We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
HYATT house Shelton
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Shelton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2013

By far one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in. The indoor tub was awesome. The room was beautiful and had a full kitchen which I wasn't expecting. The bed was a little too soft for me and my boyfriend. Breakfast was good with an omelet bar, which without the omelet bar the breakfast would've been subpar. The staff was super friendly, I would come back here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaela t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (494)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

388 - 394 of 494 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

I stayed here for almost five weeks and now that I am back home, I am really missing the Hyatt House - Shelton.

My room was nice...the bed a bit firmer than mine at home, but very comfortable. There was a decent kitchen area in my room - fridge, stovetop, dishwasher, and microwave. I have nothing to compare it with in the area, but I was comfortable. A second peraon in the room would make it a tad crowded.

The common areas of the hotel are fabulous. Nice bar and seating areas, dining area with complimentary teas and coffee, including creamer and sugar. Apples and complimentary cookies ( and sometimes brownies in late aftednoon/early evening. The pool is small, but fun and the fitness room adequate. Nice treadmill and elipicals with TVs.

All the staff that I encountered were pleasant and helpful and some that I got to know better were interesting and fun too. Love Nikki the bartender at the H Bar. When I first checked in, the House Host encouraged me to sign up for the Gold Passport. I wasnt going to, but I did, stayed longer than expected and earned a few free nights! !

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneR2D2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed at the hotel while in town on business. The hotel is clean, staff friendly and professional and the rooms have a nice living room, kitchen, and bedroom. The breakfast is quality and included. The also have an omelette chef...however not always available when ready to order.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank philburk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

My son's college baseball team brought us to Fairfield Connecticut. We don't usually book a room ahead. We just follow the team bus to the hotel where the team is staying and if looks acceptable we stay there, if not look for other accommodations. Although Shelton was almost 30 minutes from Fairfield, we were more than pleasantly surprised with the teams accommodations. The hotel was obviously newer construction with quite an impressive facade. Small suite was immaculate. My husband and I both said "this is all we need, we could live here". Very nice bar and pool table in the lobby area with casual seating areas. Staff was pleasant and very attentive. Parking was more than convenient with restaurants close by. Great weekend all around in Connecticut and the team won the series!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diz909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We've stayed at the Hyatt House in Shelton on numerous occasions, because the hotel's staff are pleasant and helpful. The hotel itself is conveniently located to Fairfield and Trumbull (just off the Merritt Parkway and Rt. 8), it's clean, the rooms are spacious with kitchenettes should you desire this amenity. The beds, in particular, are quite comfortable. There are a number of other hotels, restaurants and shopping centers in close (but not too close) proximity to the Hyatt.

All of this and a hot breakfast, too! Included with the breakfast are fresh fruit, yogurts, juices, coffees, teas, cereals (hot and cold), breads - danish, bagels, toast, muffins and or English muffins), eggs (scrambled and omelets made to order), breakfast meats (bacon or sausage), and pancakes or French toast. The woman who has been in the breakfast area at the Hyatt on Sunday mornings when we've been there for breakfast on all but one visit is very pleasant despite being pulled in many different directions and she makes a wonderful omelet (choices of ingredients are ham, bacon, spinach, green peppers, onions, tomatoes and cheeses).

Recently the hotel has been booking large groups of people, pre-teens and teenagers as well as their chaperones, on weekends which has definitely detracted from our stays at the Hyatt. The hotel has become much noisier, both downstairs and in and around the guest rooms. The chaperones haven't been monitoring their charges and in some instances are actually worse than the kids. At breakfast, these same individuals pile their plates full of food and end up wasting the majority of it. As a result, they leave little to no food for the others at the hotel looking forward to a hot breakfast. The hotel replenishes the food at a rather slow pace and up until about 9 a.m. even though breakfast is served until 10 a.m.

The key to breakfast at the Hyatt is to arrive early so that you are assured of getting a choice of breakfast items, a choice of seating and, believe it or not, clean plates, bowls, mugs, glasses and silverware!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LaxMom39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel, and couldn't have been more pleased with the facilities and the service.
We arrived much earlier than anticipated (check-in is 3pm and we arrived at 9:30am), and thought we would drop our bags off and then head off to our destination at 11. However, the incredibly nice guy at the front desk said that there was a room open, let us check in, And told us that we could help ourselves to the complimentary breakfast (which ends at 10am).
So we brought our bags up to the Very clean and quite lovely room, enjoyed a big breakfast, and didn't have to worry about a thing as we went about our business the rest of the day.
I don't know what those other people are talking about, the room was very nice and nothing dirty about it. The breakfast buffet with made-to-order omelet bar was something I would expect to pay 10-12 dollars for, but not only was it free, it was delicious.
The bed was super comfortable, the hotel was nice and quiet by ten pm, and the gym had everything we needed (elliptical, free weights, treadmill, bench) plus free headphones and cold towels!
Literally nothing wrong with this place, and everything right. If I ever have something to do in the Bridgeport area again, I would most definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malaena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stayed here with my extended family this past weekend. We were blown away by how nice the hotel was and how friendly the staff was. The pool and hot tub were a great extra for my nephew and the adults. There is a pool table in the lobby. There is complimentary WiFi and breakfast, which includes made-to-order eggs! The hotel engineer moonlights as a balloon twister. Their borrow system includes board games, a yoga mat, and a flat iron. The rooms come fully equipped with a kitchen. What a nice surprise Hyatt House Shelton was for us.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexandraG514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelton
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Shelton
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Shelton
Courtyard Shelton
#4 of 6 in Shelton
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Shelton - Fairfield County
5.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Milford/New Haven
2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Stratford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Shelton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Shelton

Address: 830 Bridgeport Ave, Shelton, CT 06484-4717 (Formerly Hotel Sierra Shelton)
Location: United States > Connecticut > Shelton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Shelton
Price Range: $102 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Shelton 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shelton Hotel Sierra blends cozy chic with the convenience of guest-empowered travel thru intelligent design, stress-free service and free-flowing amenities. Its 127 guestrooms + suites feature flat panel TVs, MP3 docking stations and waffle terry bathrobes while free details include breakfast with made-to-order omelets, Starbucks brewed coffee and WI-FI throughout. Sample small plates, sip and socialize at the HBAR or relax and unwind in the indoor pool. Conveniently located near Yale University on Bridgeport Avenue, known to locals as “restaurant row”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your HYATT house Shelton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing