We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cannot wait to visit again”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Millwrights

Millwrights
Reserve with OpenTable
Millwrights is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 54 Restaurants in Simsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Waterfall Way
Description: With its unique setting perched atop a waterfall in Simsbury, Connecticut, Millwright's invites guests to dine in the 17th century mill with acclaimed Chef Tyler Anderson and his staff. Featuring daily-chosen farm ingredients, the freshest and most select product, proprietary cocktails, and exciting wine menu, Millwright's offers a new experience to the Farmington Valley dining scene. Our staff eagerly awaits your next visit...
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Cannot wait to visit again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Food and service are excellent. Portions are just right leaving you well fed but wanting more. Nice wine selection and great atmosphere.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    44
    28
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, CT
Level Contributor
331 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Nice view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Lots of quirky things about the place and the menu. The service is near the best in the area.

Make reservations.

Come while the sun is up.

The best tables are at the windows.

Then try the booths.

The "Tavern" is definitely less desirable than the dining room.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr_Bill_Corcoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellfleet, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
984 reviews
511 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
“Dinner with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

We were lucky enough to attend a special dinner with friends at Millwrights featuring Chef Tyler Anderson and Chef Ryan Jones of Mill at 2T.

The food and wine pairings were incredible. The service impeccable. Just what you expect from both Millrights and Mill at 2T.

I can't wait for my next dinner at this restaurant.

Helpful?
1 Thank RiceWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tasting menu is phenomenal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Went to Millwrights last weekend and chose the tasting menu. My wife and I were blown away by the variety and quality of the meal. Spent a very relaxed 2 hours with the multiple courses and a nice bottle of Bordeaux. Truly memorable and highly recomended. Tyler knows what he is doing in the kitchen and was recently nominated for a James Beard award...he should be a lock.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RJOHara5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Updating/Go see the Frozen Waterfall (now)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

In a previous review I asked whether Millwrights could be the best restaurant in Connecticut. I equivocated slightly because of some front of the house issues. I am elated to report that these issues have been corrected and now, imho, Millwrights is the best restaurant in Connecticut.

Go there now please, while the waterfall is still frozen. Request a table by a window, this is only possible if you book an early time, or otherwise get very lucky. This is without a doubt, the most dramatic, romantic table in the state. In my travels, I have only been to 3 places that could compare, the Post Ranch Inn in Big Sur, where the restaurant juts out over a 3000 foot drop into the Pacific, Lasserre, in Paris, a Michelin 3* Beaux Arts palace, where the ceiling retracts on balmy nights leaving you gaping at the starry Parisian sky and Jules Verne the restaurant at the top of the Eiffel tower. Millwrights view compares.

The food at Millwrights remains sublime. I have been 4 times since I last reviewed, the menu changes constantly so I can't recommend particular dishes. Everything has been spot on.

So go there now, while the water fall is still frozen, and get a once in a lifetime treat.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Millwrights also viewed

 

Been to Millwrights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing