We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, Fresh Ingredients Perfectly Prepared”

DeNovellis Family Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 68 Restaurants in Rocky Hill
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: DeNovellis Family Restaurant is a family friendly restaurant, specializing in Northern Italian cuisine. We offer everything from pizzas and grinders, to top-notch dinners at reasonable prices. We do not believe in a la carte dining. Ever dinner comes with a choice of soup or salad, and is made fresh to order.
Bangor, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good, Fresh Ingredients Perfectly Prepared”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I "lucked into" this place on a recent road trip.
One of the best prepared AND presented Italian dinners I have had. My Rigatoni Di Mama came with a basket of bread (good Italian bread, some foccacio and some garlic bread), a delicious antipasto plus the only salad I had on this particular road trip with toomatoes that actually tasted like tomatoes! (And I recommend the house dressing.)
The waitress was friendly and helpful. The bar was busy, but this is clearly a family place. While I exceeded my normal budget for supper on the road, I was glad I did - well worth it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    21
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rocky Hill, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great evening”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Took my mom here for her 84th birthday as it is one of her favorite restaurants. The waiter was friendly and had a great personality. He also had the skills to serve us well. The food was plentiful and delicious. I had gnocchi and had trouble finishing the portion...maybe because I filled up on the fresh bread. My wife's dish had 6 huge piece of boneless chicken and four were taken home to be enjoyed later. I suggest making reservations on weekend nights.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbury, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Was first introduced here after attending a funeral and have been going back ever since. The food is delicious and good portions.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigZ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Be sure to try the table side flaming cheese wheel!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

This is our third visit to De Novellis in the past few months. If you are looking for authentic Italian with great service and a lively atmosphere, this is the place! Our waiter, Dave, was friendly and attentive. The highlight of our meal was the table side flaming cheese wheel with pasta - Enzo, the owner, lights the wheel on fire, scrapes the cheese from the sides and adds pasta and sauce to create an amazing appetizer that can also be a meal. Entertaining and delicious! Enzo's wife, Deborah, circulates through the restaurant making sure her guests are happy. Looking forward to returning again soon!

Helpful?
1 Thank smilingathena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“After a family funeral we all gathered here...”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Food was buffet style as we were in 40+. At first it looked like typical Italian restaurant food but after the first taste you could tell it was lovingly prepared, served hot, and fresh. The service was great too and they seemed to handle us all in stride.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lbruna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DeNovellis Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to DeNovellis Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing