We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and tidy place to rest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Rocky Hill
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Rocky Hill
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We use the hotel on our way to Washington DC from Boston. The hotel is clean and tidy. It is not a luxury hotel but you have everything you need for a good rest The breakfast is included in the price of the room and it is a good start of the day. there is free parking and free wifi available. The staff was extremely nice and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

263 - 269 of 304 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank MIGUEL C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The old style motel layout you've seen a thousand times, just very clean. Updated desk/chest unit, small fridge, microwave. Some curious switch placements for lighting. Two levels, no elevator, direct unit entry from the outside. If traffic noise is a bother, ask to be located on the side opposite the interstate. Very well located, close to the interstate and several restaurants.
Peter is as advertised, very eager to make your stay pleasant, the kind of reception you'd wish to find everywhere.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RetireeTraveler33715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I felt compelled to write this review because I was so impressed by Peter Patel, the general manager at the Howard Johnson Express Inn. He's very thoughtful and he understands Hospitality! The rooms were tastefully furnished, the only criticism I would offer is that the ac in the room ran a little loud, but it in now way interfered with my sleeping. I'd stay here again hands down, you can't find this kind of management anywhere. Thanks Peter!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyingSolo737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I had a lovely stay at this hotel. We found the room to be very clean and comfortable. Peter, the owner, was extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast set up was very nice, and the coffee was fresh, hot, and delicious. When I accidentally left an item of value there, Peter himself searched the whole room for it and found it for me to pick up later that day. The price was very reasonable. I would highly recommend anyone to stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2012cgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I spent three nights here in June and was very pleased overall with the hotel. The room was very clean and the owner was very helpful with any issues I had. It's nice to see an innkeeper take real pride in what they are doing and this is definitely the case here. I rated the location as "Average" only because it's difficult to walk many places around there but it is convenient to the expressway if that is what you are looking for. Overall it was a pleasant stay and I would definitely stay again if I was in the Hartford, CT area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ndap987s3w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We booked this hotel on Hotwire. We were looking for a quick stay off Rt. 91 on our way to Maine. The room was clean and smoke free. Breakfast was fresh and the coffee was very good. Overall a nice property for a two star property. The owner, Peter, and his family live on the property and was very nice to deal with. Bottom line, I would definitely search this property out for an overnight stay.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank jpbtkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rocky Hill
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Hartford South - Rocky Hill
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Wethersfield - Hartford
6.4 mi away
Hilton Hartford
Hilton Hartford
#2 of 12 in Hartford
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites
8.2 mi away
Best Western Plus New England Inn & Suites
6.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites East Hartford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Rocky Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Rocky Hill

Address: 1760 Silas Deane Hwy, Rocky Hill, CT 06067-1330
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Rocky Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Rocky Hill
Price Range: $67 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Rocky Hill 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exit 24 off I 91, Ten minutes from Downtown Hartford and Connecticut convention center, Free Continental Breakfast with yogurt and hard boiled eggs , all rooms with Micro/fridge and Coffee Makers, walking distance to many restaurants, Super high speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Rocky Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Rocky Hill
Rocky Hill Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing