We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like quiet country, Stay here”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nyamup
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nyamup Mill Town Holiday Village
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you like quiet country, Stay here”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Hi,

Having the family hire out a large proportion of Nyamup for a wedding reception it turned out to be great weekend. The house we stayed in (Cottage 1 or Managers Quarters) was large with heaters ( Although not 5 star with spas and saunas it was great). My brother, friend and I went fishing landing 22 Redfin Perch for the weekend with one monster around 1.5kg although be prepared to loose some lures just bring your own gear as their is none provided it seems. The Huts that all the family stayed in are all under new management and they were great to work with and always willing to help. Phone range is Very Low for Telstra (Don't worry about the other phone company's at all) finding range just up the hill.

Overall a great and enjoyable stay

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinklady51, Owner at Nyamup Mill Town Holiday Village, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for seeing Nyamup for what it is. It is lovely to get some positive feedback especially when you had booked out most of the town for a wedding and you were not blessed with good weather. In spite of the continuous rain all day and I am sure the bride would have been devastated, it appears that you all had a fun time. I look forward to seeing all the photos as I have only seen some of those in the hall which looked great. Congratulations to the bride and groom, may you have a long, successful and loving life together
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    14
    2
    2
    15
See reviews for
18
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, WA
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here after purchasing a Scoopon. The place is old, which you would expect, but also in a terrible state of disrepair, there's no tv reception or DVD player, it was boiling hot and... here's the kicker, after a couple of hours, I was walking in the kitchen and FELL THROUGH THE FLOORBOARDS! We rushed to the hospital and I ended up with torn ligaments, a haematoma - which I still have to this day and terrible Freddy Kruger gouges all down my legs, which have now turned into scars. They didn't even offer us a room change! They just went into the kitchen and nailed down a plank of wood over the hole! I was on crutches and wanted to leave the next day, so we did. They didn't offer us a refund, compensation, or even an apology! The caretaker came over to make sure I wasn't going to sue and that was it. I had to take weeks off work and didn't even get a follow up call, even when I emailed them a complaint. Nothing! Absolutely appaulling. Even if it hadn't been for that happening, the place is lousy, there's nothing to do, it's hot, clammy, boring and isolated. You'd be better off burning your money than wasting it down there!

Room Tip: Sleep on the dirt road outside, it would be cooler and more comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinklady51, Owner at Nyamup Mill Town Holiday Village, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
There are 26 houses in Nyamup all of them privately owned. As in life some houses are well maintained others are not, some owners are very caring and love their cottage, others don't as is the case here and of course nobody can predict where white ants are until we see them or come across their damage. I find it very sad that anybody can get on this site and say just what they like without any responsibility taken at all. In this case there is some responsibility to be taken by the writer as we know the other side of the story and are not prepared to put this out there for everyone to see. Nyamup is a beautiful peaceful old worlde town and if you can't hack the fact that you have to light a fire, bring your own linen and food, go for lovely walks, live without TV or radio but can watch DVD's or listen to music then this is not the spot for you. Some of these comments are way out of line and I welcome the opportunity as an owner to have my say.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We did not read the reviews before we went, but from the comprehensive notes from management we knew about the requirements for linen, food, water, toiletries etc. We also understood the lack of TV and mobile reception, and knew that there is no "on-site" manager.
Assuming other guests received similar information, I am surprised that some reviewers were ignorant of these facts.
I don't usually write reviews but I am compelled to praise the location, accommodation, atmosphere and surrounding area of this old mill village. OK, we may have been lucky to stay in a well equipped and clean cottage which has been adequately maintained. It appears that as these cottages are privately owned, the level of maintenance depends on the owner as well as previous guests.
You probably have, or about to, read some negative comments about this quaint, isolated and beautiful village but I suggest you take more notice of the good reviews - it is excellent, relaxing and peaceful. Granted there is not a great deal to do in the village apart from chilling out or taking long walks, but you are on the doorstep of at least eight National Parks in the State's magnificent Karri country.
As far as the accommodation itself is concerned, we found it to be clean and comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped, there was plenty of hot water and despite not lighting the fireplace, we were warm enough in early June. The houses are well spaced apart meaning we did not hear any noise from our neighbours.
We will return for another enjoyable weekend to discover areas to the south and east of Nyamup

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Great location, very quiet waking to the insects and birds in the early mornings, watching the mist clear. It was so peaceful away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Then cane the kangaroos and emus, just amazing for the grand-kids. Loved it so much I did not want to leave. Took a walk around the surrounding tracks, like going back in time. Awesome holiday for the family. Will return with family and kids.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clinton24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Nature pure, great wildlife, clean cottages, bikes at the office, enjoyed a cosy fire in the evening, more rainwater than anyone could drink (and it tastes amazing and is glass clear)

Short - we will come back ;)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Loved our stay in Nyamup. Was great to get out of the hustle and bustle of the city and enjoy a nice, quiet, peaceful getaway. The kangaroos and emus were a nice addition to our stay. Thoroughly enjoyed the wood fire after days of sight seeing and enjoying the nature and serenity of down south. Will definitely visit again :)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haylsv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We've stayed at Nyamup on a number of occasions with vouchers and without vouchers and had some wonderful times!
We've been with small and large groups of people.
We just love the place!
It's super cheap, secluded, peaceful, a wonderful drive from the city and so close to nature.
In fact we have been so many times that we are on first name basis with the owners, who are a delightful couple that have really worked hard to get Nyamup where it is today.
The cottages are fully contained, comfortable, cosy and clean.
The fireplace really sets the scene on a cold autumn or winter morning.
Yes the town and cottages are old but it adds to the character of the history.
It is a beautiful place and the scenery is spectacular. Surrounded by open bush, emus, kangaroos and peacocks on a daily basis.
Just to name a few things we've done when we stay: bush walking, wine tours, relaxing, fishing, bike riding (on request or we bring our own).
The key to this place is make sure you READ your voucher fine print as well as the email confirmations of your booking. They will tell you what you need to bring and what you will be entitled to on your visit. If you are not sure, then ask before you go. And most importantly research and visit the website BEFORE you purchase a voucher or go down there.
There is no false advertising, what you see is what you get. The rest of your trip is entirely up to you and your imagination.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TamraMcMahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nyamup Mill Town Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nyamup Mill Town Holiday Village

Property: Nyamup Mill Town Holiday Village
Address: 1 Nyamup Road, Nyamup, Western Australia 6258, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Nyamup
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Nyamup
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nyamup is nestled deep in the beautiful South West forest region of Western Australia. Nyamup is perfect for a quiet romantic weekend, family getaway or a group holiday.Our rustic self-contained cottages are the original timber workers homes and each one has been lovingly renovated and restored to reflect the bygone era. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing