We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oldest Continuously Running Market In CT”

Marc's Rowayton Market
Cuisines: Deli
Description: We are proud to be known as one of the oldest continuously running markets in the state of Connecticut. In the mid 18th century, when packet ships plied their trade along the Eastern seaboard from New York to Boston, we served as an offloading port for fresh meats, produce, groceries and dry goods. Today, Rowayton Market continues to serve the local community and serve as a local favorite for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The market offers restaurant quality prepared foods, fresh cut meats, gourmet take out, fresh produce, baked breads and pastries, and a large selection of fine cheeses. Enjoy your stay on our outdoor deck, overlooking the Five Mile River, or sit inside our cafe and enjoy one of our freshly brewed coffees. Basic household items and fresh flowers are also available.
Restaurant details
Description: We are proud to be known as one of the oldest continuously running markets in the state of Connecticut. In the mid 18th century, when packet ships plied their trade along the Eastern seaboard from New York to Boston, we served as an offloading port for fresh meats, produce, groceries and dry goods. Today, Rowayton Market continues to serve the local community and serve as a local favorite for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The market offers restaurant quality prepared foods, fresh cut meats, gourmet take out, fresh produce, baked breads and pastries, and a large selection of fine cheeses. Enjoy your stay on our outdoor deck, overlooking the Five Mile River, or sit inside our cafe and enjoy one of our freshly brewed coffees. Basic household items and fresh flowers are also available.
Reviewed June 8, 2019 via mobile

My ancestors owned the market at two different points of time in Rowayton history. As a child I used to go into the market & charge candy to my grandparents' account. (Never got into trouble for that) With all this history, why not display blown up vintage photos of the market, which you could get from RHS?Frame them, hang them on the walls! Celebrate the market's past!

Our chicken salad wraps were excellent, we sat out on the deck & looked at the River. We were on family business & made a long day trip to Rowayton, but did not want to linger in a restaurant with servers etc. If we lived closer, we would certainly visit the market more frequently.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Kristen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretP1879, Owner at Marc's Rowayton Market, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2019

Thank you so much for your positive review, Kristen! What a great story! We hope that you stop by sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 33 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2019 via mobile

Had an Italian combo and it was great. Fresh ingredients and fantastic bread! Had a sandwich with salmon, cucumbers, and herb spread and that was to die for! Horseradish spread is perfect, not too hot! And the fresh salmon on rye is killer!! Not to mention the outdoor seating in the back is perfect for a quick bite with friends or dates!

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank mharris10715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretP1879, Owner at Marc's Rowayton Market, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2019

Thank you so much for your positive feedback! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your time at the Market and hope to see you again soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2019 via mobile

Just the right amount of funky and seating right on the water. Deli and grocery with enough of each to make it an interesting trip. Love the water views.

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank CharlotteDayTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretP1879, Owner at Marc's Rowayton Market, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2019

Thank you, @CharlotteDayTripper! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit at the Market! Hope you will return soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2019 via mobile

I’ve been there for a quick bite, I took lobster salad and hot roll. The best ones I’ve ever tried. Thank you

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank evgrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretP1879, Manager at Marc's Rowayton Market, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2019

You've mistaken Rowayton Market with Rowayton Seafood Market; just a heads up.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2018 via mobile

It’s a market... it’s a catering.. it’s food to go or take it out to the large deck over looking the water .. hot delicious food all day from salmon to broccoli and meat loaf to chicken curry... home made chicken pot pies to salad .. steak and potato.. just about anything you could want .. fresh meat and indoor seating as well with a dessert bar... and coffee .. need french cheese to take home with maybe some flowers all there .. in our little village ..

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank Morganna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretP1879, Manager at Marc's Rowayton Market, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2019

Thank you for your pleasant review, Morganna! We do our best to serve the interest and taste buds of those within our local community! We appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marc's Rowayton Market also viewed

 
Rowayton, Norwalk
Rowayton, Norwalk
 

Been to Marc's Rowayton Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing