We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge Suite” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Shelton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Salisbury, Maryland
Level Contributor
129 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Huge Suite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for one night and hated to leave. Room was huge, beds so comfortable, and staff was so inviting. The pool was a great way to cool off and relax on a crazy hot day.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ripcurled1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JALPSSheltonCT, General Manager at Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear ripcurled1

It was great to read such a positive review of the hotel. Our rooms are purpose built for extended stay and to make you feel just like you are at home whether you are here for one night or one month. All rooms have the full size kitchen, fireplace and pull out sleeper sofa. Our different room types with one queen size bed, two queen beds or our Pent House enable us to offer great options for travelers. Please let us know the next time you are visiting the area and we will ensure that we wow you with another room type! The pool is great on a hot day and our lounge chairs, unbrellas and quiet location really makes a world of its own.

Sincerely

Jillian Alps
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    59
    29
    21
    12
See reviews for
90
27
8
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

After a long day of travel my coworkers and I showed up having missed our scheduled dinner. Logan was incredibly helpful, aiding us in finding food, sorting out where we needed to be the next day, and was overall a very genuine, nice guy.

My room was large and as requested, and the grounds were well maintained. I wish I'd had time to make use of the pool since we were there during a sweltering heatwave (AC worked great, but was a little loud at night), but that will have to wait for another trip.

Overall it's a fine place to stay but the staff, particularly Logan, really made it an easy, pleasant experience. I doubt I'll be in CT again soon, but if I was I would make a point of staying here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JALPSSheltonCT, General Manager at Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Robert A

The hotel is indeed very lucky to not only be a great place to stay but have amazing staff also!! Logan was thrilled with your review and has set the bar high for everyone else :) The rooms are large, spacious and designed to make you feel at home. I did speak with our engineer regarding the AC units and he is addressing the noise issue. The pool is such a luxuary to be able to be outside and enjoy the weather, lounge by the pool under an umbrella, take a nice swim and or a nap - as some of our residents are inclined to do!! Please let me know the next time you are visiting the area as we will ensure your AC is quiet or if you are coming back during the winter months you will enjoy using our fireplaces also. Safe travels!!

Sincerely

Jillian Alps
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

This is about the fifth time we stayed here. The room is spacious. The staff isvery friendly and the service is excellent. As a matter of fact we liked it so much that I bought some Marrriott stock.
Joe W. Florida

Room Tip: ground floor rooms very convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joseph w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Dear Joseph W

I wanted to thank you for your wonderful investment and commitment to the Marriott brand that you have made. We are grateful that our lovely hotel here in Shelton CT made such an impact on you and this is something that we strive to perfect every day. Our management and staff have also made a commitment to our guests to ensure that each and every one receives superior guest service. Our Management company - Island Hospitality have also invested time and money into the hotel by upgrading each of our 96 guest rooms and suites, and providing excellent training for all of our management and staff. It looks like our investment and theirs is paying off and we wish you all the success in the future with yours. Please let me know when you will be visiting again so that I may ensure that you are introduced you to our management team and staff. Thank you for your contribution and kind words.

Sincerely

Jillian Alps
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Very nice room with full kitchen and living room that has a fireplace. There is a pool ,basketball court and a barbecue pit. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating . The daily breakfast had a good selection of hot and cold items and there is a happy hour weekdays with light dinner items.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iluv2travel61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Dear lluv2travel61

We are so glad that you were able to view all of our great amenities offered here at the Residence Inn by Marriott in Shelton. The hotel is designed to make our guests feel at home and you were able to capture all of this in your description. All of the guest rooms have been recently updated along with the patio area and now that the pool is open for summer our guests are truly enjoying their home away from home. A product is not successful without the service. The staff here at the hotel are a key part of our success and what makes us stand out from the competition and we thank you for recognizing their hard work and efforts. We hope to host you again in the Shelton CT area. Again thank you from the management and staff.

Sincerely

Jillian Alps
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

Every one was so nice and always had a smile on their face breakfast was really good and a great set up. the front desk was super helpful. i came down to the gate house around 11 30 pm and ask the man at the front desk if there were any places to eat around and he reccomended the steak house which was really good

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JALPSSheltonCT, General Manager at Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear John D

Thank you so much for the great review of our property. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and our staff were as helpful as ever. The hotel prides itself in offering outstanding customer service and glad we could provide you with a great restaurant to dine at while in Shelton. Please let us know when you plan to visit the area again and we will ensure you have a consistent excellent experience here at the Residence Inn.

Sincerely

Jillian Alps
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Windsor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

I have been at the Hotel for two month's and will be staying till Dec. The grounds are always well kept and the pool area is spotless. You can do your laundry and they have a little fitness center. Just a little of everything to make your stay enjoyable. Management is very friendly and take care of problem's promptly. The breakfast in the morning is great Thank you Vicki, Also a Special thanks to Maribel, Madeline, and Logan who put the Extra effort to making you stay that much better. I have to live away from my family and i really gets to me. The team make's the Hotel a HOME not just a bed to sleep in.
Sincerely
M. Paquette

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JALPSSheltonCT, General Manager at Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear Mr. Paquette - thank you for your lovely review of the hotel. We are so happy to be able to really make your long term stay with us enjoyable and memorable. Having guests who really appreciate how much our employees go out of their way to really WOW you with their hospitality is very rewarding. Maddie, Logan and Maribel have all been with the property for a few years and really understand our long term guest needs. Logan was recently awarded Team Member of the Quarter for the company and I think we can see why!! I hope you continue to enjoy your stay with us and as always if there is anything we can do for you please let us know.

Sincerely

Jillian Alps
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

Friendly and helpful staffs. Feels like living in a family. Will choose this hotel again for next business trip

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GTLau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JALPSSheltonCT, General Manager at Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review of the hotel. We loved having you here and are glad that you were able to enjoy all the benefits of our extended stay hotel. Are goal is to treat our long term guests like family and provide outstanding guest service. We look forward to hosting you again in the Shelton area for your overnight or long term stays.

Sincerely

Jillian Alps
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelton
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton
1.1 mi away
HYATT house Shelton
HYATT house Shelton
#2 of 6 in Shelton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Stratford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Shelton - Fairfield County
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Shelton
Courtyard Shelton
#4 of 6 in Shelton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Shelton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County

Property: Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County
Address: 1001 Bridgeport Avenue, Shelton, CT 06484
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Shelton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Shelton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenely located in the close proximity of many corporations, universities such as Yale and area attractions for the whole family to enjoy, which include The Beardsley Zoo, CT Sports Center and the Webster Arena at Harbor Yard. The Residence Inn offers an ideal location for an overnight stay or extended stay conveniently located just minutes from Perkin Elmer, Bic, Unilever, Prudential and Sikorsky Aircraft and easily accessible to the Merritt Parkway and I-95.Our peaceful atmosphere is complimented by our outdoor swimming pool, BBQ area accessible by all of our guests, basketball court and badminton court, fitness center and free passes to the renowned Fitness Edge Sports Center for all of our guests. Our homelike surroundings invite you to relax, and our community atmosphere makes you feel like you are not far from home. We emphasize the work life balance by offering free Wi-Fi, guest laundry, complimentary hot breakfast and light dinner every Monday-Thursday. Spacious suites feature a separate living room with fireplace, kitchen and eating area, private bedroom with bath and upstairs another bedroom and bathroom. Other rooms include a one queen size bed with fireplace, kitchen and living area or rooms with two queen size beds. Parking is complimentary for all guests. Our mantra for the Residence Inn in Shelton which we hope you also enjoy is:“It’s not a room. It’s a Residence”.Come visit us soon!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County Hotel Shelton
Shelton Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing