We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Shelton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Skippack, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed here for 5 weeks. Staff was great. Every night they had food that you could actually feel satisfied as a meal. It was actually great food. They also have complimentary beer and wine. In the morning the breakfast was always on time if not served earlier than 6 am. The staff was pleasant and friendly as well as so helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JALPSSheltonCT, General Manager at Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Poppy175

We miss you already and so glad you had a wonderful time during your stay with us. Since we are designed for our Long Term Guests it was great that you were able to experience all that we have to offer. The Social is wonderful and we are really ensuring that are guests receive quality service, food and amenities.

If business brings you back to Shelton please let us know.

Sincerely

Jillian Alps
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    59
    31
    21
    12
See reviews for
91
28
8
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The manger of this Residence Inn has built a team of people who care about the guests as well as the facility. The hotel inside and out was very clean and well groomed. Nestled in the trees, this is not an easy task – through the winds and rain! From the walkways to the pool, lobby, laundry room, to the rooms - it is a pleasure to wander the grounds.

The cleaning staff did an excellent job on the rooms – bathroom and kitchen were impeccable! The cleaning staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel itself not only had a wonderful full breakfast with oatmeal (and all the trimmings...blueberries!), but also a waffle machine, They also had a supper Monday through Wednesday (e.g., sausage and peppers, chicken fajitas, hot dog roast) – making vacationing more affordable for many. The manager's (Jillian) caring spirit has carried over to her staff and it shows – from the front desk to maintenance – her whole staff cares! We thoroughly enjoyed our 5-day stay!

Room Tip: this facility is configured as 8 rooms per unit. 2 up/2 down. Some units have rooms facing the par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mee338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JALPSSheltonCT, General Manager at Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Meerbeck

It was so wonderful to meet you and get to know you. I really hope you have a fantastic time in Dublin and best of luck to your duaghter. If you ever need anything and you and your father are coming through the area please let me know. So glad you were able to sit poolside and still work on your laptop - that was a treat I am sure :) We are always trying to improve our social and glad you are liking where we are setting our goals for success. I have printed your review with the staff and they were delighted that you were so pleased during your stay with us.

Look forward to meeting you again soon.

Sincerely

Jillian Alps
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed here 4 nights while visiting family in town. Overall experience was very good. Hotel is clean, easy to get to and staff was very nice and accomodating. Only minor problem was our last day there, unit above us must have had a leak and the ceiling bubbled from water. It was over the bathroom sink so it didn't disrupt our stay. We called maintenance and they took care of it promptly. Would definetly stay here again. The pool was an added bonus that my children enjoyed. They were able to use basketball court with basketball's borrowed from front desk

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taval111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JALPSSheltonCT, General Manager at Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear taval111

Thank you for your very positive feedback and for informing us of the leak above the sink. We were able to catch this right in time and really appreciate you bringing to our attention. So glad you were able to enjoy the pool and our outdoor sports court during this wonderful weather. We certainly look forward to seeing you in the area again soon.

Sincerely

Jillian Alps
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I have business in the area often and always stay in this hotel. The rooms are quiet and comfortable. The staff is always helpful. They provide a nice breakfast and an evening meal included with the stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bwalkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JALPSSheltonCT, General Manager at Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear bwalkins

Thank you for reviewing our property on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the time you have taken to provide feedback on your experience staying with us. Glad you are able to enjoy the Social Reception we provide Mon-Wed from 6pm-7.30pm and the great hot breakfast. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely

Jillian Alps
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronxville, New York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The staff here is very hospitable and welcoming. We were put in a room where the ice maker wasn't working, so they moved us to another room. The bathrooms are small in these units. The dressing room doesn't have a door to separate it from the main room. In the bathroom, you can barely move , the toilet is so close to the bathtub and there is not alot of room to dry off when you come out of the tub. The weather was warm, so were were able to sit outside for a spell. You have a hot breakfast every morning which is one reason we chose to stay here. It is separate buildings, not like the current Residence Inn, which looks like an apartment complex. There are no elevators to the second story. There is not restaurant, so you have to drive to get to a restaurant.

Room Tip: Handicapped individuals need to ask for a ground unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apinsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JALPSSheltonCT, General Manager at Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear apinsley

Thank you so much for your review. The staff here are pretty amazing and we do encourage our guests to give us feedback so we are better able to improve on our services. During the week we do offer a social event from 6pm-7.30pm which has a great array of dinner selections. Prehaps the next time you are staying with us you can stay during the week. Some of the bathrooms are a little tighter than others, but the since the guest rooms are 50% bigger than most hotels and some rooms having two bathrooms, it proves to be most comfortable for our guests. Dining is located less than 1/2 mile from the hotel and we are please to have lot of choices for different palette's.

We look forward to hosting you in the Shelton CT area again soon.

Sincerely

Jillian Alps

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed here on a Friday night at a great leisure rate($80). The property is the older style Residence Inn where all the rooms are in separate buildings and it's pretty much like a little apartment complex. It's showing it's age in spots. The pool and fire pit looked nice but it was pouring rain so that was out. Check in was easy enough and we had no problems switching payment methods at the front desk.

We had a single studio apartment, curiously enough it did not have a fireplace and only had a queen bed(not a king). One thing that was immediately noticeable was the kitchen which has been updated with newer counter tops and stainless appliances including a full oven(not just stovetop). The rest of the room was pretty standard. TV channel selection was ok, a handful of HD channels on a standard Marriott issue 32'' LG HDTV. One of the best parts of this room and the older style Residence Inn properties is that they get warm or cold very fast with an HVAC system that is built for a small apartment. Our room had a nice new thermostat and we were able to make the room very cold for sleeping which was great! Most hotels you can only get it so cold or it won't get cold fast. Not this one. Bathroom and shower were fine, and the room was clean.

Check out we just stopped by the gatehouse to get some coffee on the way out and get a receipt(oddly enough one wasn't printed out and hung on our door the following morning).

We had no problems with our stay here and it's nice to have a choice between this property and the Courtyard down the road, both with very reasonable rates. Since i frequently am in this area, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JALPSSheltonCT, General Manager at Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear A K

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. The apartment style of the rooms does allow us more leverage when it comes to the AC and the Heating units and guest really do enjoy this perk. With the wonderful weather we have been having this is a big plus. We really look forward to hosting you in the area again.

Sincerely

Jillian Alps
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freetown
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

It felt like a B and B! Everyone was so hospitable...even the maintenance workers. Unit was neat and clean. They had an evening social with food. It was very relaxing. The front desk was so accommodating. I would stay here again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MamaT126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JALPSSheltonCT, General Manager at Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear MamaT126

We love reviews like yours!! Our maintenance department were thrilled to get a mention, they only normally get the 'something's wrong in my room', so for a guest to recogize them is wonderful - thank you!

The evening social is a great amenity that we offer and we strive always to listen to our guests and what they like and how busy their day is. The ability to not have to cook Mon-Wed, have some great food, a glass of wine and prehaps sit out by our firepit really works.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Wishes

Jillian Alps
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelton
1.1 mi away
HYATT house Shelton
HYATT house Shelton
#2 of 6 in Shelton
415 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton
0.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Shelton - Fairfield County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Shelton
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Stratford
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Shelton
Courtyard Shelton
#4 of 6 in Shelton
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County

Property: Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County
Address: 1001 Bridgeport Ave, Shelton, CT 06484-4675
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Shelton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Shelton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenely located in the close proximity of many corporations, universities such as Yale and area attractions for the whole family to enjoy, which include The Beardsley Zoo, CT Sports Center and the Webster Arena at Harbor Yard. The Residence Inn offers an ideal location for an overnight stay or extended stay conveniently located just minutes from Perkin Elmer, Bic, Unilever, Prudential and Sikorsky Aircraft and easily accessible to the Merritt Parkway and I-95.Our peaceful atmosphere is complimented by our outdoor swimming pool, BBQ area accessible by all of our guests, basketball court and badminton court, fitness center and free passes to the renowned Fitness Edge Sports Center for all of our guests. Our homelike surroundings invite you to relax, and our community atmosphere makes you feel like you are not far from home. We emphasize the work life balance by offering free Wi-Fi, guest laundry, complimentary hot breakfast and light dinner every Monday-Thursday. Spacious suites feature a separate living room with fireplace, kitchen and eating area, private bedroom with bath and upstairs another bedroom and bathroom. Other rooms include a one queen size bed with fireplace, kitchen and living area or rooms with two queen size beds. Parking is complimentary for all guests. Our mantra for the Residence Inn in Shelton which we hope you also enjoy is:“It’s not a room. It’s a Residence”.Come visit us soon!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County Hotel Shelton
Shelton Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing