We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding dining”

IL Palio Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
IL Palio Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 129 Restaurants in Shelton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Bridgeport Ave.
Description: Housed in a magnificent building, this luxe Northern Italian restaurant makes you feel thousands of miles from the Shelton corporate park where it is located. Il Palio is known for its homemade Italian cuisine, an extensive wine list, and exceptional service in a warm and friendly atmosphere.
Shelton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

Anniversary (#35) for two on a Monday night. So, it was quiet and peaceful. Service was crisp and friendly with the right mix of side conversation and professional service. Food selections were plentiful and the qualify superb! The atmosphere was classic Mediterranean but comfortable and quite enjoyable. We'll happily return again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    49
    17
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
254 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Higher End Italian in an Unusual Setting with Unusual Twists”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

The exterior of the building is not at all what I expected -- very modern -- not your usual Faux Italian! The food was outstanding. The service, even for our group of 8, was spot on. The wine list was approachable and reasonably priced. The fried calamari and zucchini was an unusual twist on the old standard and among the best I've had. Risotto of the day was excellent (with lobster the night I dined). The classic lasagna also was different -- it was served in a skillet. A bit too spicy for my wife's taste but it was definitely good and well prepared. Lots of good reasons to return to this place. Only wish I didn't live 1,000 miles away!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DRLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Staff makes you feel like family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

From the moment you walk in the door, they matre'd, hostess and the bartender make you feel like you've been coming there for years. I ordered the halibut and it was by far one of the largest and tastiest portions of fish that I have ever had. It was cooked to perfection and the vegetable side was a perfect compliment. My husband had the pasta which was equally delicious. It was only our second time there because it's quite a ride for us but well worth the trip!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ansonia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Luxurious place to go for a dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

It is beautiful inside, and the food is good. It's on the pricey side but definitely a place to try! They also have a bar area as soon as you come in

Helpful?
1 Thank TasteofAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
1,768 reviews
1,227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 639 helpful votes
“Not as good as last visit..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Last time I was there the Chef was on and the meal was exquisite. The meal was a dinner meal and this one was for lunch. The pasta for lunch was mushy and the overall presentation was not the same. The bread is excellent and some of the misto meat plate was again very good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IL Palio Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to IL Palio Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing