We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Shelton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We stayed here on the way back to NYC from Cape Cod. It's about 2 hours outside New York City. We use Hampton Inn because they're dog friendly. This was our best experience ever with the brand. Booked online. Easy check-in and check-out. AARP discount helps. Clean, well appointed. Lots of things to do right nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (785)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

508 - 514 of 785 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2014

Modern, clean, very attractive lobby, good breakfast, beautiful suite type room, friendly staff, great bathroom with Neutrogena toiletries, comfortable bed!
There were several good restaurants closeby, a highway convenient to NYC and to the eastern coast is 1/2 mile away.
I can't think of one negative thing!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Melaney R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Accomodations were ok. TV selection extremely limited. foul odor from toilet especially in pm. Smelled like septic tank back up. Facilities , pool , gym , lobby were fine based on observation. Staff was good.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Ronald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsolis77, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. We apologize for the issues in your room and we’re working with our maintenance team to ensure the situation doesn’t happen again. If you return to our area, we hope you’ll stay with us again and give us an opportunity to show improvement.

Thank you.
Fernando

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

We had so many problems I don't know where to begin. Rooms were not cleaned well at all, car was broken into, breakfast was not stocked, waffles were either mushy and soggy or hard as a rock, nothing else was brought out when it was gone, staff was rude, had to ask for towels and cups for rooms every time because cleaning staff didn't replace items...

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsolis77, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2014

Daniel,

I truly apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced. I am glad that I was able to meet with you while you were here and come to a resolution before you left. Your feedback regarding the other areas of your stay will be shared with the appropriate teams to ensure we are improving.
I hope that you would give us the opportunity to show you a better experience your next trip to Shelton.

Fernando

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

This is one of the best Hampton Inns at which I've stayed and I've stayed at Hamptons all across the US. Great facility, great staff, great landscaping and great comfort in their beds as always. We even saw wild turkeys outside our window.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Jerold B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Floor around tub leaked and the lock on the door was jammed. Reported both problems to staff. They gave us towels to put on floor and showed us how to unstick the lock. Did not have time to fix problem properly nor offer us a different room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

This is an excellent facility that far exceeds already high expectations! The staff could not be nicer, breakfasts were very good, the rooms are luxurious, more than you would expect at a "lower priced" hotel

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank ADLWDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelton
0.5 mi away
HYATT house Shelton
HYATT house Shelton
#2 of 6 in Shelton
493 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Shelton
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Stratford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Milford
5.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Milford/New Haven
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Shelton
Courtyard Shelton
#4 of 6 in Shelton
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton

Address: 695 Bridgeport Ave, Shelton, CT 06484-4704 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelton-Trumbull)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Shelton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Shelton
Price Range: $99 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award Winning Hampton Inn by Hilton in Shelton is conveniently located near many fortune 500 companies. Perkin Elmer. Pitney Bowes, Lockheed Martin/Sikorsky, Unilever, Hubbell are some companies that are minutes from the hotel. We are near many sport and family fun venues that include the Webster Bank Arena, Sports Center of Connecticut, In Sports and Beardsley Zoo. Sacred Heart, Fairfield and Yale University are also minutes away. Our spacious rooms all have mini-refrigerators, microwaves and coffee makers and offer complimentary in room WIFI and HBO. Our hotel amenities include complimentary Hot Breakfast Buffet, indoor pool with 150ft waterslide, fitness room and business center. Complimentary shuttle service available within a 3 mile radius. We look forward in having you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Hotel Shelton
Holiday Inn Express Shelton
Holiday Inn Shelton
Shelton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing