We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting for a hotel...”
Review of The Simsbury Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Simsbury Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Simsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
219 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting for a hotel...”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

I lived in Avon, CT for 30 years and never stayed at the Inn. We were in town for a wedding and this was our turn to treat ourselves to a three day weekend. The grounds are beautiful and welcoming. You walk in the main door and its just so quant and charming. Then a musty heavy fake room deodorizing smell comes and overwelms you. I try to get past that and make our way to check in. Which was quick and
pleasant. There is no service to have your bags brought to the room and that's ok. We had two rooms booked for the wedding and both were clean, but seriously need updating and the carpeting needs to replaced. The rooms were very spacious and bright. The beds, bedding and pillows were wonderful. The pool area is very nice. All the staff were helpful and courteous. The private breakfast buffet was very good. The wedding was not at the
Inn, but they offered shuttle service to The Riverview and that was truly great.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diddy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    79
    22
    5
    3
See reviews for
45
49
15
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend last month. The staff was great and the room was spacious and clean. The antiques were a nice add to the room ambiance. There was a wedding and they placed us in a corner room away from the action. The pool is nice. We did not eat at the hotel restaurant. We would come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knowonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I have stayed at all of the other hotels in this local chain and highly recommend to all to STAY LOCAL - it's worth it in this area. The Simsbury Inn was the last and based on reviews, to be the best. My boyfriend booked this for a long weekend and I really enjoyed it. The staff was very friendly, housekeeping outstanding, maintenance crews do a fantastic job on this property. We enjoyed being able to travel with the dog, hanging out on the patio (the pool is inside and open late, which was great), playing Ping-Pong and walking the site. They also have complimentary bikes (I have one more day of stay here and haven't utilized this yet). The landscaping is very well maintained and enjoyable during early morning walks.
We will try the onsite lounge/bar and restaurant this evening, more to follow! If in Simsbury, I feel you cannot go wrong with the Simsbury Inn (or if booked, please try the 1820 House - I heard from front desk staff it was just renovated!)

Room Tip: We stayed on a lower level as traveling with the dog, but it is very quiet on the back of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoutheastJeromeFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I stayed here for a weekend back in September 2012. It is a very nice old building. The check in experience was slow, but the desk agent was very nice. My room was nice, however a little bit dated. Some of the furnishing were a bit dirty and worn out. It is just an old building in general. The room was pretty clean. It was very quiet on the first night of my stay, however my second night was a different story. My room was right above the ballroom, and there was some sort of event going on. ( I think it was a Bat Mitzvah.) The music was extremely loud and I could hear what song was playing. It was not too much of a bother because the volume was lowered at about 10 PM. The hotel does have a nice pool and great morning breakfast. Overall, it is a nice little Inn, but could use some improvements with room décor and overall maintenance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the ballroom if you want to sleep before 10 PM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
194 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed here for a business conference and had a wonderful time. The service was excellent and the food was fantastic. Would definitely recommend to anyone spending time in Simsbury. The Talcott Mountain Tower hike wasa great activity if you have a couple of hours to spare.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSIEGELUF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here on 7/26. The grounds were landscaped nicely and had cobblestone walkways. The lobby decor was nice, as well, with hardwood flooring and a sitting area with a large fireplace. We were there for a wedding, as were most guests. When we checked in, we had to ask for the welcome bag as it was not given to us. The only reason we knew there was a welcome bag was because we are friends with the bride and groom. We wouldn't have gotten one if we didn't ask. This is unacceptable as the Inn does a huge amount of business due to weddings and should know better. Furthermore, check in took too long and the desk personnel seemed frazzled. We stayed in room 311 and weren't impressed. As soon as you enter the elevator you can see the wear and tear of the building. Upon entering the room, we noticed that the furniture was faded, scratched and chipped, and the doors squeaked. The baseboard trim was plastic cove moulding and gave the room a cheap feel. The mattress was uncomfortable and so thin that I could grip it with my hand. The room was cleaned adequately, however the attention to detail wasn't there. For example, there was a thick layer of dust on top of the TV and picture frames, which blows around the room when the a/c goes on. The bathroom was nice and appeared updated but the shower head was only about 5' 10" off the ground and the toilet was crooked. We did experience good room service when we requested extra towels, and the bedding was nice and comfortable. In the morning the Inn served mini bagels, cream cheese, yogurt, granola, mini pastries, coffee and juice. You can have eggs but for $15 each it's not worth it. For $200 a night we weren't impressed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jellyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here for a few days for a nearby wedding. Bigger than a B&B but smaller than a chain hotel, the Simsbury Inn offered the space and amenities for a great stay with the quaint charm and decor of a New England B&B. We got a standard room...had a four posted king size bed, small desk, spacious armoire and a normal sized closet for us to be able to spread out our stuff. Typical hotel bathroom, fire hose water pressure in the shower.
The restaurant with the bar was really good and they offered us some discount coups to dine there the one night we needed to. Decent continental breakfast in the lobby area (with plenty of comfy couch/chair vignettes at which to sit and relax). there is also a small cafe that offers hot breakfast if you feel so inclined. other family tried it out and were happy with it. They have an indoor pool and hot tub, but alas we never got there due to the hectic schedule of the weekend. i was hoping for one more day to just relax. Plenty of free self parking and it's location is very easy to find and be able to run out for an errand or to a local place. The front desk was very pleasant and welcoming. Janine Cobbledick was a pleasure to deal with for the room block that was set up. I would stay here again if I was in the area.

Room Tip: Suites have extra sitting space but not a separate bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KtotheRisten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simsbury
3.3 mi away
Avon Old Farms Hotel
2.9 mi away
Residence Inn Hartford Avon
8.7 mi away
Farmington Inn
Farmington Inn
#3 of 7 in Farmington
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/Farmington
7.7 mi away
HYATT house Hartford North/Windsor
14.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol, Connecticut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Simsbury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Simsbury Inn

Property: The Simsbury Inn
Address: 397 Hopmeadow St., Simsbury, CT 06070
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Simsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Simsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Simsbury Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury hotel located 14 miles west of Hartford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The Simsbury Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Simsbury Hotel Simsbury
The Hotel Simsbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing