We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful value and Will stay again!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Rocky Hill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Rocky Hill
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Rocky Hill
Bellingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful value and Will stay again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Granddaughter had a Hockey game in the Cromwell early Sunday morning, so we decided it would be best for all of us to find a local hotel and go down the night before. We live a good 2 hours away! Found the room on Priceline using the hidden choice based on star level and price. Went with the attitude of don't expect anything great for the price paid, we just need a place to sleep! Well I will tell you that we were very happy and satisfied with our rooms. We got 2 rooms, 1 king for both my husband and I, and our daughter and her family had 2 double beds. The rooms are exceptionally clean and well maintained, both rooms had a frig, microwave, and coffee pots. Staff is great, very helpful, responsive to requests! Being pillow people requested extra pillows for both room and less then 10 minutes later they were delivered with a smile! Have stayed at high end hotels and was treated better here then at some of the more expensive ones. They don't offer the extra's of pool, bar, or restaurant but most of our travels we never use those things either. There are plenty of restaurants within less then a mile from hotel. Very convenient to the highway and were we were 7 miles from the local arena! Our Granddaughter will have a few more games down that way over the winter and will stay again. So very pleasantly surprised at how comfortable, clean, the hotel is and how accommodating the staff is to their guests. Check in and out were very quick. Highly recommended to those looking for a no frills, but clean and comfortable hotel. Just remember it is like the old Motel type of rooms. But it is well cared for and will stay again. Offer free breakfast, but again the usual quick grab and go. They have cereal, juice's, coffee, muffins etc. Go get a good nights sleep and save a load of money!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovetotravel21978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    91
    50
    16
    15
See reviews for
64
61
38
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here for one night. The room was clean and well lit. It was in a great location... We were a bit apprehensive of staying in an inn but overall we felt very safe.

The owner was very accommodating to our situation, as he let us stay in the room a little while after check out.

Highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle10c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Very friendly staff, well situated, excellent value for money. First real motel for both of us and it was much better than we could have imagined. It felt just like in the movies.
Very pleasant stay.

Close to the highway and to Wal-Mart, though nothing much more. Some restaurants in short driving distance. Typical American breakfast (toasted bread, cereals, butter, jam, coffee). Calm.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BiWo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed here for a total of 3 nights as I was setting up my new apartment. Initially, it was supposed to be a 4 night stay but the manager was very accommodating when we told him that we wanted to cut our stay short by a day. We were fully refunded for the one night stay with no problems at all.

The rooms were clean, although it does need a little more lighting around the bed area. Shower was awesome and breakfast was simple and basic. This inn is ideal for travelers who are passing through and in need for a comfortable night of rest.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineMayYong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

I booked this hotel through Hotel.com (non refundable) for less than $60 plus tax for a Queen bed with regular features WiFi...continental breakfast...plus fridge & microwave...Everything works fine...WiFi is pretty fast...I'm pretty happy with the booking & staying...No swimming pool but that's OK...I shouldn't be expecting too much for less than 60 bucks...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SWildC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Rooms have been remodeled recently. Staff was great very friendly, when i went for breakfast in morning asked how everything was. Rate was good for the area. There's a few restaurants within walking distance and more within a short drive. The parking lot is not the biggest, no dedicated over sized parking. Would be first choice if i was ever back in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rocky Hill
9.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Meriden
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hartford South/Glastonbury
5.7 mi away
Courtyard Hartford Cromwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Hartford / Airport
23.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterbury
Hampton Inn Waterbury
#1 of 8 in Waterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
11.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Manchester - Hartford CT
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Rocky Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Rocky Hill

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn - Rocky Hill
Address: 1760 Silas Deane Hwy, Rocky Hill, CT 06067
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Rocky Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Rocky Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Rocky Hill 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exit 24 off I 91, Ten minutes from Downtown Hartford and Connecticut convention center, Free Continental Breakfast with yogurt and hard boiled eggs , all rooms with Micro/fridge and Coffee Makers, walking distance to many restaurants, Super high speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Rocky Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Rocky Hill
Rocky Hill Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing