We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Hospitality!”
Review of Heritage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heritage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Southbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed here so that we could visit my parents for a short weekend. It was our first stay and we didn't really know what to expect. Our arrival was not a good one - after driving 7+ hours on a friday evening, we got to our room to find that it had not been cleaned from the previous guests. I was pretty unhappy and called room service. Mo sent two housekeeping staff up pretty quickly. They were super - very apologetic and immediately started stripping the beds and attacking the room We were on our way out to dinner with the folks so they had some time without us there to complete the job. When we returned, the room was spotless. Mo offered us a free dinner, but my husband suggested that two mornings of complementary breakfasts for us and out 8 year old son would be better for us.

We were entirely satisfied. The hotel itself could probably use a little freshening of the rooms (we had a slightly unpleasant odor in our room - 245), but it is a really nice place. The beds are very comfortable and the tv was new and worked well. We had a coffee maker, but they have coffee urns pretty much all day, all over the hotel, so we could have a cup first thing in the morning before we showered. The bathroom was large enough and the towels were soft and fluffy. There was a hairdryer, iron and board in the room. The heat worked fine. The one thing that we could have used that we didn't have was a mini-frig. We usually bring our own drinks - juice, water, organic milk for our son and almond milk for me, so we kept the cooler filled with ice.

The common areas are very well-kept, comfortable and clean. The game room has some broken games - pinball machine didn't have a ball, air hockey didn't have a puck and pool table cues had no tips, no 8-ball, too many 6 balls, not enough striped balls - a mismatch, ping pong paddles are destroyed - rubber has been peeled off. At one side of the ping pong table, the rug was sliced several feet across and caught my foot almost sending me flying off my feet three times. It needs to be repaired ASAP. But even with these inconveniences, we really enjoyed our stay - and they reimbursed us for the money we put into the broken machines. Our son had a great time playing ping pong, even with the worn out paddles and hubby and I shot a game of pool. Never made it into the pool, although it looked really nice. There is also a large hot tub. There are also two racquetball courts, which we did not see used and a fitness center, which was clean and seemed to be in reasonably good condition and has a decent selection of very standard cardio and weight machines and dumbbells.

We ate buffet breakfasts, which were excellent - the selection of food items was great, eggs, bacon, sausage, french toast/pancakes, fresh fruit and yogurt, oatmeal and toppings , cold cereal and a gentleman making omelets, plus bagels/bread, muffins/danishes. The food was very good quality. The scrambled eggs were real eggs and not watery. Everything was cooked just right. The wait staff was wonderful. They were pleasant, very helpful and responsive. We also had a snack and some drinks at Shadrack's, the pub/restaurant. The food was OK - we only had chili and a cheese quesedilla and some beers. But it was a nice atmosphere and even though it's a pub, it's OK for kids.

What really impressed us the most is that our stay occurred at a time when the surrounding town and other towns had lost power due to the recent early snowstorm, so the place, which is huge, was packed with families with children who were staying there because they had no power at home. There was also a convention of Storytellers in Fabric (?) there, who I am sure was a little surprised to see the hotel as full and active as it was!

What made out stay was the fabulous staff at this hotel. They worked so hard to make sure that everyone was happy and comfortable, regardless of whether the guests were locals, conventioneers or like us, in for a couple days to visit family.

We are returning in a couple of weeks for the Thanksgiving holiday and hope that our positive experience will be duplicated. We hope to use the pool and fitness center, too.

Thank you to all of the wonderful staff people from desk staff to housekeeping to restaurant staff, we had a lovely and very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeeBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritageres, General Manager at Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2011

This is certainly one of the most detailed reviews we have seen in a long time and I thank you for taking the time to write such a lengthy analysis of your stay with us. We have noted a few items for correction, however, it is clear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and you appreciated how our staff demonstrated their commitment to serving our guests under very stressful conditions during the October snowstorm. Thank you for recognizing our people as well as our extensive facilities and services. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Heritage Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 446 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2011

I have been to this hotel many times, and I'm never disappointed. We just returned from a visit during which time we celebrated our wedding anniversary. We were delighted at the reaction from the staff, including making our dinner reservations - we received two free glasses of champagne and two free desserts from the restaurant! The hotel itself is wonderful - indoor swimming, ping pong, buffet breakfast, and other amenities which we did not actually utilize (pub, indoor racketball courts, etc.). Our room had a large HDTV and a comfortable king-sized bed. The hotel is clean and pleasant, and the staff is attentive. We will continue to return to this hotel. With reasonable rates and flea markets/antiquing nearby, it's a wonderful weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicki11_53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritageres, General Manager at Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2011

Thank you for being a loyal repeat guest and for spending your anniversary weekend with us. We truly appreciate your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Heritage Hotel for a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

My wife and i had a great stay here! Wonderful staff! Room was very clean with a large flat screen tv and coffee maker. We were very pleased with the hotel grounds. There was also a very nice lounge with 2 nice pool tables. The wait staff and bartenders were very friendly! They have a pool area but we did not go swimming this trip. There is also a beautiful golf course,tennis courts and spa on the premisis. They have conference rooms also. You have to walk a little to get to the hotel from the parking area but not to far.Overall this hotel was fantastic and worth the money. I suggest strongly to stay here if in the area!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritageres, General Manager at Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2011

Thank you for being our guest and for your very kind comments about our staff, our services, and our extensive facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Heritage Hotel during your next visit to Connecticut.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Chose this location for a quick overnight, as they accepted pets. "Pet friendly" rooms are segregated away from the general population. If you are handicapped and have a pet, don't bother stopping here. Additionally, the cleaner they use to sanitize their "pet friendly" rooms is pretty disgusting and smells horrific. It is anything but friendly to humans. The smell was horrid and kept me from getting any sleep. It was really disgusting to have to smell that smell all night, get no sleep as a result, and then have to drive all day. If this is how they need to keep those rooms clean they should really consider not accepting pets at all. Interestingly enough, the cleaner or the staff person using it. didn't do its job very well, as the bathroom fixtures, bathroom floor, and shower, and shower floor were pretty gross (mold, mildew, finger prints, stains etc). Drove my allergies nuts! Started my vacation off on the wrong foot! Thanks Heritage for the help with that!! Will move right on past your establishment in the future.

Room Tip: Assume the rooms that were not set aside for pets are much better but cannot confirm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritageres, General Manager at Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2011

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us during your recent trip through Connecticut. It is important to note, however, that we do not use any harsh or special chemicals to clean our pet friendly rooms. We use only environmentally safe, effective, and nationally branded cleaning agents that have always been quite pleasing to our guests. It is possible that you were extremely sensitive to something due to your allergies and we certainly regret that we did not have an opportunity to offer a solution that would have made your stay more enjoyable. We will do anything necessary to provide you with comfortable accommodations during your next visit to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Nothing super fancy, but you will not be disappointed. Sits back off the street so don't feel silly if you have to ask for directions even though you'll be sitting directly in front of the place, lol. It has a very nice indoor/outdoor pool, full bar w/ 2 nice size pool tables with enough space to actually play. Nothing makes you feel better than being greeted with smiles and great attitudes upon arrival...I'd like to give many thanks to Michelle and Tiffany for always making me feel good about my choice to stay at the Heritage. Furthermore, I can't forget about the breakfast buffet EVERY morning...simply delish! Kudos to Jeff, Ana, Pat, Ruth, and Rebecca (best omellete maker ever). Beautiful golf course next door and overall a nice quiet serene area to stay and visit.

Room Tip: Stay in the North Wing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Carl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritageres, General Manager at Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2011

Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel and for mentioning by name so many of our staff members who work very hard to create a pleasant experience for our guests. Please know that we appreciate your loyalty to the Heritage Hotel and hope to have you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

This lodge-style small conference center hotel also serves the surrounding community of mostly retiree townhouses and homes. The hotel is at the center of a small development with a Friendly's Restaurant across the street and a cafe next door. Otherwise the area is heavily wooded, quiet and residential. The common areas are very spacious and comfortable. There's a nice outdoor and indoor pool/hot tub, workout center and racquet ball courts and outdoor tennis. The restaurant is quite good, and has two pool tables and multiple TV's for sports. On the down side the rooms are old and dated. i.e. linens were low thread count and not bright white, my bath towel was ripped along the edge, the molded shower stall had some mold in a corner, the door to the room did not fit properly so light showed through on three sides, the pillows were old fashioned rather hard ones and there were no extras (or extra blankets) in closet, etc. We have stayed here twice. The first time we rented a movie, which ran improperly, and we got a refund on checkout. This time, the volume on the TV would not adjust or mute. We changed remotes and it still didn't work. Since we didn't want to have them change the Tv (it was late) we just informed them at checkout. Staff were friendly on all accounts. There are not a lot of choices in hotels for this part of Connecticut. Although I don't like the ambiance at Hampton Garden Inn, which is the closest alternative, I would stay there for the better beds, linens, free morning breakfast and better business traveler set up.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelgal92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritageres, General Manager at Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2011

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us about your experience at our hotel. We appreciate your favorable description of our beautiful Connecticut setting and the many recreational and unique dining services we provide to our guests. We have addressed the deficiencies in your guest room and we apologize for not providing our usual comfortable accommodations. We also provide many services to our frequent business traveller guests including free wireless internet, business center services, a wide variety of conference services, and multiple food service options. We would welcome another opportunity to serve you during your next visit to the Connecticut countryside.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

I guess the best way to describe how satisfied we are is to say that we've been coming back here for about 20 years! The Heritage is like a comfortable shoe - it fits perfectly, and never fails to please. We've come here alone, with friends, with our kids, and always recommend it to others.

This trip was a 3 day getaway for my wife and I, and we stayed from Sunday to Tuesday. We requested early check-in, and arrived at noon. Our room wasn't yet ready, and we were told to return in an hour. We did, and it still wasn't ready. To compensate us, they upgraded us to the Executive Suite! We had two full attached rooms, with one a traditional room (bed, recliner, dresser, 42-inch flat screen TV, etc.) and one with a kitchenette area (fridge, microwave, sink, coffeemaker, storage cabinets), larger flat screen TV, sofa, lounge chair, large table for 6. This setup also gave us two bathrooms - one smaller with a toilet and sink, and the other with a toilet, sink, shower and jacuzzi. Very nice. Our only criticism is that the lamps contained low wattage energy-saving bulbs, and the lighting was very dim, even with all the lights turned on.

There are plenty of things to do without ever leaving the hotel. Indoor pool, hot tub, racquetball courts, fitness center with locker rooms, stream rooms, saunas, mountain bikes, outdoor pool with food & drinks at poolside, lounges, ping pong, pool tables, restaurant, bar, conference rooms, game rooms, spa (massages, facials, etc. for extra cost), and more.

The hotel is very well maintained, but some areas could use a sprucing-up. Some carpeting shows wear. The hotel is not luxury class, but that's not what we wanted. Our suite was utilitarian in that the furnishings were comfortable, but not luxurious. Other rooms in which we've stayed over the years were the same. The hotel is a great value for your money.

Want other things to do? The next town is the antiquing capital of Connecticut, and there's plenty of nearby shopping. Just take a long drive through the winding roads of beautiful Connecticut.

We always feel great after our stays here, and we'll keep coming back. We never tire of the Heritage Hotel.

Room Tip: As for a room overlooking the stream - very peaceful & scenic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VagabondDrummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heritageres, Front Office Manager at Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2011

Hello and thank you for your kind words. We appreciate your kind comments and feedback about the hotel. We will look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southbury
3.4 mi away
Wyndham Southbury
Wyndham Southbury
#2 of 2 in Southbury
318 reviews
15.1 mi away
Ethan Allen Hotel
Ethan Allen Hotel
#1 of 15 in Danbury
816 reviews
11.4 mi away
Homestead Inn
Homestead Inn
#1 of 3 in New Milford
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterbury
Hampton Inn Waterbury
#1 of 8 in Waterbury
522 reviews
17.1 mi away
The Litchfield Inn, BW Premier Collection
10.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Danbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Hotel

Address: 522 Heritage Rd, Southbury, CT 06488-3866
Location: United States > Connecticut > Southbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Southbury
Price Range: $106 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heritage Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Heritage! Each of our hotel's 163 spacious guest rooms and suites at The Heritage Hotel is freshly decorated to reflect a timeless New England Style, many with views of the Pomperaug River and golf course. Our love of hospitality is easy to see and amenities such as Sealy® pillow-top mattresses, New England® coffee in your room and an attentive staff demonstrate our passion for every facet of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hotel Southbury
Heritage Resort Southbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing