We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Shelton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice quiet stay”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in a Queen Studio. It has easy access to the highway, and there are a number of shops and restaurants a short distance away. The room was nice and large, with a full kitchen. It looked like it had been recently updated and was nicely furnished. They provided a number of pillows with different firmness, which was convenient. The only complaint about the room is if you want to use the pullout sofa bed, it doesn't open fully in the way the room is configured. We had to turn it 90 degrees in order to have enough space to open it and still get around it.

We stayed in building 7, which was at the back of the property near the pool. The steps leading up to the unit were worn and in need of some paint and repair. The pool had just opened for the season, and was a little cold, so we only used it once. Our son enjoyed the basketball area. There was an older woman who seemed to be staying in a unit near us that yelled at us a couple times to move our car, saying we were in her daughter's space no matter where we parked in front of the building. We finally just parked across from the pool.

The free WiFi was great, as was the free breakfast. There were a number of hot items served, as well as the typical continental breakfast fare. The front desk staff were nice and helpful. We had planned on staying only one night, but ended up staying for three since it was so comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the property if you want to be away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glopeterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JALPSSheltonCT, General Manager at Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear glopeterson

What a great review of our hotel. So glad you chose to stay for more nights than you had originally booked and were able to take advantage of all the hotel amenities offered. The rooms were renovated just over a year ago and are beautifully decorated, the full kitchen really is a plus for many of our guests. I am so sorry the pool was a little cold for you son but so happy he was able to take advantage of it in this great weather we have been having.

Thank you for being patient with some of our other guests, I think they too get a little attached to the hotel!! I loved the feedback on the pull out sleeper sofa which is a great addition to these rooms and will definitely work with our engineering department and housekeeping ensuring they are set in the right position each time.

Please let us know when you will be back in the area as I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to write this review. Have a great summer.

Sincerely

Jillian Alps
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    59
    31
    21
    14
See reviews for
92
28
8
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Souderton, PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

So much bang for the buck! Restaurants are very close by, along with shopping areas. The room was very nice and spacious. The pool is gorgeous. The staff is friendly. The landscaping is very peaceful. The breakfasts and manager dinners were delicious. The exercise room was out of order, so they gave out complimentary passes to the local gym!

Room Tip: If you are staying for a long time and have a lot of luggage with you, request a floor on the lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 627Jill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JALPSSheltonCT, General Manager at Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear 627Jill

Thank you for your wonderful review and so sorry the gym was out of order for a few days and now back in order. Very glad you were able to visit our local gym and keep with your routine while on the road. We really strive to provide our guests with a great experience that includes amazing customer service, a healthy and hearty breakfast and a great evening social Mon-Wed each week. Again your comments have been shared with the staff and we thank you!!

Best Wishes

Jillian Alps
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I travel frequently on government business and after staying at too many hotels to count, over the years and across the US, the RI Shelton stands out for their amazing management, sales, front desk and service staff. The rooms, the common areas, the outdoor recreation areas were comfortable and had "pinterest worthy" decor, I especially appreciated the personal touches to the firepit area. The breakfast and evening meals felt much more that the "hotel standard buffet", which made me feel like I was at a large B and B or at a home with friends I had not met yet. It was clear from the staff interaction with guests that there were plenty of repeat customers. I stayed from Monday to Friday and the atmosphere felt like I was staying at a vacation property of an old friend. It was a great way to start and finish my out of town work day away from family and co-workers. I misread my per diem rate and when I had a question about my rate, Jillian handled the matter with great care. The staff was kind enought to suggest some local activities for my down time.
I would recommend this property for business, or family travel and Jillian and LIsa especially made my trip memorable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JALPSSheltonCT, General Manager at Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Mary T
It is so great to hear from you on!! We miss you already - Lisa and I had so much fun chatting with you and hearing all of your stories - it was really great. Meeting new people and sharing our lives is why I love the hotel business. At the Residence in Shelton we do try to make all of our guests feel welcome and enjoy the time they stay with us however long or short. The great breakfast each morning and our social Mon-Wed really is a gathering place for everyone to enjoy a nice dinner, a glass of wine and sit by the fire pit for an evening chat.

The staff were so pleased that you mentioned them on this review, our service is the key to our success!! Look forward to seeing you again soon. Please make sure and say hello to your family.

Best Wishes

Jillian Alps
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This hotel was a beautiful place to stay. We had an extended stay suite with all the amenities. Full kitchen complete with a full size refrigerator, stove, microwave, dishwasher and dishes, silverware, pots and pans. A good size room with a comfortable bed, sleeper sofa and even a fireplace. Our room was also close to the pool. The grounds were well kept and very clean as well. Breakfast was also included with the price. The area was conveniently located to restaurants, shopping and fuel. Great experience. We are looking forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurinda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JALPSSheltonCT, General Manager at Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Laurinda G

What a wonderful compliment you have paid us. We truly are lucky to have such wonderful guests that really enjoy our hotel as much as we do. The full kitchen is always a surprise to our guests, but with 50% bigger guest rooms that other hotels we can certainly provide it. The hotel is conveniently located close to some major retail brands, dining and entertainment and this is a great benefit to our out of town guests. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely

Jillian Alps
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We visited this hotel this past weekend and fell in love w it. Stayed over to go to a lunch the following day it was the perfect place for my parents and I. Got the "duplex" and had more than enough space. We'll be coming back soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patito8796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JALPSSheltonCT, General Manager at Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Patricia A

Thank you so much for the lovely review. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and please come back and visit us again soon. The Penthouse is one of our biggest rooms and really is ideal when you need more space. We look forward to seeing you the next time you visit with your family in the area.

Sincerely

Jillian Alps
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I cannot say enough about the staff! They are wonderful. The grounds are immaculate. I see the staff working all day long and they always have a pleasant smile. The room is wonderful. The kitchen is better than the one I have at home. It is a delight being here.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeAnne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JALPSSheltonCT, General Manager at Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear LeeAnne P

We are humbled by your appreciation of our staff. They are the hardest working, dedicated and most loyal staff any hotel could ever want. Our company try to appreciate our employees every quarter with an Associate award - I think they may all be submitted this quarter :) Thank you and we love having you here. If there is anything we can do to enhance your stay and make it even better please let me know.

Sincerely

Jillian Alps
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taichung, Taiwan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Although I always stay at this hotel I have noticed many changes to the room decor. The staff and manager are very helpful and go out of their way to help you in any way they can. If you need directions they will even print them out for you. If your room has a problem the staff comes right away to fix anything and even if it's in the middle of the night they will call someone to come in a fix this problem

Room Tip: The penthouse suites are great! the hotel is quite but near enough to shopping and resturants
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JALPSSheltonCT, General Manager at Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Gary C

Our guest feedback is one of the most important training tools a hotel can ask for. Thank you - your comments are wonderful and our associates really try their best each and every time a guest needs assistance. My staff were complimented by myself and the other managers when reading your review to them during our daily huddle meetings. We appreciate you recognizing the staff and how they respond to our guest needs.

Please stop by the front desk the next time you visit so that we may thank you in person.

Sincerely

Jillian Alps
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelton
1.1 mi away
HYATT house Shelton
HYATT house Shelton
#2 of 6 in Shelton
416 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton
0.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Shelton - Fairfield County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Shelton
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Stratford
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Shelton
Courtyard Shelton
#4 of 6 in Shelton
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County

Property: Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County
Address: 1001 Bridgeport Ave, Shelton, CT 06484-4675
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Shelton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Shelton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenely located in the close proximity of many corporations, universities such as Yale and area attractions for the whole family to enjoy, which include The Beardsley Zoo, CT Sports Center and the Webster Arena at Harbor Yard. The Residence Inn offers an ideal location for an overnight stay or extended stay conveniently located just minutes from Perkin Elmer, Bic, Unilever, Prudential and Sikorsky Aircraft and easily accessible to the Merritt Parkway and I-95.Our peaceful atmosphere is complimented by our outdoor swimming pool, BBQ area accessible by all of our guests, basketball court and badminton court, fitness center and free passes to the renowned Fitness Edge Sports Center for all of our guests. Our homelike surroundings invite you to relax, and our community atmosphere makes you feel like you are not far from home. We emphasize the work life balance by offering free Wi-Fi, guest laundry, complimentary hot breakfast and light dinner every Monday-Thursday. Spacious suites feature a separate living room with fireplace, kitchen and eating area, private bedroom with bath and upstairs another bedroom and bathroom. Other rooms include a one queen size bed with fireplace, kitchen and living area or rooms with two queen size beds. Parking is complimentary for all guests. Our mantra for the Residence Inn in Shelton which we hope you also enjoy is:“It’s not a room. It’s a Residence”.Come visit us soon!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County Hotel Shelton
Shelton Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing