We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly What I Expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Rocky Hill
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Rocky Hill
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was exactly what I expected. Rate was very low. Rooms were older but clean. Breakfast was bagels. Staff was very friendly. If you need a room for a night or two while on the road this place works. Just don't expect a 4 star hotel when you are paying for a 2 star.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skruffdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

234 - 240 of 304 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

Clean, courteous, convenient, affordable...all are accurate accolades for this establishment, but what has kept me returning to the Rocky Hill Howard Johnson Express Inn is how safe and secure I feel when I stay at this establishment. I can't think of a better recommendation.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
Thank Betty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Keiko J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The location was perfect and had easy access to major highways. There were some major chain restaurants across the street (i.e. Chili's.) Everything was very clean. The free breakfast was great and included many options. The dining area was very nice as well. The owners were some of the warmest most hospitable people we've come across in our travels. They went out of their way to make sure we were taken care of.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

When visiting family in Connecticut, we always stay at the Rocky Hill Howard Johnson Express. This facility is well run - clean rooms; good selection of breakfast items; friendly and attentive manager/owner; outstanding service and great rates. We also like having internet access and a refrigerator in the room. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My job has me on the road a lot. I have stayed in Hotels all over the US. In the last month I stayed here for 3 weeks straight. Everything was great. Room was always very clean. Staff is great. The manager/owner is great. Very helpful and he would always make sure that I was happy and very helpful. He has gone above and beyond working with me when I would need to check out and check back in. Which has no happened a few times. He always makes sure the breakfast is fresh. Won't ever put out to much food at one time because he doesn't want it to sit for to long. Every time I go back to CT. I won't stay anywhere else. Not just because the rooms are nice and comfortable. Which they are. More because of the staff was so nice, personable, and accommodating. I would also recommend it to friends or family.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taylor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rocky Hill
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Hartford South - Rocky Hill
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Wethersfield - Hartford
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Rocky Hill
Hampton Inn Rocky Hill
#4 of 5 in Rocky Hill
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hartford - New Britain
11.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Manchester - Hartford CT
3.9 mi away
Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Rocky Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Rocky Hill

Address: 1760 Silas Deane Hwy, Rocky Hill, CT 06067-1330
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Rocky Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Rocky Hill
Price Range: $68 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Rocky Hill 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exit 24 off I 91, Ten minutes from Downtown Hartford and Connecticut convention center, Free Continental Breakfast with yogurt and hard boiled eggs , all rooms with Micro/fridge and Coffee Makers, walking distance to many restaurants, Super high speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Rocky Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Rocky Hill
Rocky Hill Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing