We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of The Iron Frog Tavern - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Iron Frog Tavern
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Hopmeadow RT10/202
Barkhamsted, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I have been Three times-every time I say I am going to try something new but I love their Reuben!!! Thick slices of house made corned beef-not deli meat!!! Yummy!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank carriemork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    14
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“More than just Pond Juice”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Nice bar and restaurant, with good comfort food dishes, like the chicken pot pie. Lots of good taps, and of course they have the mason jar filled pond juice, which will keep you busy for awhile. The hanger steak salad is one of the best salad options in the Valley.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SunandBoards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, CT
Level Contributor
331 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great view of Talcott Mountain”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Eat on the deck in nice weather. Get there early for an outside table and for happy hour prices.

You won't be disappointed with the PEI mussels, beet salad, veggie wrap. Great fries and sweet potato fries.

If you eat inside beware of the TVs.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Bill_Corcoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice and quiet”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

It was nice to go to a sports bar and actually be able to watch (and listen to) sports. The olympics were on, and it was a very community-like atmosphere. On the other hand, there was an older man who obviously works for the tavern who kept hitting on the young female staff to a pretty awkward and uncomfortable point.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank kate k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, CT
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pond juice”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Great little restaurant. My food was great and I love the creative pond juice drink with a gummy frog. Great stop along the bike trail or on a visit to Simsbury. I have definitely returned more than once.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KayakShan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Iron Frog Tavern also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing