We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average residence inn.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Shelton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Average residence inn.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here while visiting family in the area. The kitchen is updated and our room was spacious. It was a 2 level/2bedroom with a fireplace. The upper level is a loft which with young children is a little scary when they look over so be aware if you are traveling with young children.
We used the fireplace which was a nice touch but the room lacked good ventilation so we sat in smoke and had to open the windows to air out. If it wasn't cold, the windows being opened wouldn't have been bad. Would not use the fireplace again-needless to say.
The breakfast was typical of residence inn's, which for our family works fine.
The rooms are some what updated but still need some improvements with the bathroom fans( really loud), windows are in rough condition and the location is handy but noisy near the busy road.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkrm1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JALPSSheltonCT, General Manager at Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear kkrm1104

Thank you so much for posting a review of our hotel. I am glad you were able to stay in one of the larger Pent House rooms that we offer. The loft is great for families and it is definitely recommended that younger children sleep downstairs either in the private guest bedroon or the pull out sleeper sofa. The fireplace is a great extra benefit that no other hotel in the Shelton market offers. We are glad that this amenity can be utilized by our guests. With the flue opened on the fireplace it does eliminate the smoke in the rooms and guest can enjoy a cozy night by the fire - just like home! We look forward to seeing you back at the hotel on your next visit to the area.

Sincerely

Jillian Alps
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    59
    29
    21
    12
See reviews for
90
27
8
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed there for business, 4 days. Amazing!! Great place, larger rooms, good location, clean and brand new. I stayed in july 2011. just the breakfast isn't so good, a simple continental. the bathroom is huge with a good sized towels and the service is excellent.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JorgeASMaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JALPSSheltonCT, General Manager at Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Jorge

We loved having you here and so glad you enjoyed our newly renovated hotel. All interior renovations were completed in September of 2011 and happy to here you chose to visit with us again and see our updates. Looking forward to hosting you again in the future for your overnight business needs.

Sincerely

Jillian Alps
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaukauna, Wisconsin
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed here for business, was there over six months and I do not have one complaint! Large rooms with plenty of closet space, which of course is essential with the location and the great shopping nearby! Full size kitchen so it is like you are at home. Staff is exceptional, we were having a cook out and Lisa the sales director was amazing and went above and beyond to make it a huge success. Great breakfast and eveing meals with complimentary beer or wine. Nice to go back to room, light your fireplace and relax. Would for sure stay here when visiting or for another extended stay!

Room Tip: The majority of the rooms have a fireplace, great place to kick back relax with a glass of wine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maize4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JALPSSheltonCT, General Manager at Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Maize4

We miss you!! Thank you so much for your amazing review of our hotel. As the only purpose built extended stay hotel in the market it is a perfect choice for anyone visiting or working in the area for extended periods of time. The fireplace is such a bonus for our guests and we are so glad that you enjoyed many nights in front of the fire. All of the staff were thrilled with your review and hope that works brings you back to Shelton in the near future.

Sincerely

Jillian Alps
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Clean & spacious suites. We ALWAYS stay here when visiting my son at college, especially for Family Weekend! The whole family can visit in our Penthouse Suite with all the comforts of home! Full Kitchen in most suites, free breakfast, free water, & coffee 24/7! Staff is always accomodating.

Room Tip: Penthouse suite is not much more than a regular suite and accomodates more people. If you have a fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjcnmorrissey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JALPSSheltonCT, General Manager at Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear rjcmorrissey

We are delighted that you continue to use our hotel while visiting your son in college. The hotel is purpose built for extended stay and so glad you enjoyed all of the amenities that we offer. We look forward to seeing you again on Family Weekend.

Sincerely

Jillian Alps
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Post Falls
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

My wife, daughter and myself stayed here for 3 nights in early October. They are repainting the exterior but the inside is what counts. Rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable. The people at the front desk were very professional and efficient. It is an excellent value for the money. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Etherboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JALPSSheltonCT, General Manager at Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Etherboy

What a wonderful review for our employees. Marriott is the leader in Customer Service and we are proud that all of our employees are continually trained on providing exceptional guest service. All of the staff were proud of your review and I thank you for recognizing each of them. We look forward to hosting you in the Shelton area again soon.

Sincerely

Jillian Alps
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

There are serveral full service and extended stay within a couple miles from here, but this has become our company's go-to facility when we have business in the area. Why? Because they have fair rates and great service. These folks value our business and truly try to earn our business with every stay. In an era when everyone talks about great service, but few deliver, Lisa and the folks at the Shelton Residence Inn do everything they can to make sure our people are well taken care of.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JALPSSheltonCT, General Manager at Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Jerry R
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the property. Lisa is a wonderful asset to the hotel as our Director of Sales Marketing with the dual role of Director of Making Sure Your Stay is Exceptional! We appreciate your continued loyalty and patronage to the Residence Inn, Shelton CT and for your company to have somewhere to call home. As always we are here for you and should you need anything to further enhance your stay with us please do not hesitate to contact us.

Hospitably Yours

Jillian Alps
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Johnsbury, Vermont
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

I travel to this part of Ct often and have stayed here about 10 times this year.
I have read many of the other reviews and wonder what hotel they werein.. My expereince was quire different or maybe im juts too particular.. But heres a list of gripes and comments.
1) I arrive here about noon and always request an early checkin which is never acknowledged and when I arrive at noon or 1PM and ask if a room is available, the response has always been "NO", then I ask to check with housekeeping, because i can see the parking lot is nearly empty and spmeone must have ckecked out already!.. But still They tell me I have to wait for up to 3 hours.. However, when I tell them, I will wait, they mange to find me a room within 15 mins. I get the impression that housekeeping and the desk are not on "talking terms"
2) Room cleqanliness is marginal ..I had to walk theu a spider web once when going theu the front dood.... and the wear and tear on this property is obvious with rotting wood on outdoor structures.,m cracked porcelain in bath sinks, sometimes mold in the bath.. I always complain and have never received a response from management.
3) Computers in the lobby are aged and very slow, either due to an unmanaged network or trashed PC's.A desk clerk told me once on checkout that I would have to wait , because their computers were slow?
4) Room keys - more than half thre time I stay here, their key will not work on the second day of my stay, because they have not been programmed properly.. Sort of getting irritating..
5) Breakfast is OK always exactly the same ... most disgusting thing is a pan of dirty water that sits in the dining area with a wet cloth used to wipe tables... table are left wet,, to dry by evaporation, not nice to sit at one of these when it has been recently cleaned.
6) Breakfast staff has always been helpful when i needed something.

After staying here frequently for several years, I dont use this property anymore.. After a stay at Trumbull Marriott and courtyard, I see the striking difference in room cleanliness, hotel staff courtesy , and now competiveness of price.
I travel a lot all over the world and stay at some 5 star hotels and many Marriotts so maybe Im just too fussy, but this location is no longer a value to me.

Room Tip: If you must stay here , choose a rook on the second floor.. so you dont have to endure noisy upstair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomc24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JALPSSheltonCT, General Manager at Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Tom

I am so sorry that our service has not met your expectations. I would be more than happy to discuss the issues you have experienced during your recent stay with us in person or via phone. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

I look forward to speaking with you.

Hospitably Yours

Jillian Alps
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelton
1.1 mi away
HYATT house Shelton
HYATT house Shelton
#2 of 6 in Shelton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton
0.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Shelton - Fairfield County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Stratford
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Shelton
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Shelton
Courtyard Shelton
#4 of 6 in Shelton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County

Property: Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County
Address: 1001 Bridgeport Ave, Shelton, CT 06484-4675
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Shelton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Shelton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenely located in the close proximity of many corporations, universities such as Yale and area attractions for the whole family to enjoy, which include The Beardsley Zoo, CT Sports Center and the Webster Arena at Harbor Yard. The Residence Inn offers an ideal location for an overnight stay or extended stay conveniently located just minutes from Perkin Elmer, Bic, Unilever, Prudential and Sikorsky Aircraft and easily accessible to the Merritt Parkway and I-95.Our peaceful atmosphere is complimented by our outdoor swimming pool, BBQ area accessible by all of our guests, basketball court and badminton court, fitness center and free passes to the renowned Fitness Edge Sports Center for all of our guests. Our homelike surroundings invite you to relax, and our community atmosphere makes you feel like you are not far from home. We emphasize the work life balance by offering free Wi-Fi, guest laundry, complimentary hot breakfast and light dinner every Monday-Thursday. Spacious suites feature a separate living room with fireplace, kitchen and eating area, private bedroom with bath and upstairs another bedroom and bathroom. Other rooms include a one queen size bed with fireplace, kitchen and living area or rooms with two queen size beds. Parking is complimentary for all guests. Our mantra for the Residence Inn in Shelton which we hope you also enjoy is:“It’s not a room. It’s a Residence”.Come visit us soon!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County Hotel Shelton
Shelton Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing