We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still a winner...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of HYATT house Shelton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
HYATT house Shelton
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Shelton
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Still a winner...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

While the name has changed (new ownership?) the quality of the hotel has only improved.
The rooms are lovely and comfortable with a complete kitchen.The lobby is inviting with a fireplace and pool table. The lobby bar serves food late into the evening.
While we did not take advantage of the pool, fitness center or business center, our stay was very enjoyable. The hotel is immaculate, most of the staff very friendly, and the breakfast was excellent. Special recognition to Stephanie and the omelette station chef. I even received a birthday gift from the kitchen - a delicious slice of red velvet cake...another example of their attention to detail. We are planning to return later this year.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingirl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    112
    33
    17
    13
See reviews for
137
90
17
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

A nice (I think upscale) hotel in a great location.Clean, modern and attractive. The staff is very courteous and helpful.It is conveniently located with lot's of name restaurants in the same area.We have only booked the suites which are reasonable and very attractive. Last time I messed up and did not get a suite so when we got to the room we were disappointed.My wife called the front desk to ask for the suite upgrade and we got it for no additional charge.Breakfast is included with a small but nice bar open in the evening. We visit my Mom who lives in the area and have stayed in just about all of the hotels in the area. The first time we stayed at the Sierra, we decided that it would be our choice for all future visits.

Room Tip: Try to book a suite. They are not too large but very comfortable and attractive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuvItaliaPesaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
102 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

I spent 30 days at this property for work. There are so many great things about this hotel. One of my favorites is the parking garage located under the hotel. Another is the Chili's and Longhorn located in the parking lot. The hotel is very clean, with modern design and great rooms. The rooms feature bright lighting, stainless steel appliances, and even wired ethernet capability. The king size bed, furniture and desk chair were all very comfortable. There is a great attention to detail down to the Bose speakers in the public areas playing background music. I highly recommend this property to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

Fantastic hotel! Clean. NEW! Very friendly staff. They serve a HOT free morning breakfast which was great. Bathrooms were generous in size. Beds were very comfortable. Patrick (Front Desk/Hotel Shift manager) was very professional and very nice. He was a welcoming sight and even honored a 1pm check out (as Hyatt Platinum member). Thanks Patrick!

Will stay here again for sure!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matt2858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

I chose to stay here because my conference was being held here and am certainly glad I made this choice. My room was comfortable and to my surprise, had more extra appliances for use especially if one had arrived late at night and wanted a snack---microwave, frig, coffee maker.... My colleagues found the exercise room well-equipped, clean and convenient, the conference room was comfortable and conveniently placed away from the hustle and bustle of the reception area and the Reception Staff were professional, efficient and ready to offer any assistance you may need. The location is great--offering choices of eateries right across the parking lot and breakfast was a veritable feast.

I hope my company will be using this hotel for all their future meetings in CT.

Room Tip: Heard no complaints so choice of room makes no difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelexpert65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

My spouse and I stayed here overnight for New Year's Eve for a 'close to home' romantic getaway. The lobby and lounge area with fireplace, plenty of seating, and bar is chic, warm, and classy.
The main reason I chose this property was for the indoor pool and the hot tub. These did not disappoint! The indoor pool was quite large compared to others in chain hotels where we've stayed, as was the jacuzzi. The entire pool area was impeccably clean and the wall of windows that looked to the outside was expertly designed to view attractive rock outcroppings for privacy.
We loved our King bed Junior suite. We could very comfortably stay here for business or leisure for at least a week! The mini kitchen was well-designed and well-equipped. The sofa and bed were both quite comfortable.
We woke up late the next morning, so we cannot comment on the included breakfast. (By the way...Quiet...No rowdy Eve noise!!!!) However, securing a late checkout of 2 pm meant we could work out in the small gym facility and enjoy the pool again!
Try to eat dinner at Il Palio nearby...wonderful!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dctrip96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs,Ny
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

We needed place to stay in the area, and based on other reviews, decided that this one would be a safe bet. It was excellent from start to finish. The registration desk person,Rachel, was pleasant ,professional and efficient. The rooms were nicely set up and spotlessly clean.The breakfast in the morning was great - much better than most of the typical hotel breakfasts. The people working in the breakfast room, couldn't be nicer and the omelet that was prepared for me was perfect. Even the coffee was particulary good (so good that I made a point of writing down the brand name of the coffee). We'll probably be back in this area, and there is no doubt that we will be returning to the Sierra.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelton
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Shelton
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Stratford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Shelton
Courtyard Shelton
#4 of 6 in Shelton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
1.1 mi away
Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County
5.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Milford/New Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Shelton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Shelton

Property: HYATT house Shelton
Address: 830 Bridgeport Ave, Shelton, CT 06484-4717 (Formerly Hotel Sierra Shelton)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Shelton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Shelton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Shelton 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shelton Hotel Sierra blends cozy chic with the convenience of guest-empowered travel thru intelligent design, stress-free service and free-flowing amenities. Its 127 guestrooms + suites feature flat panel TVs, MP3 docking stations and waffle terry bathrobes while free details include breakfast with made-to-order omelets, Starbucks brewed coffee and WI-FI throughout. Sample small plates, sip and socialize at the HBAR or relax and unwind in the indoor pool. Conveniently located near Yale University on Bridgeport Avenue, known to locals as “restaurant row”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your HYATT house Shelton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing