We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food and great ambiance”

IL Palio Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
IL Palio Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 133 Restaurants in Shelton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Bridgeport Ave.
Description: Housed in a magnificent building, this luxe Northern Italian restaurant makes you feel thousands of miles from the Shelton corporate park where it is located. Il Palio is known for its homemade Italian cuisine, an extensive wine list, and exceptional service in a warm and friendly atmosphere.
cincy
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and great ambiance”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Great atmosphere and excellent food. Upscale elegant restaurant . For a special night
this is a perfect spot

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JoEllen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    54
    18
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Number 1!”
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Are you looking for romance, great food, outstanding service and ambience then IL Palio is the place for you!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trafficman968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Treasure in Shelton”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Il Palio is an impressive restaurant on many accounts. From the moment you walk through the doors, you will be greeted by staff that care deeply about making your evening memorable. The service is truly exceptional; on par with what you would expect in 5 star NYC establishments.

The food is simply spectacular. If you are a foodie, you will not be disappointed.

There is nothing better than starting your meal with "hand-made' pasta. The entrees are are made in true authentic Italian style, hearty portions made with only the finest and freshest ingredients. My favorite entree is salmon topped with whole grain mustard... wow, what a dish! I have enjoyed many other dishes and all are equally as good.

What I would say is that Il Palio has what it takes to compete with the finest restaurants in Connecticut and NYC. Top notch service, coupled with outstanding food in a stunning setting... what else could one ask for.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eppyhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations.....”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We visited Il Palio for the first time and we very impressed with our experience. Even though this restaurant is in an office park - don't be fooled. It took us a couple of extra minutes to find the restaurant but we were greeted by the owner - who brought us in the kitchen to meet his wife, the chef (from Italy) so we knew right away that we were in good hands. We were given a lovely table and were brought a special "welcome" taste of amazing homemade pasta filled with butternut squash and was in a Prosciutto, butter and sage sauce ..talk about melting in your mouth! Our appetizers were homemade mozzerella grilled with roasted peppers and a fresh arugula salad as well as Carpaccio which were yummy. For main courses we had delicious halibut with mashed potatoes mixed with pumpkin an Lamb shank with meet that fell off the bone. Service was very attentive but not invasive...this restauant exceeded our expectations and we will definately return soon.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fresh Italian”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Very good Italian food made with the freshest ingredients. Never had a meal less than stellar, however is slightly over priced.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank AAMMCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IL Palio Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to IL Palio Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing