We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not welcome”

Rustic Ridge Ranch & Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Evansburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rustic Ridge Ranch & Lodge
Edmonton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not welcome”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I stayed at Rustic Ranch with two of my girlfriends and was not impressed. We are professional and responsible people but were treated in an unwelcome way. At the time that we were there, there were a number of people on a scrapbooking retreat who were drinking alcohol openly yet we were charged a $10 cork fee for bringing our own wine; one of my friends was "scolded" by Helga when she went for a walk down the road and one of the dogs followed her. When Helga confronted her she did not even recognize that my friend was one of the people staying at the Ranch.

There was no DVD player and we needed to review a lecture tape. The rooms were clean and the food was good, but we noticed that for breakfast, the sliced meat and cheese were sliced very thinly as was the butter patties. One got the impression that the Ranch is short on funds. The whole atmosphere was very tense and we will not be returning to this Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank aaylyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan G, General Manager at Rustic Ridge Ranch & Lodge, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Customer, With all respect, but your complain is not substantiated. We are a licensed premises and in such a premises it is not allowed by Alberta law to consume your own alcohol. The law requires that you consume your own alcohol only in your room (what we offered to you) or that we charge you with a corkage fee if you want to stay in the licensed premises. So while complaining about the Alberta law, you give us a negative evaluation. You also do not know whether or not the scrapbookers had to pay the corkage fee also (they do). Your accompanying girl friend Elisabeth left our property for a walk on the road and our puppy was following her. So my wife tried to stop her while calling her name but she didn't react and walked on. When Helga caught up, Helga wasn't sure about the name because your friend did not react when called by her name. It's not always easy to recognize somebody from the distance when you only see the back of the person...Everybody can take as much slices of butter, sausage, or cheese because we refill the plates when they are empty, so there is a good way to compensate the thin slices while taking more than one...We have written confirmation from ABBA, AHLA and Alberta Health about the outstanding cleanliness of our place...We were not really crazy about seeing that you walked in, placed your wine on the table although the liquor license is displayed, walked behind our bar and helped yourself with our private glasses, and sat in the chair with your feet in the chair. By the way, we found our glasses and another bottle of wine under the snow and ice on the balcony, when we cleaned everything up. From a person, claiming herself a world travelling PH. D. I would have expected a different behavior.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Onoway, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I just spent a fun-filled scrapbook weekend at Rustic Ridge with a group of ladies. I LOVED the atmosphere and the lodge has so much character. The service was awesome, the food very tasty, and the hosts made a point to learn all 12 of our names. We are a load group but Helga and Stefan went with the flow and joined in on our good nature ribbing. The only disappointing item is that the hot tub was not working.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1MangoMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

When travelling to the mountains from Edmonton we were looking for place to stay - besides motels and hotels. And we really found it! We spent a nice evening and breakfast with Helga and Stefan and enjoyed their company.

The Ranch is really something special and a nice place to rest. We had dinner at a place along the highway and when driving back we saw the most amazing rainbow when entering their small backcountry road. They shared stories with us and we felt really welcome. The rooms are clean, well-appointed with balconies towards the small lake. We had breakfast in their large ranch room. A really nice place for all travellers going to Jasper and beyond.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MunichMoira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Valley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

A group of friends and I went to Rustic Ridge Ranch & lodge for a weekend of Scrapbooking retreat. From the first moment we arrived, we were greated with, you cannot come in you are too early, so go away and come back, which we had already travel for more than 3 hours. At one point during our stay the new manager rip one of my friend up and down, because she had requested that they could make the coffee a bit stronger. We have been coming to this lodge for the past 5 years and were always welcomed with open arm, but since they have made some changes and have new managers we are definetaly not going back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Weezie2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan G, Manager at Rustic Ridge Ranch & Lodge, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry, that you did not feel welcomed at our place. Our policy includes check-in at 4 pm, but you already arrived at 2.30 pm and asked for entrance. Due to previous guests the cleaning process was not completed and we asked you to take a walk on that sunny day. You prefered to stay in the cars and we let you in at 3.30 pm, so still earlier than you paid for.

Unfortunately your friend did not ask for stronger coffee but she required to get the coffee powder to set up her coffee by her own. This was denied. We told her, that also in a hotel she cannot set up her coffee by her own. In addition, instant coffee powder is available all day for our guests for self service.

While evaluating your stay you forgot to mention that almost everybody of your group enjoyed our free welcome cappuccino and commented our served 3-course-meals as delicious during your three days stay. You also might have forgotten that you only on your arrival day informed us about the dietary needs of two group members (no tomatoes, no mushrooms, no pasta, no soup...) and that during your stay we served these two people with meals corresponding to their needs although not having been prepared for that, which certainly created additional work load for us.

Finally your evaluation concerning the rooms is conflicting with your "warm stays during the last years". The set-up of the rooms has not been changed with our take over but is like it is since 2008. So if you complain about room and sleeping quality you must have experienced that all other years also. All other groups we had already at our place and new groups booking with us praise the special cleanliness at our place and the improved very good service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Rustic Ridge is a great Scrapbook Retreat location! After a warm welcome to the lodge we got to see the huge work room! The room has lots of tables, so no need to bring any, a wood stove for cold winter days, a vaulted ceiling and gorgeous views to top it off. We all appreciated the fact that there are no stairs to maneuver to get to the work space. We were made very welcome by our great hosts Stephan and Helga! They made sure that we were comfortable and had everything we needed. They shared their German heritage with us through some wonderful meals served in a separate dining room. We all agreed that we will be back there again next year!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTomatoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rustic Ridge Ranch & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rustic Ridge Ranch & Lodge

Property: Rustic Ridge Ranch & Lodge
Address: 83-55015 Range Road | Evansburg, Evansburg, Alberta T0E 0T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Evansburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Evansburg
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect spot for you to have your B&B, Retreats, Vacation, Country Getaways, Dinner parties and/or Weddings.Located in sunny Central Alberta nestled on the Cowboy Trail, miles away from everyday hustle and bustle, you will find old-fashioned country hospitality at The Rustic Ridge Ranch & Lodge. The Rustic Ridge Ranch & Lodge rests on top of a hill on approximately 80 acres of great Canadian Nature. The Lodge is lined in rustic cedar, complimented by large picturesque windows and open air verandas with views of up to a 150 miles of rolling hills and blue sky. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing