We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fills all of the basic requirements” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Rocky Hill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Rocky Hill
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Rocky Hill
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
160 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“fills all of the basic requirements”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed one night when in the area for a family event. Location was main reason for the choice.

This is a basic, no frills, motel that is fine for a short stay.

Room was clean. Free Wi FI and a free, but limited breakfast of breads and cereals. No morning paper.

Same front desk was on duty when we arrived at night and left in the morning.

Rooms have outside doors if this bothers you.

Otherwise it was fine for one night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed_Kal99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    91
    50
    16
    15
See reviews for
64
61
38
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, New Jersey, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

The pricing was very cheap, which was the factor that got me to book here in the first place. On arrival, the surrounding area was stunning and this Express Inn fit right in. It is a one story hotel with room doors opening to the outside with convenient parking in front of your room. The accommodations were clean and more than sufficient. The amenities are what you would expect, with everything in working order. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, and familiar with the area. It is a quiet place, devoid of nighttime disturbances. There is no doubt that if I were to visit the same area, this is the place I would stay in again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WESTBOROUGH
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

The location was very close to the highway, did hear the a.m. traffic, but overall, for the money, room was clean enough. Bathroom needs some updating!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank VALARIE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Due to work commitments, I stay quite frequently....the hotel is neat and tidy...the cost is reasonable...and is perfect for my needs.....Peter is a kind, hospitable manager who strives to make ones stay as nice as possible..he greets me by name and frequently saves "my favorite room" for me....I have to chuckle when I read other reviews...remember, this is an Express Inn that, I would imagine, caters primarily to those on work travel etc. This is not a luxury hotel with room service. As such, ones expectations should be refined....I encourage you to stay......

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mt1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

I needed a place to stay for some job interviews in Farmington, Connecticut. I stayed here for 3 nights and I thought it was pretty decent for the affordable price. Peter, the manager, was very friendly and helpful. The room was relatively clean with a comfortable size. There is free wifi which is a plus. And the free breakfast served waffles, toast, bagels, cereal, milk, coffee, and fruit juices. Overall it was a good experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank apcastro86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We had a length stay booked here, but after one night quickly checked out.

Pulling up we were a little apprehensive due to the motel style rooms. But PETER quickly assured us that if there was anything suspicious going on to call immediately and he would have it taken care of.

The service was good, PETER was very nice and was willing to do anything to make your stay awesome.

We booked this place online so the value for it was very good!

Unfortunately, i am not a hard sleeper. So everytime i heard something i was quickly looking out the peep hole or the window ( due to the motel style rooms ). The was a little gapping around the doors which i think drew more noise in. Every car, person, shoe stepping, cricket was heard!

The cleanliness, being ocd, was not up to pare with my standards. but it was good if your not like that! bathroom was a little dated, and could use a good ol scrubbing, the air/heat was confusing. there was two different heaters and three different thermostats.. the bed was lower to the floor than most hotels, and not as padded as others. the room came with a mini fridge, microwave, desk and chair, and a table with two chairs.

The location is amazing! Pharmacies, groceries, laundromat, gas station, quick highway access, restaurants all within half a mile.

Your probably wondering what made us leave, right?
We have stayed in many hotels before and i have been a little traumatized but finding bugs in them. Which i did find one bug in the room! Unfortunately for my husband is enough for me to not want to stay there. The bug was a small roach, which is not my cup of tea.

Only seen one, but i quickly Lysol'd it and flushed it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Acholtes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rocky Hill
9.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Meriden
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hartford South/Glastonbury
5.7 mi away
Courtyard Hartford Cromwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Hartford / Airport
23.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterbury
Hampton Inn Waterbury
#1 of 8 in Waterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
11.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Manchester - Hartford CT
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Rocky Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Rocky Hill

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn - Rocky Hill
Address: 1760 Silas Deane Hwy, Rocky Hill, CT 06067
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Rocky Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Rocky Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Rocky Hill 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exit 24 off I 91, Ten minutes from Downtown Hartford and Connecticut convention center, Free Continental Breakfast with yogurt and hard boiled eggs , all rooms with Micro/fridge and Coffee Makers, walking distance to many restaurants, Super high speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Rocky Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Rocky Hill
Rocky Hill Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing