We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always a good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Rocky Hill
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Rocky Hill
Reviewed August 23, 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank ElaineRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

175 - 181 of 307 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Management (Peter) here is very welcoming and friendly. Gave us great ideas for restaurants. These rooms are not luxury, but are very clean and nice for the price. Slept well. Would stay here again. We saw some very cute bunnies out in the grass. Got a downstairs room, was able to park right in front of it. 20 minutes to downtown Hartford without a huge price.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

.uppon check in we met kathy working the front desk who is not very knowledgeable.we were given room 214 at 1st..the a/c unit was old and not cool in that room.i contacted the front desk a 2nd time and she then moved us to room 215 which had a newer a/c unit ,all was good in that room except the phone didnt work ,so it was at that time i then informed the front desk and told them i switched the phone that worked from 214 to 215, kathy said that this couldnt be done and i had to put the working phone back in 214 and she was going to contact her manager peter patel which informed kathy to change are room for a 3rd time into 218 which that room had a old ai/c ,was not cool eirther.i needed a working phone so that i may get a wake up call in the morning for my job. i then had to check out of this hotel and go to a different one.

Room Tip: a/c units old in rooms and are by the bathroom up on the wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank toddneuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockyhillhojo, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Rocky Hill, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

I apologize for the inconvenience we caused you. Yes the phone was not working because someone had changed the port on the phone itself. We changed three rooms for you in less than one hour and its hard to get room cold in just matter of minutes. Most people stay here because of our reviews and we are not perfect , things do happen and we did try to make you happy by switching THREE ROOMS for you in matter of minutes. I am sorry we could not make you happy this time - hope to see you next time you are in the area.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Had an overnight stay and found the place clean and comfortable although the AC was a bit noisy,
it did the job very well. The outside is simple but the rooms are well appointed.
The owner was most pleasant and very helpfull. We would stay there again especially considering
the price.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donna_bernstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

My husband and I usually only stay here after a night at Foxwoods or some other destination or we do not feel like driving anymore. The price for a room here is kind of high if you ask me so I always look for a discount plus they do no offer any kind of breakfast. The positives of staying at this hotel...parking is free and there are restaurants and places to shop in the area. Plus location is close to the highway. Denny's, Friendly's, Wendy's, gas stations, a diner, Wal-Mart, Marshal's, TJMaxx and others are in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dbrown13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rocky Hill
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Hartford South - Rocky Hill
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Wethersfield - Hartford
3.9 mi away
Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Best Western Plus New England Inn & Suites
6.4 mi away
Hilton Hartford
Hilton Hartford
#2 of 12 in Hartford
1,157 reviews
6.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites East Hartford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Rocky Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Rocky Hill

Address: 1760 Silas Deane Hwy, Rocky Hill, CT 06067-1330
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Rocky Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Rocky Hill
Price Range: $67 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Rocky Hill 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exit 24 off I 91, Ten minutes from Downtown Hartford and Connecticut convention center, Free Continental Breakfast with yogurt and hard boiled eggs , all rooms with Micro/fridge and Coffee Makers, walking distance to many restaurants, Super high speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Rocky Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Rocky Hill
Rocky Hill Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing