We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tonga Perfection on the mainland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
White Sands Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Foui
Reviewed July 31, 2009

After extensive researching on the internet for a great beach resort to celebrate my husband's 50th, I was delighted to find White Sands Beach resort. With a 9 & 7 year old we wanted a beach, comfortable accommodation and some friendly service with more than a touch of Tongan culture. White Sands has all of that, plus an incredibly charming team running the resort.

On arrival in the middle of the night we were shown to a very spacious room (more like a motel room by New Zealand standards) with a tiled bathroom with a fabulous beach view from the verandah.

The next four days and nights we were treated with wonderful food, incredible service and plenty of hospitality from Gloria, Ian and family, and the super-fabulous Priscilla and Dominica who do so much to keep the resort clean and comfortable. Priscilla deserves special words. She is Tongan and speaks really good English and laughs all day long while working and entertaining guests. She babysat one night for us and was wonderful. Gloria let us take Priscilla on a tour of the island when we hired a rental car. She showed us the sights, knew everyone on the streets, kept us entertained and made our stay completely memorable.

White Sands has a few secret weapons that you may or may not notice on the website. It is run by a New Zealand family, so they understand the expectations of travellers from our part of the world. They are very family focussed, so if you have kids travelling, they are treated wonderfully. The resort is very small so you receive individual service. We were in fact the only guests staying during our 4 days, but I know they were expecting more guests the day we left. The food is delicious and it makes for a special way to end the day. There is also the world's cutest bar with beach views! We sat with the family one night (along with a Tongan friend who came over to visit) and drank and ate in paradise. It is also one of the few resorts in Tonga with a swimming pool plus a private beach.

The resort is still a work in progress as they have rebuilt a previously overgrown and forgotten spot, but they have created something special. If you are looking for comfort, value, personalised service and an authentic Tongan beach resort experience, then White Sands Beach Resort is most definitely the place.

It met and exceeded expectations and I give it top marks for giving our family a great time.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clunypark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 63 of 63 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2009

we had 4 day here and everything was amazing!! the room was huge, spotless and had front seat to sunset. The food was really good, better than a restaurant and better value, cooked with a pacific island touch. Precilla was our super woman and tended to all our needs with a smile and a laugh. my bg went missing in airport and all the guys in the white sands went out of their way to help me in any way possible. really can't say enough amazing things....had to be seen to believed. Thanks so much guys

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gino1285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2008

We found this place by accident driving with a friend who was keen to find a good beach to swim on. We asked the owners if we could swim on the beach, and they said yes. We got to talking and arranged to stay there for the rest of our trip.
We had a great room, with view straight out to the sea, it was large with big bed, two fans, tiled floor, own bathroom and a fully stocked fridge. Pool was great too. There is no shop nearby so we relied on the hosts for meals, which came promptly at dinner time. They were very large meals! The couple that own the resort are kiwis and extended very warm kiwi hospitality. They also employ a young Tongan woman and Fijian woman to help guests and do housekeeping and cooking. They obliged with lifts into town on occasion when they were going in. After a week we got a bit bored though, so recommend 2-3 nights and take a good book for chilling on the beach.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank leakyboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2008

My husband and I spent 2 nights at this resort where we were the only guests. We were looking for somewhere intimate on the beach where we could relax and do nothing and White Sands more than delivered. It didn't really feel like a resort though as there isn't a restaurant or common area, and the home-cooked meals are served in the room. The room was quite big and clean and the service very nice and informal. We didn't stay longer than 2 nights as it is quite isolated and the room feels quite small after two days. Overall, though we had a great time and I would recommend it for a romantic getaway.

Stayed: December 2008
1  Thank Houb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2008

The Resort is fairly new although I understand it was operating under a different name a few years ago. It is set on a beautiful beach which is not the best swimming beach but they do have a wonderful pool to make up for this. Rooms are very clean and tidy and there is some thought put into the decorating. Beautiful art on walls although the outside of the buildings are a bit stark and do not have a very 'Island' Feeling.
The food was sensational. They employ a New Zealand cook who is married to a Tongan and resides in Tonga to come in and do their cooking and she is worth her weight in gold. The highlight was her tuna loin in a coconut cream and corriander sauce.. Excellent along with all the food that she cooked for us. Highly recommended and very inovative fusion type cooking and served beautifully outside under the trees. (Fresh vegetables and salad, a treat when you are away from home so often)
I recomend staying here if you want a quiet place out of the way and although its a bit of a hike into Nuku'alofa itself if you are looking for a nice relaxing holiday its a great place to be. As I stated they are just starting out and I am sure as the resort develops they will add more to it.
I enjoyed my stay there very much and would definitly go back, especially to eat!

Stayed: August 2008
1  Thank NewZealandFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foui
9.9 mi away
Tanoa International Dateline Hotel
9.3 mi away
Seaview Lodge
Seaview Lodge
#1 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
186 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Friendly Islander Hotel
The Friendly Islander Hotel
#8 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Little Italy Hotel
Little Italy Hotel
#4 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
249 reviews
119.2 mi away
Matafonua Lodge
Matafonua Lodge
#1 of 2 in Foa Island
412 reviews
9.2 mi away
Keleti International Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Beach Resort

Address: 'Utukehe Beach | Fo'ui, Foui, Tongatapu Island, Tonga
Location: Tonga > Tongatapu Island > Foui
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Foui
Price Range: $53 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — White Sands Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your White Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Beach Hotel
White Sands Beach Resort Tonga/Foui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing