We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Shelton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bridgeport, Connecticut
1 review
“Getaway”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The hotel was very clean and modern looking. I absolutely loved the slide. Everyone was very nice and helpful. The location was very convenient, right across a shopping center with restaurants like Outback and an Italian Restaurant. It's also not far from the highway.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kareenjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    160
    35
    20
    9
See reviews for
346
102
26
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hauppauge, New York
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hotel was very clean They provided excellent service This is centrally located. near restaurants, shopping, and great meeting space to train in. The breakfast was fantastic. The waterslide was awesome I am bringing my children there for a weekend. It was so nice and quiet in the rooms.

Room Tip: Join Hilton Honors It is a great program
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HospitalityTrainee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2013

hotel was good but wish the rooms could have been a tad bit bigger. My 4 yr old son loved the waterslide which is 1 good reason i would return. bad thing is NO room service :( had to go out everynight for food but everywhere i drove there was a restaurant :) but overall id recommend

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prettiisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I live in Shelton and took my family on a stay-cation. We had a wonderful time. The pool and the awesome water-slide kept my active children entertained for hours. All of the staff went out of their way to accommodate all request we had. The breakfast in the morning was the icing on the cake. The Hampton Inn had many breakfast choices and the staff always had a friendly smile on their faces. The location is excellent as we had many choices of restaurants for dinner. I really love this hotel and will plan another weekend trip for my children.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VacationWarriors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Did a quick 1.5hr car ride from North Jersey to this Hampton Inn for an overnight stay. It's right off I-95, maybe 10mins. Main reason for the visit was to escape the cold with a pool and water slide. The pool is nice, but gets very noisy, guess that's cause of the awesome water slide. If you have kids, or are still a kid at heart, this is the hotel for you on the weekends. During the week I guess it's a nice business hotel.

Rooms were clean and up to date. Breakfast was included, and did the job, nothing to brag about besides maybe the waffles. 24hr. free coffee is a nice touch. There is a small store at the front desk that has snacks and ICE CREAM! This place was a great deal for a night away.

Staff was wonderful!

Hampton Inn has another one of these style hotels in North Conway, NH, but that one has two indoor water slides and a kiddie area, plus a hot tub. Worth it too if in the area of Mount Washington. I also see they have one in NC, and hope to check it out one day. I wish all Hampton Inns had water slides, you hear me Mr. CEO?

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Vinny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, USA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed at the Hampton Inn in Shelton in early February after returning from vacation during a huge snowstorm that prevented us from making it back to our house not even two miles away. As the hotel was formerly a "suites" hotel, the rooms are newly refurbished, much more spacious than your typical hotel room and all contain refrigerators and microwaves. The complimentary full breakfast in the morning was great. It was well stocked and well staffed for continuous updates. The pool here is a real treat if you have children. It has a three story corkscrew waterslide!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Updated hotel.. large spacious clean room and many restaurants nearby. The hotel was crowded as we did stay for a holiday weekend. The free breakfast was just "okay" because there were so many people and the food couldn't come out fast enough.Seats and food was very limited. We waited twenty minutes for eggs.

Rugs are needed from the pool to the elevators to sop up some of the water from people dripping.. it is a hazard. The pool and water slide were a lot of fun and seemed to be a big draw for the kids. We wished the main pool was warmer though.. it was a bit chilly for an indoor pool in the middle of the winter. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. They were able to make great restaurant recommendations.

For the price we were very pleased overall.. the kids had a blast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa53853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelton
0.5 mi away
HYATT house Shelton
HYATT house Shelton
#2 of 6 in Shelton
437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Shelton
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Stratford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Shelton
Courtyard Shelton
#4 of 6 in Shelton
185 reviews
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County
10.1 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton

Property: Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton
Address: 695 Bridgeport Ave, Shelton, CT 06484-4704 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelton-Trumbull)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Shelton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Shelton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award Winning Hampton Inn by Hilton in Shelton is conveniently located near many fortune 500 companies. Perkin Elmer. Pitney Bowes, UTC, Sikorsky, Unilever, Hubbell are some companies that are minutes from the hotel. We are near many sport and family fun venues that include the Webster Bank Arena, Sports Center of Connecticut, In Sports and Beardsley Zoo. Sacred Heart, Fairfield and Yale University are also minutes away. Our spacious rooms all have mini-refrigerators, microwaves and coffee makers and offer complimentary in room WIFI and HBO. Our hotel amenities include complimentary Hot Breakfast Buffet, indoor pool with 150ft waterslide, fitness room and business center. Complimentary shuttle service available within a 10 mile radius. and we look forward in having you here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Hotel Shelton
Holiday Inn Express Shelton
Holiday Inn Shelton
Shelton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing