We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“where's the service?”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Vazzy's Cucina

Vazzy's Cucina
Ranked #32 of 129 Restaurants in Shelton
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
shelton ct
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“where's the service?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

2nd time at this place, this time went on a Sunday night, place was not busy at all. "Kristen N" was our waitress. She got us water then said she would be right back with our bread.. 5 min went by.. 10 min went by.. we asked for bread. We placed our order, no grated cheese was offered with the pasta dish, our waters were not refilled at all during the dinner. The food and bread were excellent just bad service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nina c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    25
    32
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
103 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great service, huge portions, nice atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

We were very impressed:

#1 with the service at Vazzy's. Abbey was a wonderful server, so ask to be seated in her section if she's working. The waitstaff took a team approach to making sure that our every need was met, and everyone who helped us was very friendly.

#2 with the quality of the food and the portion size. Our two entrees were enough to feed a family of four. And on that note, Vazzy's offers family-sized portions, allowing bigger parties to order several dishes to share. We enjoyed the antipasto salad, fruitti del mare (featuring generous portions of all kinds of seafood, including lobster), and baked eggplant rollatinis.

#3 with the atmosphere. We dined on the patio, but the bar area, the banquet room, and the main dining room also seemed like great places for date night, a night out with friends, or a family dinner.

We drove 30 minutes out of our way to visit Vazzy's, and the drive was well worth our time.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura_BP_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
129 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good food and reasonable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

My family loves Italian and my son is also a picky eater.

We started with a tasty bread basket.

Their calamari was very well done. My son ordered Tortellini with vodka sauce. He remarked that the cheese filling has an intense flavor he has never tasted before. Our other pasta dishes all were just as delicious.

The restaurant has a nice chic decor. Service was very pleasant.

Helpful?
1 Thank PhillyGuy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Elsinore, California
Level Contributor
145 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Easy walk from Hampton inn and worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

Lunch. Short walk across street from Hampton Inn
Had veal parmigiana. Good taste, good value
Not crowded or noisy at lunch
Good service
Bet it gets busy at night but really nice lunch
Yes I recommend

Helpful?
1 Thank BernDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
2 reviews
“YUM!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We loved this restaurant. Delicious!!! The atmosphere is nice, The staff is friendly, The food is so good. If we lived in Shelton, CT or nearby, we would become regular patrons for sure.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelalittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vazzy's Cucina also viewed

 

Been to Vazzy's Cucina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing