We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value-you get what you pay for and more!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Shelton - Fairfield County
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Shelton
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great value-you get what you pay for and more!”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here while visiting family in the area. We booked in advance online and used a cashback website which gave us an even greater discount!

We were not disappointed. I have stayed at a variety of hotels and at Extended Stay, Shelton, you get good value for your money. My last visit in 2009 I remember the rooms and bathrooms being dated. This time they have completely updated everything so it was quite nice-felt more like 4*. The kitchen was great with fridge and microwave, cutlery etc.

Only complaint is the noise the fridge makes in the room-can be annoying perhaps if you have children in the place trying to sleep.

They provided everything in terms of washing up liquid and toiletries. Was nice to have a good hot shower. We also used the free wifi provided and did not have much problems with this-we even skyped people using it!

The hotel is not far from stop and shop-about a 7min walk. Plus if youre too lazy to cook you can order out and they provide an in room menu filled with local takeaway/delivery suppliers who deliver to your door!

Service was great at checkin desk, no complaints and they can hold luggage for you if you are leaving later.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Shelton - Fairfield County, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I am glad to read that you were pleased with the updates that were done at the hotel, including the new "Stay Your Way Rewards" that we offer to our loyal customers. It is good to know that you enjoyed the amenities that we offer such as the full-equipped kitchen and the free wifi. I would like to apologize for the noisy fridge - we will have our Maintenance Engineer check it.

Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    27
    22
    11
    10
See reviews for
46
25
14
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Excellent hotel, recently refurbished where everything is clean and well kept. Room is good, very comfortable bed and kitchenette and equipment is fine for shorter stays. The hotel receptionists on two book ins over a 7 day period of travelling through Connecticut were superb. friendly, helpful and interested in our travels. A hotel well worth staying at and excellent value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Shelton - Fairfield County, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Jon - Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am glad to read that you found our rooms to be very accommodating and that our staff was very friendly. Thank you again for posting your review. We hope to see you again if your travels bring you our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The hotel is very nice, modern and beds comfortable. But I would advise any light sleepers to not stay in any of the front rooms facing Bridgeport Avenue. I could hear trucks, cars and traffic all night - sounded like the Daytona Speedway, so I had to use ear plugs during my 6 day stay. If you look at a map, you'll see that the hotel is about 1000 feet from the main highway, and less from the main road - closer than hotels further up Bridgeport avenue. Also being an Extended Stay where many people live for long periods, it wasn't uncommon to smell cooking at night, burnt food, and other unpleasant odors. That was a bit of a put off. On the plus side, the staff were impeccable - Julpha at the front desk is a pleasure to deal with and generally cares for her guests like they were members of her family. She offered to change our room and accomodate us in any way she could. Craig was also very nice. The hotel should be greatful they have such folks representing them.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back (away from front lobby) should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Shelton - Fairfield County, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. It's great to hear that you find the hotel nice and the beds comfortable. Thank you as well for commending our wonderful staff, Julpha and Craig. They are indeed one of our hotel's best assets. I apologize if you had problem with the noise during your stay and have to sleep with earplugs on. For your next visit, we will make sure to put you in the room facing the back parking lot.

Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I like how guess are allowed to cook their own meals.. Housekeeping were very good in cleaning rooms specially Rosa. I am also impressed by the way Julpha welcomes and accomodates the guess. She is very friendly. This place is close to a shopping store, restaurant and parks. Its worth staying here for business conferences or even tours.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Shelton - Fairfield County, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for posting such a wonderful review of your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that the staff is taking good care of you - from Rosa in cleaning your room to Julpha in making sure you had a pleasant stay. We are always proud of our staff's excellent customer service! Also, I am glad that you enjoyed the fully equipped kitchen in your guest room.

Thank you again for your kind words. The staff and I would love to provide you with another comfortable stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terryville, Connecticut, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed at the Extended Stay for 2 months because my home was destroyed by water damage. The Extended Stay staff, especially Julpha, made my difficult circumstances very pleasant and comfortable. The rooms are really nice with kitchens if you want to make your own meals. The location is close to many stores and restaurants and right near route 8 for easy access. I will defiantly stay here again when I am in the area.

Barbara Simon

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Shelton - Fairfield County, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Barbara - Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. It's great to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed the fully equipped kitchen that our room offers. We are also pleased to know that our guest service representative Julpha made your stay pleasant, helping appease you in your difficult situation.

Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed in Extended Stay for a week last year and were very satisfied with the good service and efficiency of the staff. Our needs were always attended to with sincere enthusiasm. It gives a feeling of having an instant home. Room amenities were abundant and well-maintained. The beds were ginormous and there is a lot of room for storage. The grab-and-go breakfast was also always a welcoming experience. The location is convenient with shops a few blocks away. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missjensoriano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Shelton - Fairfield County, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your astounding review of our property. We are glad that you are very satisfied with the service of the staff and the amenities that we offer. I am pleased that you found our location and grab-and-go breakfast convenient for your stay. We strive to provide an overall great experience for all of our guest and I am pleased to hear we were successful during your stay.

Thank you again for your kind words. The staff and I would love to provide you with another comfortable stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Been to this place twice. Was entertained by Julpha on both visits and she was consistent on making sure that we had all we need during our check-in.

If you want to have your meal at any restaurants, you can find quite a few in the area. If you want to cook your own meal at the hotel, Walmart is near for anything you need for your cooking.

They do not have fitness gym at the hotel itself, but they will hook you up to a local fitness gym which is perfect. The name of the Gym is EDGE. I do not know if you know about it, but the place is huge and you will love it.

The room are clean. Kitchen utensils are clean. Huge flat screen TV.

Room Tip: Ask the front desk not to put you in a room near the "Exit". More people prefer to go down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GTCube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Shelton - Fairfield County, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
The team and I appreciate your wonderful remarks. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed many of the convenience of the local gym and the location of our hotel to restaurants. We strive to provide excellent customer service, so I am pleased this goal was reach by Julpha.

Thank you again for sharing your comments with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelton
0.8 mi away
HYATT house Shelton
HYATT house Shelton
#2 of 6 in Shelton
456 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Shelton
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Shelton Fairfield County
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Shelton
Courtyard Shelton
#4 of 6 in Shelton
189 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Milford
Hampton Inn Milford
#4 of 13 in Milford
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Shelton - Fairfield County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Shelton - Fairfield County

Property: Extended Stay America - Shelton - Fairfield County
Address: 945 Bridgeport Ave, Shelton, CT 06484-4662 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Shelton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Shelton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Shelton - Fairfield County 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Extended Stay, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Extended Stay America - Shelton - Fairfield County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Shelton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing