We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere and a creative menu” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 2 Hopewell

2 Hopewell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Glastonbury CT, USA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and a creative menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Regardless of whether you eat upstairs, nice dining rooms in a historic New England building, or downstairs, in a lively bar with live jazz you can't go wrong.
The restaurant sources locally, fish from the LI Sound, vegetables and fruit from Glastonbury farms so you know they are always serving the best and freshest.
The food is very American and prepared very creatively; who would think about paring pork belly and scallops, I'm glad they did.
If you decide to eat in the bar be aware that the live music does draw in a bit of a crowd so be prepared for a bustling and a bit tight venue.
Service is great and the owners are on site assuring that it stays that way..

Helpful?
Thank doons60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    22
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Music and great food equal enjoyable evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Six of us visited this wonderful establishment on a recent Saturday. There is plenty of parking in the rear and signs directing overflow to nearby churches for overflow. We had reservations and were seated when we arrived. It was busy, but our waitress took our drink order and we reviewed a very nice selection on their menu. I had the swordfish francaisé. The fish was lightly covered with the egg batter and moist inside. My wife enjoyed her selection of butternut squash lasagna. This meatless dish has layers of the butternut squash with ricotta, leeks, multiple cheeses cheese and mushrooms.

The music was provided by Jeff Wieselberg. He did a great job mixing the tunes from different decades. This night was enjoyed by all.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JMPOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Connecticut
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Got Salt? Great Drinks”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and i ate in the bar area- at which you need to be seated by a hostess- Saturday night. We each started with a Martini. Mine was the classic gin dirty. and she had the grapefruit one.The martinis were PERFECTLY prepared. Best gin martini i have had in months.
Our waiter was very attentive and accommodating. And quick to make recommendations.
We ordered the calamari app, it was horrible. Obviously frozen, very chewy and completely over-seasoned (salted). We couldn't finish it. We make it a point to try calamari at every restaurant we go to. It's out bellwether as to the quality. We believe that if you are going to put it on the menu you should know how to prepare it. We were hoping our server would ask how it was- especially when he removed a half eaten portion, but he never did.
I had a wedge salad. It was done exactly to my liking. Very delicious.The blue cheese and roasted nuts were very tasty and the lettuce was fresh and crisp. For entrees I had the beef tips and my wife had the swordfish; both were presented beautifully. Unfortunately they were very bland. They needed salt. It was disheartening to see that there was no salt on the table, in fact there was no salt on any table. I felt my portion size was small- lots of bits of meat in gravy. Well done as I wasn't given a preference.My wife was happy with her portion.
We opted to skip dessert and left after paying.
I rated this restaurant poor for a couple reasons:
With drinks (2 martinis and 2 glasses of wine) the billed topped out at about 130 before tip. The quality of the food just didn't warrant the high price.
While the server was attentive he never checked in as to the quality of the food. He didn't ask if we were enjoying it. Perhaps there was a reason for this.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RedRocks10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
93 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“nice atmosphere and wonderful meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had dinner last night - was early and we were the only patrons at first. Very attentive staff. Had the calamari app - perfectly prepared. Crispy outside with just a little spice in the batter and the calamari was fresh, no chewy bits anywhere. Each of us had different entrees and all were happy with their choice. The vegetarian had relatively limited choices but was quite happy with the butternut squash lasagna. The scallop dish with lobster risotto was great and the tenderloin tips were melt in your mouth good. Had to squeeze in dessert as this was a birthday outing - the apple crepe, creme brulee and carrot cake were each met with approval. They let us linger for a couple hours without complaint, and the tavern section was full with other happy diners when we did eventually depart. Would definitely go back when in the area again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Soglio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, CT
Level Contributor
95 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“cozy american bistro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

2hopewell is a wonderful restaurant in South Glastonbury that has a great "american bistro" menu with seasonal and local ingredients. The owners are friendly and accomodating and the servers are always very attentive. It's a great place to meet friends for dinner or celebrate a special occasion.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CrazyaboutDiving88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 2 Hopewell also viewed

 

Been to 2 Hopewell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing