We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic Charm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Riverton Inn

Old Riverton Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Riverton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Riverton Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Riverton B&B and Inns
Fairfield County, CT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Historic Charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We loved the authenticity of the Old Riverton Inn and the original Hitchcock furnishings throughout the Inn. We had friends in the area who recommended the Inn and explained that
the restaurant now only does the major Holidays and special events but since we were visitng friends we met for dinner in nearby Winsted. We just missed the peak fall foliage and made a note to comeback in the Spring for the trout fishing.
We had some time on Sunday and decide to hike the trail above the Inn that goes through
Peoples Forest and features an outlook view of the valley. Great place for those who are not in a hurry and want to explore the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with Hitchcock furniture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whit48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    6
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
13
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stonington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

I and a number of my colleagues decended on the Inn for a spot of busness fishing on the Farmington River. The six of us had the place to our selves. The Inn was nothing spectacular, an old Inn with small rooms. Breakfast was a so so continental fare and I guess that the restaurant is no longer open. It sort of had the feeling of a place being maintained but going through its final days. If thats the case, its a shame because it has a lot of basic charm and cosyness and is in a great location for accessing some of the best fly fishing in Connecticut.

Friendly but a little pricy for what you get.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dennis u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

just return back to Istanbul, and last week driving from Montreal to NY city, I stay at the Old riverton Inn. Just superb for your money, the Owner Mr. Telford was so attentive, superb service.
When you sleep with your window open the sound of the river was fantastic, and the room was small but very comfortable. Large parking area right beside the Inn.

Room Tip: I will call and ask to the owner of the Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We have stayed at the Old Riverton Inn more than 15 times over the past 25 years. The owners are very pleasant and professional. They now serve a nice continental breakfast which is convenient to have when you want to sleep in a little late before heading out to see the area sites.
We look forward to coming back again this fall as we travel through New England for our vacation.

Room Tip: The corner suite on the second floor is great. Roomy and has a fire place and nice bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thelma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, N.Y.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I've been visiting the Old Riverton Inn for a few days of rest and relaxation each year over the past three decades, ever since the present owners purchased the Inn. I'm frequently there solo, but sometimes with friends

I don't go there expecting $600.00+ Hilton suites. I go there for the quaintness, comfort and 'friendliness' of their 200-year-old rooms...rooms that tired and hungry travelers have slept in when they arrived by stagecoach over two hundred years ago.

I've slept in every room that the Inn has to offer. Rooms are always clean, and sundries for the guests in the bathrooms were always there and adequate. The food was always above par, as were their beverages. Regarding their service, I cannot remember ever having a complaint.

It is a rare occasion that traffic noises might be heard in rooms facing the road, but there are some heavy trucks passing by at times...unavoidable, of course.

I'm looking forward to my next visit.

Bob Hansen

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the road in front of the Inn tend to be the quietest at night, and face the sunrise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

If all you want is a clean bed near the river, the Riverton is for you. It is clean and quaint, decorated with old photos of the inn, way back to the early days, when the porch wrapped all the way around. The bed was comfortable and the furniture serviceable. We recognized some pieces from the Hitchcock factory, and it's stuff that'll last forever. For a fishing trip in a gorgeous location where you're glad not to be in a tent, it would be a treat. Mind the request to remove your waders before entering the Inn! Since our group was the only one there, it was fun being able to go from room to room in my pajamas, and there was a cozy feel to the place. But, as the previous poster noted, it hasn't been updated in some time, the innkeepers were distracted with flooding in the parking lot and the breakfast was so disappointing. One pot of a regular coffee, only sweet breads, cold fruit, no flavored creamer, no toaster. There's no fridge in the rooms, and we weren't offered shared fridge space, so we wound up eating out more than we'd planned. There is a General Store very close by where you can get breakfast sandwiches. Discovering Cackleberries in Winsted was the silver lining. It took a long time to get hot water, and we had to unplug the TV in order to plug in our phone chargers. Road noise in the rooms at the front is very loud, esp. on weekends when the motorcycle clubs go through.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank egr2058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyannis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Various members of my family have stayed here often in past years because we have relatives in the area, but when I say "nothing has changed", it is not a compliment. We had 3 rooms and looked forward to family breakfasts (included in the room price) and a family dinner. Unfortunately for us, the inn no longer has a restaurant. The breakfast provided was the most unimaginative continental breakfast I've ever seen - coffee, orange juice in a pitcher, a few slices of coffee cake, a few mini muffins, a couple of yogurts, some store-bought fruit cups and a couple of the smallest apples I've ever seen. There was no cereal, bananas, hard-boiled eggs or any protein of any kind. A keurig machine was placed in the upper sitting area when we arrived on a Friday, but I don't think the creamers were ever put in the refrigerator before we left several days later. Someone obviously put out the continental breakfast, but we never saw the owners unless we called the Inn telephone and asked to see them. You would think they would make an appearance and ask how we were enjoying ourselves - unless they didn't want to hear the answer? The rooms have always been shabby, but clean, and I was always surprised at the cheap little bars of highly scented soap they supply . Now I noticed peeling wallpaper in our room. Even my mother, who was pretty nostalgic about going there, agreed that we wouldn't be going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gramsy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riverton
12.9 mi away
The Simsbury Inn
The Simsbury Inn
#1 of 1 in Simsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
12.3 mi away
Yankee Pedlar Inn - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
11.9 mi away
Blackberry River Inn
Blackberry River Inn
#2 of 4 in Norfolk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Rock Hall Luxe Lodging
Rock Hall Luxe Lodging
#1 of 1 in Colebrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
11.8 mi away
Days Inn Torrington
Days Inn Torrington
#1 of 4 in Torrington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Riverton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Riverton Inn

Property: Old Riverton Inn
Address: 436 East River Road, Riverton, CT 06065-1016
Location: United States > Connecticut > Riverton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Riverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Litchfield Hills' inn that serves delicious Christmas dinners. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing