We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Owners”
Review of Maple Tree Cafe

Maple Tree Cafe
Ranked #27 of 54 Restaurants in Simsbury
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“New Owners”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Was part of Appollo Restaurant. Owners retired. New owner kept up with the great entertainment but food went downhill. (Don't mess with success)New owner and chef are coming soon.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank KPJP14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    21
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“See the Tree”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Not your gourmet stop but warm and friendly. Stick to the basics and you can't go wrong. Pizza is very good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
219 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great local bar...”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We previously lived in Avon for 30 yrs and were back in the area for a wedding. Just had to stop for a short visit to the bar on a Friday afternoon. Totally miss the home town atmosphere at the Maple Tree. Our bartender was so much fun and service was great. The locals filled the bar by 5:00 and it was standing room only. Great place to visit. Enjoy!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank diddy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
107 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice lunch option in Simsbury”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We sat on the deck as it was a beautiful day. Tried the clam chowder and minestrone. Both were homemade and really good. The minestrone could have been a little hotter. We also had the meatloaf - an excellent take on a comfort food standard. The eggplant sandwich was very tasty but there was only 1 very thin slice of eggplant. The almond creme brûlée was outstanding. The service and atmosphere were excellent and the food was good. We will definitely try it again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NewEnglandYourMyHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, CT
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I recently went there for dinner with friends so we could eat outside on a warm evening. The service was fine, but the food was nothing great. My friend's Ruben was tough and my Caesar Wrap had lots of (too many) chunks of bread cubes in it. I used to love going here for dinner, but now I would give the food just a "fair" and probably wouldn't go unless we wanted the outdoors setting again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CTtraveler06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maple Tree Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Maple Tree Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing