We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Wonder”
Review of The Simsbury Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Simsbury Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Simsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I attended a wedding with about 175 people and what a wonderful place for an event!

My only recommendation would be that when the Inn is hosting an event, more signage would be appreciated. It wasn't clear where to park and when entering the lobby, we had to go to the front desk, wait our turn and then inquire where to go for the wedding. If there were signs, they were not prominently displayed as we surely missed them.

But that is my only ding for this terrific venue. The Inn itself is beautiful and while we did not stay overnight, those who did had great reviews for the rooms. The food was very good and everyone seemed to be served at the same time which is difficult to do at a wedding this size. The staff was well organized and we rarely had any interaction - which means they worked seamlessly with no issues and that's the way we like it.

Those who spent the night attended a wedding brunch in the morning and again, kudos to the staff as I understand it was delightful.

It is a nice ride to get the Inn and while Simsbury is a hike from major highways - it was easy to find. If you are planning an event - this would be an excellent option to consider.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie-says-so
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 199 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

A little off the beaten path. Using a GPS to find it helps.
Positives: comfortable, reasonably priced, nice common facilities, good sized rooms and large beds. Lots of parking.
Negatives: lacks automatic door openers to exterior entrances and guest room corridor on 1st floor. Plumbing in bathrooms has seen its better days, tub/shower is hazardous - slippery, no grab bars.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I just returned from a stay at the Simsbury Inn and wanted to report that I had a terrific stay. From the shuttle driver that picked me up at the airport, to the front desk, the down bedding and the great food, I was a very happy traveler. I am looking forward to a return with my wife.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Lovely overnight accommodations. Our room was beautiful, the bed was so comfortable. From the time we checked in to the time we checked out, it was a great experience. Thr front desk was friendly and welcoming. The ambiance in the restaurant, the food and the waitstaff were incredible. We also had a great breakfast in the cafe. We will return!

Room Tip: Renovated rooms on the third floor are the best,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

My wife and I 3 nights at the inn and dined at the bar. It was wonderful. Staying there was like staying at a Grand Hotel. The rooms were comfortable and well-located. The staff attentive and personable. We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Room with a front view would be nice but not necessary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This place is nice. This place is good. It's just not spectacular. It is a great antidote to corporate/chain hotels. The staff is nice and friendly. The lobby is warm and inviting. There is complimentary water, coffee, tea and hot cocoa. The rooms are nice enough but seem like they are less than two years way from needing renovation/refresh. Everything was clean. Thee is a full tub and the water temperature and pressure are both good. However, the shower head is too low for my liking. Also, the bed was much too firm for me (my wife thought it was fine.) The continental breakfast included is ok. Croissants are good. Cranberry pound cake and cranberry walnut mini-muffins are good. Juice is ok but not freshly squeezed. All in all, not a bad stay at all. The plus was that we were able to keep our cat with us (they have some dedicated pet rooms.)

Room Tip: They have some rooms available if you bring a pet. Arrange that when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stenro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Took a Deluxe King Room for a couple of nights in October. Arrived at 15.30 - room not quite ready - not a major problem.
1st floor room we moved into was then too noisy with outside Aircon machine buzzing. Lynn on front desk showed us a room on 3rd floor, but a/c in there was even noisier. She then found 3 further rooms for us to look at on 3rd floor, and we took 304 - nice & quiet. She also gave us 2x $20- vouchers for breakfast to compensate for the inconvenience! That's what I call customer service. Glen on front desk was also very helpful.
Bathroom functionality not quite as good as some we'd had on the trip, but OK.
Acceptable breakfast.
Ate one night in their Evergreens restaurant - food was excellent.
Couldn't get in there next night due to wedding party - ate in the Twigs Bar - food just as good - their chef is really fantastic. Dave behind bar was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Papa_Polo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simsbury
3.3 mi away
Avon Old Farms Hotel
2.8 mi away
Residence Inn Hartford Avon
14.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol, Connecticut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Farmington Inn
Farmington Inn
#5 of 6 in Farmington
261 reviews
8.6 mi away
Homewood Suites Hartford Farmington
10.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/Farmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Simsbury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Simsbury Inn

Address: 397 Hopmeadow St., Simsbury, CT 06070
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Simsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Simsbury
Price Range: $183 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Simsbury Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury hotel located 14 miles west of Hartford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Simsbury Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Simsbury Hotel Simsbury
The Hotel Simsbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing