We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nyamup
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nyamup Mill Town Holiday Village
Reviewed December 16, 2012

After reading the reviews about Nyamup we too wondered what we had gotten ourselves into and were expecting the worst. With that in mind we were pleasantly surprised on arrival to find our cottage immaculately clean, beautifully maintained and with everything there that one would need to be comfortable. One of the attractions for us was that there was no phone or television reception, a fact we were made fully aware of at the time of booking. We were also told at the time of booking to take our own linen and drinking water so there were no surprises on arrival. There are plenty of walking trails, lots of birds and wildlife, and if you are looking to have a break away from the hustle and bustle of city life, then this is certainly the place to do that. We stayed 3 nights but next time we plan to stay longer. It's a bit of a drive into Manjimum, but if you stock up on your way in, you might never want to leave.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 54 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2012

My first review was rejected by Tripadvisor. Lets see how this one goes. Firstly the village is an old milling village in the middle of know where (not neccesarily a bad thing... fair enough!!). These original houses are very old and decrepid. From what I understand they are all privatley owned. They are very basic. We bought a voucher to go there (first mistake). It did not say in this offer that no linen (what so ever) will be provided. No towels sheets toilet paper!!!! the kitchen is bare and basic. Luckily they provided a fridge. No TV reception, thats fine but at least tell me so I can bring a few DVD's. The firniture looks like it came off a verge collection. The bedding looks like Grandma's and the beds roll into the middle. There are no curtains on the windows and at 4:30am in it will wake you up. The tap water is not drickable. They provided a jerry can to transport wter inside for cooking drinking etc. No problem....... I can live with that. BUT!!!!! the bloody container they provided had green mould growing in it (a penecillan experiment???). They have notes stuck on the wall evrywhere!!!! clean the fireplace or we will charge you. Sweep and mop the floor or we will charge you!! Wipe the fridge out or will will charge you!!! Bring all your rubbish out when you leave and take it over to the main caretakers residence and place in the bin.....or we will charge you!!!! I'm not a dirty occupier but this is ridiculous!!! The only good thing was the seclution and the wildlife (birds and emu's). The Manager does not live on site and only respond via email, no phone calls. The caretakers (backpackers I think) couldn;t give too hoots. When you get there the office is ALWAYS locked, there is an envelope with your house key. How about a village mud map you [--] losers!!!!! I'm done!! at least I got my money back from GROUPON ha ha ha ha.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melmain62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Some reviews about Nyamup made us wonder what we aere getting ourselves into but when we arrived we were so pleasantly surprised. We found the most gorgeous cottages with everything we could possibley need for our stay. No phone or television service meant we simply had to relax, which is exactly why we went. We were even lucky enough to see kangaroos and emus everyday. We had to take all our linen with us which was clearly instructed when booking. Both cottages we booked were clean, well kept and very comfortable, we will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank beroccaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We went there recently and there was no linen, no towels, no information, not even any basic things like tea bags or fly spray for the mozzies. We were told that to avoid an extra $70 cleaning fee we needed to scrape out the fireplace and clean the whole place including mopping the floors, even though we were only there for a couple of nights. Dreadful. Never again.

Room Tip: Don't bother! This was the most unrelaxing weekend away we have had in 20 years.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Family464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We recently went to Nyamup Village for a 2 night b/b. The cottage was a 3 bedroom, 2 of which were padlocked!! The dining room had no sink, or cooker or microwave. Not even any cutlery or crockery!!! The nearest town was Manjimup { 22 klms away } So if you want to have a cooked meal that's where you have to go. We were warned by the local people in Manjimup that there would not be anyone else there apart from us!!! There was about 30 to 40 cottages on the village site so was surprised to find no-one there at all. We thought we would have a night watching the tv but was told there is no reception at all for tv and mobile phones. We stayed only 1 hour and would not reccomend anyone to go!! Kathleen Derbyshire.

Room Tip: Don't go at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrea0504Ilkeston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

AVOID AT ALL COSTS
by MICHAEL P 03/08/2012



The B & B had no microwave or sink in the kitchen. The reverse cycle heating did not work in the bedroom. The heater in the kitchen did not work. We woke up to 8C. Extremely cold. Windows were louvered glass panes, so no insulation. No TV, just a few DVDs in the lounge. They sold firewood as they would not supply this. Using wood from outside is not permitted. A $2.85 bottle of wine was complimentary. It was dusty under the bed and disgustingly filthy on top of the wardrobe. Got up on a chair trying to manually operated the reverse cycle and hence noticed the top of the wardrobe filthy condition.No heating in the shower area and a shower head was an afterthought as it was sideways to the tub. The spray was very weak. Verandah landing wood planks jutted out unevenly over the top step which is an accident waiting to happen. Reverse cycle was too small in the lounge and could not properly handle a high ceiling. Another couple left within 5 minutes after looking at their room and common areas. A man in a cottage told us that he froze and that the high celiling prevented the reverse cycle from operating properly. He spoke of gaping holes in the floor planks, allowing in cold air. In the cottages one has to pay $55.00 for sheets hire if you don't supply them yourself. The managers refused to take calls and were poor communicators in the booking procedure, which was echoed by the couple that left after 5 minutes. We left after one night and did not of course receive or ask for compensation for the second night. I took photos of the jagged verandah planks, dangeroulsy protruding. I still have these photos. The forest setting is serene and enjoyable for walks in nature. That was the only positive. Overall it is much worse than basic as the accomodations scream out for maintenance, additions and upkeep. The difference between this place and a jail is that this place is slightly easier to break out of. The bottom line is, AVOID AT ALL COSTS. When we arrived home, our house seemed like a most luxurious palace by comparison. Our one night sleep in Nyamup would rank as a 1 out of 10 and our first night back home as a 10 out of 10. It was so cold in the Nyamup accomodation that I saw a spider wrap its web around itself several times and then put on a shawl. Please AVOID this place even if it's totally free. (Date of experience: Aug, 2012 )

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Levart101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We purchased a scoopon for accomodation at Nyamup Mill Town Holiday village & when tried to make booking there were virtually no days left available, hence we had pay extra to extend the validity period. Next when we went to advise of an additional guest (as per scoopon to be charged at $20 per night) we were told we could not bring our very young daughter as children are not allowed. We had originally hoped not to have bring our daughter, however due to an unfortunatel change of circumstance we were suddenly left with no-one to look after her. This meant we could not use our scoopon, and the next available dates if we wanted to pay a further $75 were not for another 4 months, by which stage the scoopon will have expired again, and we could not reschedule as we have another child due around that time.

I could not believe how un-accommodating and unhelpful the staff at Nyamup were, especially given the circumstances. I understand there are policies in place, however I have dealt with many holiday accommodation places across Australia, and have found them to be extremely helpful and apply a level of flexibility on many occasions - including when we have been using other scoopons. Nyamup have not offered any constructive help and have basically said no to every option my husband and I suggested.

We have now lost our accommodation for this weekend, which has cost us $190 and will be telling everyone we know about our bad experience in dealing with Nyamup. It did not say anything on the scoopon or on the accommodation website about children not being allowed (it merely stated scoopon was for 2 guests), and stated there would be a $20 charge for additional guests.

We didnt even get to stay here and never plan to now after such a bad booking experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
8  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nyamup Mill Town Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nyamup Mill Town Holiday Village

Address: 1 Nyamup Road, Nyamup, Western Australia 6258, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Nyamup
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Nyamup
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nyamup is nestled deep in the beautiful South West forest region of Western Australia. Nyamup is perfect for a quiet romantic weekend, family getaway or a group holiday.Our rustic self-contained cottages are the original timber workers homes and each one has been lovingly renovated and restored to reflect the bygone era. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing