We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious, authentic, fresh pizza. A great deal with Groupon. Recommended!”
Review of The Winged Bear

The Winged Bear
Order Online
Ranked #13 of 54 Restaurants in Simsbury
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Welcome to The Winged Bear! We pride ourselves on delicious and exciting pizzas as well as classic and simple Italian fare. Join us either in our beautiful dining room or outdoor patio. Can't make it to us? Just call and let us bring the meal to you with delivery being offered in both Simsbury and most of Granby.
Reviewed February 24, 2019 via mobile

Really great pizza with fresh ingredients and generous portions. Used a Groupon for carry-out which made it really worth while. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank patrickmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 58 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2019

Good food decent prices. Nothing super fancy but good bar food. Nice beer selection and priced to be enjoyed.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank johnKE8962DY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2018 via mobile

We like the wings and the paninis. Never too many people unless a private function. It has changed names a time or two, but dependable. They have outside seating and are linked with The Maple Tree cafe.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank skolb1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2018 via mobile

I came in with a group of friends and we got the meat lovers pizza and pitchers of beer. The crust was crispy and flavorful. The toppings were generous and they don’t go light on the cheese. The server was very nice and kept our glasses full. I believe her name was Svetlana. The owner or manager was busy checking on tables and helping out the girls.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank HeyEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2018

Miss George and Dino and their original pizza! They had top quality ingredients and were always willing to please. Don't like the new owners. Not traditional Italian as claimed in a newspaper interview! I grew up in an Italian neighborhood! They seem more interested in yuppie food. Staff was cold and indifferent.

Name of restaurant has changed again. Another failure?

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KPJP14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, Owner at The Winged Bear, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2018

We changed names but not ownership we are very happy with our 5 years in town and of course as an owner are saddened at the news you don’t like us personally :( I am not sure what newspaper interview you are referring too (as we haven’t given one since 2014) please send us a copy we would love to hang it in the restaurant.

Your review sadly does not appear to reflect anything about our restaurant. I am not sure what yuppie food is but young professionals aka yuppies are an important part of simsbury so I certainly hope we can cater to them as well.

We hope you have a great day!

Arrivederci :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Winged Bear also viewed

 

Been to The Winged Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing