampton Inn Waterbury
#1 of 8 in Waterbury
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Homestead Inn
Homestead Inn
#1 of 3 in New Milford
90 reviews
10.4 mi away
Grace Mayflower Inn and Spa
19.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol, Connecticut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Hotel

Property: Heritage Hotel
Address: 522 Heritage Rd, Southbury, CT 06488-3866
Location: United States > Connecticut > Southbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Southbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heritage Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Heritage! Each of our hotel's 163 spacious guest rooms and suites at The Heritage Hotel is freshly decorated to reflect a timeless New England Style, many with views of the Pomperaug River and golf course. Our love of hospitality is easy to see and amenities such as Sealy® pillow-top mattresses, New England® coffee in your room and an attentive staff demonstrate our passion for every facet of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hotel Southbury
Heritage Resort Southbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing