We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome long term hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
HYATT house Shelton
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Shelton
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
102 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Awesome long term hotel”
Reviewed February 1, 2012

I spent 30 days at this property for work. There are so many great things about this hotel. One of my favorites is the parking garage located under the hotel. Another is the Chili's and Longhorn located in the parking lot. The hotel is very clean, with modern design and great rooms. The rooms feature bright lighting, stainless steel appliances, and even wired ethernet capability. The king size bed, furniture and desk chair were all very comfortable. There is a great attention to detail down to the Bose speakers in the public areas playing background music. I highly recommend this property to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    119
    35
    17
    14
See reviews for
147
93
18
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Fantastic hotel! Clean. NEW! Very friendly staff. They serve a HOT free morning breakfast which was great. Bathrooms were generous in size. Beds were very comfortable. Patrick (Front Desk/Hotel Shift manager) was very professional and very nice. He was a welcoming sight and even honored a 1pm check out (as Hyatt Platinum member). Thanks Patrick!

Will stay here again for sure!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt2858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

I chose to stay here because my conference was being held here and am certainly glad I made this choice. My room was comfortable and to my surprise, had more extra appliances for use especially if one had arrived late at night and wanted a snack---microwave, frig, coffee maker.... My colleagues found the exercise room well-equipped, clean and convenient, the conference room was comfortable and conveniently placed away from the hustle and bustle of the reception area and the Reception Staff were professional, efficient and ready to offer any assistance you may need. The location is great--offering choices of eateries right across the parking lot and breakfast was a veritable feast.

I hope my company will be using this hotel for all their future meetings in CT.

Room Tip: Heard no complaints so choice of room makes no difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelexpert65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

My spouse and I stayed here overnight for New Year's Eve for a 'close to home' romantic getaway. The lobby and lounge area with fireplace, plenty of seating, and bar is chic, warm, and classy.
The main reason I chose this property was for the indoor pool and the hot tub. These did not disappoint! The indoor pool was quite large compared to others in chain hotels where we've stayed, as was the jacuzzi. The entire pool area was impeccably clean and the wall of windows that looked to the outside was expertly designed to view attractive rock outcroppings for privacy.
We loved our King bed Junior suite. We could very comfortably stay here for business or leisure for at least a week! The mini kitchen was well-designed and well-equipped. The sofa and bed were both quite comfortable.
We woke up late the next morning, so we cannot comment on the included breakfast. (By the way...Quiet...No rowdy Eve noise!!!!) However, securing a late checkout of 2 pm meant we could work out in the small gym facility and enjoy the pool again!
Try to eat dinner at Il Palio nearby...wonderful!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dctrip96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs,Ny
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We needed place to stay in the area, and based on other reviews, decided that this one would be a safe bet. It was excellent from start to finish. The registration desk person,Rachel, was pleasant ,professional and efficient. The rooms were nicely set up and spotlessly clean.The breakfast in the morning was great - much better than most of the typical hotel breakfasts. The people working in the breakfast room, couldn't be nicer and the omelet that was prepared for me was perfect. Even the coffee was particulary good (so good that I made a point of writing down the brand name of the coffee). We'll probably be back in this area, and there is no doubt that we will be returning to the Sierra.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

I travel frequently to CT for business travel. I have stayed a few area hotels but this one is definitely my favorite. Everything is updated and modern and the beds are very comfortable. When I'm traveling a lot, this is the closest thing I can get to being at home! The only thing I am not a fan of is being on the ground floor. Aside from that, everything is wonderful.

Room Tip: Select a room on the second or third floor - get a suite if there are any available - visit the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hollylynn122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

I stayed here for a wedding and was pleasantly surprised. Based on the bargain basement rate I wasn't expecting much. But, the hotel is modern, has generously sized rooms and a great staff. All in all it was a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BEonVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelton
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Shelton
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Stratford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Shelton
Courtyard Shelton
#4 of 6 in Shelton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Shelton - Fairfield County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Shelton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Shelton

Property: HYATT house Shelton
Address: 830 Bridgeport Ave, Shelton, CT 06484-4717 (Formerly Hotel Sierra Shelton)
Location: United States > Connecticut > Shelton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Shelton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Shelton 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shelton Hotel Sierra blends cozy chic with the convenience of guest-empowered travel thru intelligent design, stress-free service and free-flowing amenities. Its 127 guestrooms + suites feature flat panel TVs, MP3 docking stations and waffle terry bathrobes while free details include breakfast with made-to-order omelets, Starbucks brewed coffee and WI-FI throughout. Sample small plates, sip and socialize at the HBAR or relax and unwind in the indoor pool. Conveniently located near Yale University on Bridgeport Avenue, known to locals as “restaurant row”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your HYATT house Shelton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing