We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place for a wedding!”
Review of Mill on the River

Mill on the River
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
1 review
“Perfect place for a wedding!”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We had our wedding reception at Mill on the River on 10/19/12. The river room is rustic and elegant! The outside of the restaurant is beautiful as well! The food was spectacular! The staff was professional. The service was great! Laura made our wedding a special day to remember! She ensured that everything came together! We are so grateful to Laura and the entire staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smm1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    109
    34
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield Center, Connecticut
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Venue, Excellent Food, Pretty Good Service”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We celebrated my wife's birthday with a family ( a total of 10 people) dinner at Mill on the River. The restaurant's location and ambiance are both outstanding. The river with its falls running under the covered bridge entry to the restaurant sets the tone for a truly wonderful dining experience. We had about a 15 minute wait (beyond our reservation time) . The restaurant told us that the party dining at one of the tables that was to be used for our party of 10 was slow in finishing up. All of the food, from appetizers to entrees (we did not order dessert) was excellent. The Italian antipasto not only had quality food but was served in a dish that in itself was a conversation piece for a large part of the evening. I am at a loss to describe it and do it justice and I am really kicking myself that I didn't take a picture of it to post with my review. The garlic and gorgonzola bread was the best I have had in a long time. The Burratta mozzarella was outstanding and its presentation was impeccable. All of the entrees that we ordered were served without delay, were cooked perfectly, and were neither too hot nor too cold. Entrees ordered were the Prime Rib special, Weinerschnitzel, "Jagerschnitzel" and the Crimini, Shiitake, Chantarelle and Mushroom Ravioli. The Caesar salads were very good and had at least a half a head of Romaine lettuce in each one. There is a huge wine list and a wide array of other alcoholic beverages available. The only slightly negative all night was that the service could have been a little better. A couple of requests had to be made more than once and the wrong wine was added to a partially full glass of wine. (A new glass of the correct wine was provided free of charge) All in all, Mill on the River affords one an outstanding dinner experience and at a price that does not break the bank. They handle a large party with few if any problems.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford County CT
Level Contributor
141 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“The perfect place for just about anything”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We've visited Mill on the River for all types of events over the years. From large weddings to small dinner parties, we've enjoyed ourselves each and every time. The food is always impeccable and the venue itself is just beautiful at any time of year.

They have a prix fixe menu on Sunday and Monday nights that offers great menu options for the same price that you'd pay at any Big Box Casual chain restaurant. Highly reccomended option for enjoying fine dining on a budget.

Most recently, we brought some friends here for dinner who were visiting from Singapore, and we were able to get an outdoor table near the fountain. Our friends were impressed by the setting, the food and the service.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SWCTmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
152 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nostalgic setting, good food, mediocre service!”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Visited the restaurant with my daughter and location and ambiance gave us higher expectations probably. In reality, the food was good, service below average, bill above average without any alcoholic beverages.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank namrun14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love this place”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Have been going to this place for years and still love it. The staff are excellent, as is the service.
I think they make one of the best cosmos around.
I took Canadian friends with me when they were here visiting and they just loved sitting out on the patio having our drinks and dinner last year. At the same tome there was a wedding in the gazebo.
Went there for my birthday also in July and had a table by the window inside overlooking the waterfall.
What a beautiful place in every way

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mill on the River also viewed

 

Been to Mill on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing