We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous rooms, beautiful town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Simsbury 1820 House
Ranked #1 of 3 Simsbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ledyard, CT
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Gorgeous rooms, beautiful town”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Just returned from a one night stay at this beautiful bed and breakfast. We stayed in a beautiful room on the third floor with a king bed and huge bath. Staff were extremely helpful, breakfast was good and location is gorgeous. I would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neelia48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    46
    9
    3
    6
See reviews for
98
106
27
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
washington, dc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Okay, so the place is a little bit run down, but it's certainly livable, and still very charming. The location is relatively quiet, with great places to eat right across the street, and the people who checked us in (we stayed on the third floor) were very friendly and welcoming.

My partner actually lost her wallet at the inn - it fell under our bed - and we didn't realize it until we were more than half-way home to Washington, D.C. We got a call from the inn keeper, who immediately put my partner's wallet into the mail, and sent it certified, over-night.

They could not have been nicer or more helpful. The breakfast the next morning was very minimal, but the room itself was very sweet, comfortable and charming.

Room Tip: Room #302 had a beautiful view out to the trees and front yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kate k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We had the unfortunate experience of staying here. We had not planned on staying over in CT, but our business could not be completed until the following day. Upon several recommendations by local residents we chose this Inn. Our call for availability was at 5pm and we were offered their "best rate" which included a continental bkfst and complimentary WI-FI (which we needed for work). We arrived at 8:30pm to check in and were informed that their internet service was not working and hadn't been working since the day before. Our room (which must have been the same one as reviewer GoMidd) was on the top floor, aka attic. The walls had water damage in the hallway and bedroom/bath, paint & wallpaper pealing, comforter cover was torn in several places, pillow case stained, worn/stained carpeting. The eaves were so low in the hallway and bathroom that we had to bend sideways and duck down to navigate (I'm 5'11, husband's 6'2"). Several bumped heads getting to toilet during the night. Upon rising it was obvious there were only a couple other rooms rented. I made the trip down to the basement level where the continental bkfst was set-up. Using the Inn's very small cups, I made 3 trips up/down with coffee. This was all we had of the continental bkst included in our room rate. Upon checking out, the Inn Keeper didn't ask "how was everything", but instead asked "are you the one who took all my coffee?" Needless to say, we found the Inn to be tired and neglected with an Inn Keeper more concerned about her coffee consumption then the experience for her guests-2 of which she need not worry about in the future!

Room Tip: Rooms at any other Inn/Hotel near by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maine-Waterdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Slept great on their soft beds. Bath was ok, shower should be upgraded. Room decor was lovely. Breakfast was good, but only cold food. Loved being in walking distance of good restuarants.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nnmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Can see that it was once charming but rotting wood - leaks inside - mold - make it a once and not a current choice. Breakfast was not even up to a chain motel - just cold cereal and old muffins.
No coffee out during day - service is there but not set up and running.
Had third floor walk up which is ok til you go to breakfast then 5 floor walk up. Said it had a pool but No it is at another property several lies down the road - and oh sorry but the pool there is broken. Exercise room the same story.
Room was nicer than expected as to 4 poster bed but other reviews are right when they say the mattresses have had it - the ceiling hits your head etc. Unfortunately Simsbury has few other choices. Simsbury Inn is much much nicer but pricey. And that's it.

Room Tip: Not third floor walk up
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slce123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, GA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

I had no problem with the 3rd floor walk up as this possibility was documented on the web site. I did have a problem hitting my head on low eaves especially considering there were only a few customers staying at the Inn and assigning a better room would had been no problem. I think I was assigned this room because I had booked a low rate through a online discount site. The continental breakfast was supermarket adequate. The mattress slanted toward the edge of the bed. The worst aspect of my stay was I did not feel welcome by the inn keeper which to me is one of the real charms of a country inn.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 1st or 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoMidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foxboro, ma
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This is an Inn that was truly delightful. We had a huge room with a four- poster bed, complete with canopy. It's well furnished, with a pleasant, pretty sitting area on the first floor. They served a continental breakfast, which was more than adequate, with yogurt, cereal, bagels, muffins, juice, etc. This was on the lower level, and I would have preferred the first floor. The carpet was somewhat worn and there were stains on some of the seats, but other than that, we had no complaints.We took a walk around the center of town, which was a typical, pretty, New England town. I would recommend this inn and would stay again.

Room Tip: I would ask for a first or second floor. There are no elevators of course, and I would not want the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirleygFoxboro_Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simsbury
1.6 mi away
The Simsbury Inn
The Simsbury Inn
#1 of 1 in Simsbury
195 reviews
4.8 mi away
Avon Old Farms Hotel
10.2 mi away
Hartford Marriott Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol, Connecticut
4.4 mi away
Residence Inn Hartford Avon
7.0 mi away
HYATT house Hartford North/Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simsbury 1820 House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simsbury 1820 House

Property: Simsbury 1820 House
Address: 731 Hopmeadow St, Simsbury, CT 06070-2238
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Simsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Simsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Simsbury 1820 House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Simsbury 1820 House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simsbury 1820 House Hotel Simsbury
Simsbury 1820 Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing