We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Staff added to University Graduation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Shelton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 23, 2013

If you are staying one day, most hotels will fit you requirement, but if you stay any amount beyond you will want to look into this Marriott Residence Inn Shelton. It's spring/summer now but the rooms have a beautiful fireplace that accepts one of the 'Duraflame' style logs in the living area, wifi that has a very good signal strength throughout the property, full size refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, kitchen stocked with servings for 4, dining bar area. There is a sliding door (ground floor walkout/2nd floor large area opening). There is normal breakfast area for this style hotel with the waffle iron, eggs, oatmeal ,fruit juice etc. A pool should be open Memorial weekend and a nice area with gas fire logs for evening lounging. Great place will return!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JALPSSheltonCT, General Manager at Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear brian k

We are so looking forward to seeing you again. The pool is open - yeah!!! What a wonderful way to lounge around in the evening after a long day sightseeing, visiting friends and family or a hard day at the office!! Pool opens until 9pm and after that our guests are able to relax on our patio with the wonderful firepit.

72 our of 96 rooms have a fireplace and yes, they are fantastic. During the winter storms and the hurricanes we had this year, people were so pleased to curl out and keep warm by the fire!! The full-size kitchen has so many benefits when you want to stay healthy and cook your own food, work out in our gym and go for a swim. All the conveniences of home!!

Please let me know when you are coming through the area again so I can personally thank you for your review.

Sincerely

Jillian Alps
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 281 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

Traveled to this area to see family, and watch my niece's commencement. Wonderful Hotel. Rooms were clean, beds comfortable. Kitchen area with fridge and stove. Good breakfast variety with pancakes, oatmeal, eggs, sausage patties, fresh fruit, toast, bagels, muffins, etc. Staff very welcoming, housekeeping did our dishes from night before while we were out. Loved that they have a separate seating area with couch and chairs to watch tv. Sinks outside of shower/toilet area. So while one person was showering, another can dry hair, brush teeth, put make up on, etc. (Very nice since there were 3 female's traveling together). There is a Burger King and Duchess restaurant right down the road. If you go further there is a Chili's, Wendy's and Lone Star Steakhouse. The Burger King's drive thru was open til 2am so we could get a bite to eat since we got to the hotel after 10pm on Saturday Night. Can't say enough nice things about this hotel. Definitely will stay here again if in areal. (There isn't a restaurant on site, but breakfast was included with room).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peb8310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JALPSSheltonCT, General Manager at Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear peb8310

What a wonderful synopsis of our hote. I can't add much more to all the amazing amenities we offer, although you didn't mention if you were able to use the outdoor firepit!! The pool is open now also for the season and we would love to have you back at the hotel soon for another family visit. Please congratulate your niece on our behalf, what a wonderful opportunitity to see and spend time with family. During the week Mon-Wed we do offer a great complimentary social evening meal from 6pm-7.30pm. We hope next time you are able to come mid-week and enjoy our great menu and desserts! All restaurants are conveniently located close to the hotel so no-one comes to Shelton and goes hungry!! Again the staff were so happy to see your review and I thank you for the wonderful feedback.

Sincerely

Jillian Alps
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed here for our son's wedding in this area. We had never been to Connecticut before & stayed 3 nights. This was a peaceful & restful place to escape the anxieties of the weekend. Very nice room, very nice staff, very nice location. All in all, we were impressed by the quality of this Marriott, the value, the cleanliness & the helpfulness of the staff. I would highly recommend this Residence Inn to others.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room on the second floor. Even though it was facing the street this wasn't a big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustineR48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JALPSSheltonCT, General Manager at Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear JustineR48

Congratulations on your son's wedding. What a wonderful celebration and so glad we could be here for you. We are so pleased that you found the hotel to be peaceful, quiet and clean. Our goal to ensure our guests get a great night sleep and are able to enjoy their family events while staying with us.

We look forward to hosting you again in the area when you come to visit your son and his new bride!!

Sincerely

Jillian Alps
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I stayed at the Residence Inn Marriot to attend graduation at Post University in Waterbury. I stayed in one of the largest suites at the hotel. There were four adults and three children and the room worked out great. There was a full kitchen that we used daily saving money on food, and we also used the onsite grill to celebrate my graduation from grad school. The staff were very accommodating and well mannered. An overall great stay in the Residence Inn Shelton, CT. I further got the suite at a great rate, will be looking for the Residence Inn Marriot in other vacation spots as a result of this trip.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JALPSSheltonCT, General Manager at Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Daniel D

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our Penthouse Suites. This fantastic bi-level suite is perfect for our long term guests and large family groups. The full kitchen really is a great added bonus since it has an actual full-size stainless steel refrigerator, full oven, microwave, dishwasher, breakfast seating area for four. We are so glad the weather is getting better and our guests are able to take advantage of the wonderful patio area with grill, fire pit and seating under umbrella's while you wait for your food to grill.

We look forward to seeing you again soon. Please let us know when you are coming through the area again soon.

Best wishes

Jillian Alps
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great rooms and a typical highly professional and tremendously courteous Marriott staff at the front desk. During my many stays here I am always greeted by helpful, friendly, great people.
The rooms are immaculate and large. This one is a no-brainer.

Room Tip: Every room is great at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anothertournament
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JALPSSheltonCT, General Manager at Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear anothertournament

Thank you so much for the great review - and each time you have another tournament I hope that you will stay with us. The key to a successful hotel is consistency. To receive friendly and attentive service each and every time is truly what sets our hotel apart from others. The staff and I would like to thank you again for your kind comments and looking forward to seeing you in the future.

Please let me know when you are traveling through the area again so that we meet and I can thank you in person.

Sincerely

Jillian Alps
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very clean, Staff was extra nice and helpful, stayed only 1 night but was very impressed over all. The internet signal was a bit weak, my only issue and not a complaint.I would recommend this establishment every day of the week.

Room Tip: Full kitchen, great rooms with HBO, nice, quiet a very relaxing stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JALPSSheltonCT, General Manager at Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Richard H

Great to have this feedback on our internet. As with all the Marriott brands we are upgrading the internet service by June 1st. Lots of work and organization in process to make this happen and we hope you will stay with us again to enjoy the upgrades. I did put a call into our IP company to test the signal in the room you had stayed in to ensure that the signal is working. This is important to ensure that we are taking care of any issues that our guests may face in the future. We appreciate your loyalty and patronage and hope to see you soon.

Sincerely

Jillian Alps
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Rooms were spacious and well appointed. Upgraded to penthouse upon arrival. I am Platinum on Marriott but they may do this for anyone. Breakfast was well done. Clean, safe, and a good value for the money.

Conveniently located off from Rt 8 in Shelton. Great location for us and our weekend.

Room Tip: Choose inside the property for better sounds. And near front where they have a fire pit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farkasjr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JALPSSheltonCT, General Manager at Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear farkasjr2

I really hope you enjoyed the Pent House Suite. One of our secret amazing rooms that we have on property. This room type has been described as a mini apartment and when we can upgrade our valued Marriott Reward members we certainly do. The hotel is as you mentioned conveniently located off the Merritt Parkway and close to many attractions and businesses. We are so glad you stopped in to see us!! The fire pit is so much fun and guests do love it. We hope to see you again soon!!

Sincerely

Jillian Alps
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelton
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton
1.1 mi away
HYATT house Shelton
HYATT house Shelton
#2 of 6 in Shelton
483 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Shelton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Shelton
Courtyard Shelton
#4 of 6 in Shelton
195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Shelton - Fairfield County
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Stratford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County

Address: 1001 Bridgeport Ave, Shelton, CT 06484-4675
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Shelton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Shelton
Price Range: $97 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenely located in the close proximity of many corporations, universities such as Yale and area attractions for the whole family to enjoy, which include The Beardsley Zoo, CT Sports Center and the Webster Arena at Harbor Yard. The Residence Inn offers an ideal location for an overnight stay or extended stay conveniently located just minutes from Perkin Elmer, Bic, Unilever, Prudential and Sikorsky Aircraft and easily accessible to the Merritt Parkway and I-95.Our peaceful atmosphere is complimented by our outdoor swimming pool, BBQ area accessible by all of our guests, basketball court and badminton court, fitness center and free passes to the renowned Fitness Edge Sports Center for all of our guests. Our homelike surroundings invite you to relax, and our community atmosphere makes you feel like you are not far from home. We emphasize the work life balance by offering free Wi-Fi, guest laundry, complimentary hot breakfast and light dinner every Monday-Thursday. Spacious suites feature a separate living room with fireplace, kitchen and eating area, private bedroom with bath and upstairs another bedroom and bathroom. Other rooms include a one queen size bed with fireplace, kitchen and living area or rooms with two queen size beds. Parking is complimentary for all guests. Our mantra for the Residence Inn in Shelton which we hope you also enjoy is:“It’s not a room. It’s a Residence”.Come visit us soon!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County Hotel Shelton
Shelton Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing