We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Bed and Breakfast Ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Green Acres Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Simsbury B&B and Inns
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Bed and Breakfast Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

My daughter and I went to this bed and breakfast as a bonding time before she went to college. We both were touched by all the details that were in place such as a pool house equipped with everything that you need to lounge for the day by the pool. There were floatation devices, a variety of sun screens/bug repellants, extra towels, soft drinks in the fridge and so much more. I had the two of the best nights sleeping in beds that were so comfortable that I drifted of as soon as I got into bed. The bathrooms and the bedrooms had more than we needed. Everything was thought of. Even things we never thought we needed, were there; like a tranquil sound maker, a charger for our cell phones, a stocked mini fridge with snacks and countless other items. I never had such a good breakfast in an Inn. You could taste the love that went into the best eggs I had ever had. The chickens were charming and you could taste the difference in the quality of the eggs. The chickens had the best quality of life with love and care and it translated into butter flavored, orange eggs fit for kings and nothing less!

Room Tip: Both rooms were great! One had its own entrance to the beautiful yard which was great. The upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crystal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
35
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this charming inn for just one night. We were traveling to Boston for our daughters wedding and needed a place to stay on the way. We chose this wonderful inn because of the great reviews. We made the right choice. Cathy and Jim have thought of every luxury, from the wonderful linens, in room keurig machine, decanter of sherry, delicious brownies, blueberry pie, mini fridge full of snacks and drinks to the gourmet breakfast with fresh laid eggs! There is an inviting swimming pool too! We had a great night sleep. We have stayed at over a dozen B&B's and we have a few favorites, this inn is now one of them! We were truly spoiled, and can't wait to come back for a longer stay! Thank you so much for everything!

Geoff and Kim

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kim58204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Green Acres is located approximately 20 miles northwest of Hartford. CT. My partner and I found this quaint original colonial B & B on-line looking for a place nearby the Norfolk Music Festival in Norfolk, CT. While it is approximately 1/2 an hour away from Norfolk, it turns out to be a wonderful discovery and someplace we want to return to, frequently.

Our hosts, Jim & Cathy are gracious, friendly and splendidly inviting. The house is an original colonial, extensively renovated for the B & B to include all of the amenities one might expect (a/c, private baths, large comfortable rooms, wifi, flat screens) and some one might not expect (jet soaking tub, fresh laid eggs from the on-site free-range chickens who joined us for breakfast on the patio, beautiful swimming pool next to the vegetable garden that supplies the most delectable breakfast we have ever enjoyed, hands down). The decor is charming, the view from the room out over the grounds is wonderful and the only slight (and I do mean slight) issue is the location on a heavily (daytime-only) traveled road (easily overcome by the in-room sound machine playing ocean sounds!). In the afternoons, hot beverages and sweets are located in the dining room, cold beverages and nibblies are located in the pool house, and a carafe of cream sherry was placed in our room to enjoy (and, of course, we did).

This is a dog-friendly b & b (up to 25 lbs. and wait until you meet Coco and Angel) but as it is a colonial farmhouse, this isn't wheelchair-accessible or overly easy for those needing canes/walkers.

All in all, for a quiet, restful and totally comfortable destination, we can't offer enough positive superlatives. We are already planning our return....

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJFerreiraJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Living in Vermont I have come to expect great B&B's but never expected to come across this gem in my home town of Simsbury, CT. Down visiting family we uncovered this special place and was impressed beyond words. Attention to detail is everywhere and the restored home is tasteful and very comfortable. Though on a busy road the noise seems to disappear once inside due to what seems to be great sound insulation. The room was extremely comfortable and inviting. The entire home was spotless and the inn keepers only motive was to make us feel welcome. The breakfast was outstanding, offering a wide variety of homemade selections. No one leaves hungry. The owners have set the bar very high in the B&B world. I have never experienced finer lodging. A standard for all others to follow.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Green Acres was a stopover on a trip from Northeast Pennsylvania to Martha's Vineyard. The hospitality, service, amenities and surroundings were simply wonderful. This is a pet friendly environment, with Jim as welcoming to our Brittany Sam as one could hope for. The breakfast was superb, with nice touches throughout our visit - coffee and tea upon arrival, a calming fountain on the patio, a tasteful interior to a farmhouse lovingly restored with original features. The inn is situated on a road with some traffic, but it did not affect our sleep or enjoyment. We felt welcomed, and left with a sense of gratitude for having been looked after so well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kilian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Getting tired of traditional hotels, so tried this lovely B&B. It's on a busy main street, but once inside, didn't notice the traffic. Innkeepers are lovely; easy to be around. Home is well appointed, old wide-plank floors and lovely bedrooms. Our updated bathroom was small, but had all the amenties and lots of hot water. A nice treat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wishiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We used this warm and friendly b & b as a stopping point on our drive from Martha's Vineyard to New York, but once we arrived we wished we had planned to stay longer.
Jim and Cathy were the warmest hosts and everything about our stay was impeccable - the drinks and home-cooked treats on arrival, the thoughtful touches such as sweets and home-baked biscuits in our rooms and the many tempting choices offered on the a la carte breakfast menu.
The bedrooms and bathrooms were furnished to the highest standards and we all had a wonderful night's sleep. Our children also adored the cute dogs and enjoyed feeding the chickens.
This location would be a great base from which to explore this beautiful part of Connecticut which we saw in all its Fall splendour.
We hope to return one day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simsbury
2.7 mi away
The Simsbury Inn
The Simsbury Inn
#1 of 1 in Simsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
2.6 mi away
Avon Old Farms Hotel
7.2 mi away
Farmington Inn
Farmington Inn
#3 of 7 in Farmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol, Connecticut
10.6 mi away
Hartford Marriott Downtown
1.7 mi away
Residence Inn Hartford Avon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Acres Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Acres Bed and Breakfast

Property: Green Acres Bed and Breakfast
Address: 444 Bushy Hill Rd, Simsbury, CT 06070-2806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Simsbury
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Simsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Acres Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green Acres is a fully restored 18th century farmhouse combining the charm of an old residence with the amenities of a fine hotel. Enjoy a relaxing stay whether sitting by the pool in the Summer or the fireplace in Winter. Dine on the patio in good weather or by the fire in the dining room when the days become cold. Room service is available for those who prefer privacy. Stroll the gardens, swing in the hammock or play with the dogs and chickens. When you stay at Green Acres, our home is yours to enjoy as you choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Green Acres Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing